If We Were Having Coffee on the 18th of June, 2016

Weekend Coffee on Cape Cod

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice French Roast, a cuppa tea or some other morning appropriate beverage.  Maybe we can sit out in the back yard.  The sun is shining, there’s not a cloud in the sky, it is warm but not hot after a night that was cool but not cold.  Perfect temperature!  I’ve already walked the dogs twice, supervised as they played in the back yard and took a long walk on the beach.

And where are we, you might ask?  By the Edward Gorey mug (it’s not Batman!) at the top you may realize that I’m only a few miles from his childhood home on Cape Cod.

This has been a nice week.  Work was a lot slower than it was last week, which is good!  I did get some stuff done there that I haven’t been able to do since I’ve been so busy.  So it was good, slow week.  Slow being a relative term, of course.

At home things were actually busier than last week.  It seems that there was something different happening every day.  Besides that I spent a lot of time editing stories.  I have finished a second draft on about three quarters of the stories I’m getting ready for my book of short stories.  I will most likely do two more drafts before I have it edited.  After the editing, well, we’ll see ;)

I got down to the cottage on Cape Cod late Thursday night so I had all day yesterday.  And waht did I do?  I worked most of the day, I mowed the lawn and I did a ton of laundry.  Oh, did I tell you my washer back home in New Hampshire died?  Yep.  We bought a new one, but it won’t be delivered for over a week.  So I did two weeks worth of clothing yesterday, plus towels, sheets and stuff from down here.  And I did other stuff like tat, so no beach, no walks in the woods, no kayaking, no anything except for work work and work around the house.

I did get a chance to read more blogs this week, at least the last day or two if not the whole week.  Yes, there were days that I did absolutely zero reading, but other days that I spent a few hours reading.

I also did a lot of writing for the blog.  You have to remember, I write these up as fast as you can read them.  I started on Sunday with a reminder to look at the Week 23 smiles.  On Monday I posted a lot of pictures of eagles and stuff from my trip to Ohio.  Tuesday I reposted my poem Zealot for reasons that may be obvious if you watch the news.  On Wednesday I posted the Weekly Smile for Week 24.  Check out all of the smiles!  On Thursday I posted three (3!) stories for Friday Fictioneers – a horror, a realist/romance and something bordering on steampunk.  I wrote a few others, but decided not to post them.  Yesterday I posted a little thing about what it means to be human.  Again, this was aimed at recent events in Orlando and the UK and the response by some politicians.

Anyway, the sun is calling my name.  My kayak is very lonely since I haven’t been in it in almost a month.  There is salt water and sand and birds and fish and… I need to get out :)  So I will be in and out all weekend, enjoying being here.  I’ll stop by for coffee visits when I can, but no guarantees!

So that was my week, and it was good week and is getting better.  How about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

28 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 18th of June, 2016

  1. Nancy

    My week has been crazy-busy too but now it is officially summer break! Yay me! I really wish I had a kayak waiting in the back yard for me but I do have a trip to the shore planned for this week so that will make up for it! Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    I think you are someone Trent who would find something to be busy doing if you found you had time on your hands. I know though that that doesn’t happen as there is always reading to be done and posts to be written. Glad you had a bit more time for that this week along with that mountain of washing. Enjoy your kayak.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’ll admit, I do get bored easily. That’s why I had a long walk on the beach instead of sitting out on them. I do need to spend more time reading, which hopefully I’ll do this week, but I’m not going to make any promises ;) Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Melissa @ Ever Growing Farm

    Oh boy, you’ve been *so busy! It sounds as though everything is going smoothly (washing machine aside) and that each task is worthwhile :-) I do envy your long walks on the beach though. I am a high desert dwelling, mountain girl, myself, but the ocean has been calling my name for a couple of years now. There’s just something about the quite serenity of the ebb and flow of the ocean, the pulse of the earth, that is so incredibly calming. Ah, I do hope you enjoy your stay and have a lovely week ahead!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Growing up in the flatlands (northern Ohio) I always loved mountains. When I first moved to NH I spent every second I could in the mountains – very different from your mountains in Arizona, but still with peaks that make your heart soar. But lately I’ve grown to love early morning walks on the beach. And more than that I love the weather – cool in the summer and warm in the winter.

      Thanks for stopping by. Have a good week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Deb

    I’m so far behind in writing, reading and laundry. I don’t like to do laundry anyway, but it feels good when it’s done. Hope your Sunday matches the rest of your weekend as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      So far today has been great. It seems odd to spend a chunk of doing laundry, particularly clothes that I wore before my vacation! I’d rather being doing other things, but I can’t go around in the nude all week, so I guess I had to do laundry…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
          1. Deb

            I’m going to vote for dirty clothes… They still make deodorant and fabric spray and you can blame the spots on just spilling something on yourself. Ya can’t hide naked!

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yes, laundry catch up. It’s funny to have a vacation house so you can do your laundry. I had a great paddle today. Looking forward to being out on the water again tomorrow…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
              1. Prior-2001

                Thanks so much T – and I actually had very little laundry to do this week – ha! But we had that bad wind storm on Thursday night and so we had outside clean up – but it was under sunny skies so that was nice!

                Liked by 1 person

                Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Have you seen Pleasantville? High temperature, 72 F. Low Temperature, 72 F. Not quite, but awfully close! I think Arizona is great, but there are reasons I live in New England, and Cape Cod is one of my favorite places because of the weather (if no hurricanes are in the forecast ;) )

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

Express Yourself

