Reminder #weeklysmile Week 24

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

When I go running in New Hampshire I start off with a hill.  At the top there is another, steeper hill.  I’m not joking – there is a short flat, then more climbing.  So my first mile or so are always the slowest part of my runs.

It’s different on Cape Cod.  The run is relatively flat from beginning to end.  The issue is that I always start too fast and crash and burn at some point.

Today I went running and sure enough, the first five minutes had me at better than a 6 minute 30 second mile.  My usual is around a minute a mile slower.  I felt good though, and kept pushing it.  I was slowing down, but not having too much trouble.  The problem is, my legs wanted to continue at that pace but my lungs and heart, well, they wanted me to slow down a little.

At the end of a slightly over 4 mile run I averaged a 7 minutes and 9 seconds, shaving a couple of seconds a mile off of my previous best for four miles, at least since I’ve been using this app, which is about 2 years.

A big smile there.

What made you smile this week?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

11 thoughts on “Reminder #weeklysmile Week 24

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 25th of June, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: The Weekly Smile | A Day In The Life

  3. EverydayScribe

    Great times! I am a little slower than you, but I am working on building my speed back up after a bit of a running hiatus. I always smile when I finish, regardless of the speed because I feel great about the accomplishment. And, well, finishing!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I do smile no matter how far I ran or how fast, but it is nice to break a personal record, even if it is a relatively short term record (years ago I was a little faster).

      Like

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Weekly smile! | CRAZY LIFE

Express Yourself

