The Trick

 

Piano-swallow

Copyright -John Nixon

I watched from the edge of the stage as he ran through his act as if nothing had happened.  The events of the previous night, though, still filled my mind.

I am not too old for my one-piece costume.  I wear the name “Carney Girl” proudly as I perform my act.  They might call him a comedic genius, but I do OK.

He crawled into the piano as usual, but then screamed my name.  Heart pounding, I ran onto the stage.  He popped out, a huge bouquet of roses in hand, and bowed gallantly.  The crowd went wild.

Apology accepted!

Word count = 100

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This weeks prompt is here and uses a photo provided by John Nixon.  Read more or join in by following the “linky“.

16 thoughts on “The Trick

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 18th of June, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

        1. trentpmcd Post author

          It is. You can follow the links at the bottom of my post. They are hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, who puts up a new picture every week. Since the stories are only 100 words it’s easy to read quite a few of them.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  2. Pingback: Theater of the Absurd | Trent's World (the Blog)

Express Yourself

