If We Were Having Coffee on June 11, 2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Good Morning! Welcome.   Come on in and I’ll get you a nice large mug of a very strong French Roast or some tea.  It is a very nice early summer day up here, though there is a chance of thunderstorms this afternoon.  I’m sorry, did I say where I am?  Some of you may recognize that the synthesizer in the picture at the top is in New Hampshire.  Of course, so is my McDonald’s mug of French Roast sitting next to it.  Uhm, That’s McDonald’s pub, not, you know…  Yes, two weeks in a row in New Hampshire.

It’s possible you saw that my smile this week was about work.  I don’t know if I would have said the same on Thursday or, gasp, Friday.  The week got busier and busier.  More high end managers wanting to talk to me.  I guess I’m a popular guy, at least I was this week.  And of course, each project, emergency or whatever is top priority.  The good thing is some of the top managers knew all of the stuff going on and knew we couldn’t look into some things until others were done.  Still, don’t need many weeks like that.

As far as when I wasn’t working, well, I did stuff with the dogs, like long walks and playing in the woods.  I also did some work around the house, like mowing the lawn.  And I started editing stories for my short story  collection.  I didn’t get a lot, just under a quarter of them, but it was a start.  Hopefully I’ll be able to pick up the pace, but there are other things I need to do, not least of which is to look at at least a few of the 600+ pictures I took in Ohio at the end of May.

Today I’ll be going to a friend’s kid’s graduation party.  Yep, it’s that time of the year again.  I have a niece who graduated and will be starting college down in DC next year.  Anyway, today’s party is supposed to be outside, so I don’t know how they’ll handle the thunderstorms.  We’ll see.

Blogging has been weird this week.  I’ve a couple of those strange days, just like the Doors but with less drugs and alcohol.  Sorry, everything I say reminds me of a song, particularly if it’s the first recording released by a major band that used a Moog modular (the lyrics were processed with the Moog).  Anyway, Strange Days in blogging, where I would post something and get quite a few hits and then post the next day and only get crickets for several hours, times when I’d have zero traffic from outside of the US for 18 hours (typically about 1/3 of my traffic is outside the US).  This always happens right before WP makes a new change.  Of course it could be people doing stuff for summer.

Despite the weirdness and the busyness (or business I guess), I did quite a few posts.  I started Sunday with a brief trip down memory lane when I saw The Greatest back in ’77 (I think).  Later on Sunday I posted a reminder for the Weekly Smile, and what I think is a great picture ;)   On Monday I talked about how I hate to edit, but that the hardest part of it is actually starting.  On Tuesday I continued my Tuesday Poetics with a poem about nonverbal understanding of Life the Universe and everything.  Wednesday was this week’s Weekly Smile.  Check it out!  Thursday was a throwback post about how my idea of cellphones changed over the decades.  And then Friday I did a 100 word Friday Fictioneer story that featured a father/daughter team that has appeared in a a couple of other Friday Fictioneer stories.

Anyway, a lot is going on today. Well, a lot is going on this weekend and I’m going to get started soon.  Sure, I’ll make some coffee visits off and on all weekend.  If you’re having coffee today I’ll try to stop by and share a cup and a chat.  Thanks for visiting!

So that was my week.  And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

23 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on June 11, 2016

  1. Corina

    I have a lot to catch up on. Not only have I not been posting, I’ve not been reading blogs either. I think I’ll have more time this week as I will be visiting my son to help with the new baby who is a bit colicky and mama is not feeling well. So I will have some time. Hopefully I can read and write! I’ve been wordless too long.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I haven’t been reading much at all so, I’m sorry, but I didn’t notice the absence because i was gone too! I do hope you get some time to read and write. Hopefully I’ll get a little time to read anything you put up. I also hope “colicky baby” doesn’t mean you’ll be up all night. I hope you have a good visit with your son and family and new grandchild!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Corina

        The good thing about the colicky baby is that I’ve been through it all with each of my three then with the other two grandsons, as well as nieces and nephews. I think I can handle it and there will be two other adults in the house so it won’t be all me. We’ll see. I’m looking forward to some bonding time with the little one.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. KB Garst

    Hi Trent, sounds like a busy week! It’s really hot in Arizona where I’m at, triple digits! No hot coffee for me this morning, but I did have a Venti iced coffee from good old Starbucks that hit the spot. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It was cool here today. I want to say unusually cool, but it isn’t really that far off for New Hampshire, it just feels cool after some of the warm weather we’ve had.

      Stay cool and have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Kathleen Howell

    Thanks for the coffee!! Yes, thunderstorms here too, and lots of grad parties going on. Plus it’s 90+ degrees. Not complaining one bit. Winter in Michigan sucks. Hmm, I think I go download some Doors to my MP3 player.. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It was supposed to be a very warm day, but it turned out damp and cool. No thunderstorms, just an hour of rain. Weird weather. Yeah, I need to listen to more Doors – I did bring up that song after I wrote about it.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Robin

    Where in Ohio? I used to live in Ohio (spent 13 years in southern Ohio and 13 years in the snowbelt of NE Ohio). I’ll have to keep an eye out for your pictures (if you’re posting any of them).
    Thanks for the coffee, and have a great week! :)
    P.S. I noticed I’m having trouble getting my comments to post today, and suspect WordPress has been up to some devilment. Change for the sake of change is usually how it goes.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I grew up about 40 miles West of Cleveland very close to Lake Erie, but I went to school at OSU, down in Columbus. Most of this pictures I will post will be birds – my dad and I went out looking for eagles and found a few. My parents live 20 minutes from Cedar Point, so I went there when I was visiting.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I did look into a few concerts this summer mostly for the morbid reason that it seems many of the big names from the past are starting to pass away and it would be nice to see some of them before they go, but the ticket prices were just outrageous. I mean, 15 years ago I saw Bowie for less than $50 a ticket and we had very good seats. This summer McCartney started at $250 a ticket and went up – for less than $500 we’d be so far away we still won’t see him except for the Jumbotron. No thanks. I hope you enjoy all the concerts you’re going to see!

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

