A Distant Future

copyright-Rich Voza

copyright-Rich Voza

I dream of a distant future, taking the high road, the sky road, to reach it.  With my seat-back and tray-table in their upright positions the clouds beckon.  Long security line, you’re a distant memory in a rapidly fading city, you won’t catch me, they won’t catch me.

They wanted to keep me grounded, oh, you know they did.  They pointed to my past and put bars in front of me.  No future in the sky for me.

A plan, a saw, a new name, a new passport, soon a new city, I’ll be spreading my wings again.

I’ve returned.

Word count = 100

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This weeks prompt is here and uses a photo provided by Rich Voza.  Read more or join in by following the “linky“.

14 thoughts on “A Distant Future

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Very interesting. It wasn’t what I meant, but now that you mention it, it does work that way, doesn’t it? In fact, I think I like that better than what I was thinking.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 25th of June, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

Express Yourself

