Weekly Smile Week 24 – #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

I’ve been having computer problems the last few weeks. I won’t bore you with the details, but I’m sure you understand the frustration. And yes, even techy type people with a huge amount of IT experience have computer issues – the easier Microsoft makes it for a typical user the harder they make it to diagnose the issues.

Anyway, that is at home.  Things are different at work.  I just received a new laptop.  First, the utility they use to get the data off of the old computer is much better than it was even a couple of years ago.  All of my settings are the same, all of the shortcuts work in all three browsers and all of the apps are set up correctly.  It looks  and works just like my old.  Only faster.  A lot faster.  Instead of the 15 minutes to come back up after connecting to my VPN it took less than two minutes.  It just worked.  Wow.  A huge time saver.

So although my computer at home has a few issues (it crashes every time McAfee does anything and iTunes won’t load no matter how many on-line instructions to fix the issue I’ve been through), my work computer is great.

So that’s my smile for this week, a new work computer.

What made you smile this week?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

14 thoughts on “Weekly Smile Week 24 – #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: Join me for another Thursday? – In the Zone

  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 18th of June, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. Pingback: Echoes of my Neighbourhood – Penrhyn Castle – ladyleemanila

  4. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    So glad you got a new computer without headaches. I don’t think I have ever upgraded without struggling to get something to work that used to work. I have just upgraded my operating system and my scanner that did work is no longer supported. Given time I will get around it but oh the headaches involved in doing so – so I can understand your smile with a new computer that just works like the old one.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      My home computer hasn’t been the same since Win 10 “upgrade” and it has been getting worse. Some of the programs crashed and I can’t reinstall, even falling pages worth of directions on how to fix the problems I’m facing. So yes, with my work computer being swapped out and having it just work, I’m very happy!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Don’t lose a Day: Weekly Smile | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  6. joannesisco

    On the weekend my dishwasher died – again. When it died a month ago, it was a week before we could get it fixed. This time we went out and finally bought a new one. What makes me smile? It’s being delivered tomorrow. Woohoo.

    I might dislike cooking, but I dislike doing dishes even more ;)

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Our (clothes) washer died this week. OK, it was like 18 years old. We just bought a new one but won’t see it for over a week – we’ll be out of town next week. All of our appliances are that old and will need to be replaced. Wish I had an extra dollar or two ;)
      I actually always do dishes by hand, even at our “camp” that has a nice dishwasher. But then it’s just the two of us so it isn’t bad.
      Enjoy your new dish washer!

      Like

      Reply
      1. joannesisco

        I know the pain of replacing appliances. It was our washing machine in April. That’s the problem when appliances are all of the same vintage. They all start to fail around the same time. I feel like we’re hemorrhaging money right now :/

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Express Yourself

