Ballet mècanique

Piano-swallow

Copyright -John Nixon

While replacing the Antheil roll, my hand got caught in the player.  To my surprise I was pulled into the mechanism without any pain.  Crunching dissonant chords in syncopated rhythm accompanied my passage to a new world.

It was a noisy world.

Skyscrapers full of whirring gears churned out mathematical precision, literally crunching data, spinning numbers.  An airship hovered above.  In the clink-clank of gears and pistons I realized there were no electronics.  It was a 1920s future.

I dove through the player piano and recognized home.

But the whirring continued.

I door to my chest opened, exposing the gears.

Sorry, I know, three so far, butthis was a fun one and I could write stories all day.  Google George Antheil….

Word count = 100

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This weeks prompt is here and uses a photo provided by John Nixon.  Read more or join in by following the “linky“.

16 thoughts on “Ballet mècanique

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 18th of June, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! Yeah, you really can’t go through the wringer a couple of times without some adverse side effects – I just hope the gears are confined to his chest and haven’t replaced everything (this is a child friendly blog so I was talking about the brain…).

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

