Weekly Smile 26 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

I was on vacation last week.  In some ways it was the same as always.  I was on Cape Cod and did some walking, kayaking, swimming, photography and other such things I do while down there.  One thing different, though, was Liz.

Liz passed through our lives at the end of the 90s and the beginning of this century.  She lived in our area for about two years before moving on.  She stayed at our house for a few months as she was transitioning between places.  My wife kept in touch for a short time after she left the region, but contact grew less and less.  There was Facebook, but little else.

This spring my wife contacted her again and Liz came and stayed a few days with us on Cape Cod.  In some ways it was like she had never left, even though it had been more than a dozen years.  We also did some things we normally don’t.  I’m not talking big or exciting things, more just visit someplace we hadn’t seen in a while or sit in our back yard for a long evening chatting.

Overall it was a good time.  I’m glad she was able to make it back to the east Coast for a visit.

That’s my smile for this week, reconnecting with old friends.

What made you smile this week?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

11 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 26 #weeklysmile

  1. Rowena

    I need to do some more catching up with old friends. I’ve let quite a lot of things slide and have been in hibernation for awhile. I was stoked to find the sunset last week, which was just amazing and that magically pulled me out of my chair and down the street in a semi-trance.
    I am a serious collector of antique and vintage miscellania and have had some really good finds and very affordable. So happy. These finds aren’t so much like shopping but more like gold mining and unearthing fabulous nuggets from the dirt. I am very particular now but even still, I find some treasures, which by my usual definition is something that’s attached to a memory, rather than $ value. Not that I don’t get many bargains. I’ll have write about about a few more of them.
    Hope you’re having a great week!
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hi Rowena. I understand about hibernating,though it’s summer here so I’m doing the exact opposite – I’m out and about so much I haven’t been taking time to catch up with people. I need a few more hours in the day…
      I understand the appeal to doing “treasure hunts” in antique stores. I used to do it quite a bit but my interests changed. I bought an old house and wanted old things in it. Later I sold it and bought another old house with my wife and again liked the antiques. But then the interest went away.
      Thanks for stopping by!. Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
      1. Rowena

        I also find much of the older stuff works so much better than the new rubbish. I’m quite fond of my handbeater and the parts still move faultlessly and so smooth. Was made to last!
        I hope you have a great week too! xx Ro

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on 2 July, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. Pingback: Lake Vyrnwy – ladyleemanila

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There is something about friends, isn’t there?

      Because it has been so hot this last week my running has been put on hold (yes, I know it has been cool vs Australia, but this is NH ;) ). I did run twice last week and had a personal best, at least for the last 2 years.

      i hope your running goes well.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Pat Slater

    Like this weeks weekly smile… and would like to add mine, but didn’t understand a lot of the instructions so will just tell you that we got a new puppy. Don’t think we have ever had a dog that young, and playing with her has made me laugh out loud :-)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I don’t put friends and family in as smiles as often as I should, but how many times can I say my dad or my wife make me smile before people get bored? ;)

      Unfortunately to post one you have to have a blog – most of the people who read this have their own blogs. Putting your smile here in the comments is OK :)

      Puppies are great! Our two dogs are about 2 years old now but still act very puppy like. We had them both since about 8 weeks and they are fun and funny but a lot of work! I can see why having a new puppy is a very big smile.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

