If We Were Having coffee on June 4, 2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a large mug of very strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or other breakfast appropriate drink.  It is already feeling warm and humid so a cooler drink may be in order.  It’s going to be a beautiful day today, though a tad on the warm and sticky side.  It’s summer (well, not officially) so that’s fine.  And where are we?  By the mug up there some of my usual readers may know I am in New Hampshire today.

Some of my usual readers may have also noticed the absence of a coffee post last week.  That is because I was neither in New Hampshire nor Cape Cod.  I was traveling.  I was in Ohio visiting family, if i want to be specific.  A huge amount has happened in the last two weeks since I’ve been here, but I’ll concentrate on that little trip while we sip our coffee, OK?

Oops, I missed something that I want to say first.  I have picked up my mail from a PO box at the Wilton post office for almost 25 years.  One of the employees passed away unexpectedly while I was away.  I went to a memorial/viewing on Wednesday to show my respect to a very nice man who I saw every day even if I didn’t know him well.  The town will miss Kevin Stone.

OK, now back to my Ohio trip.

I flew out in the morning on Thursday, May 26.  The first day was mostly visiting, talking and such.  On Friday my dad and i went out “hunting” eagle.  We didn’t see any in the usual spots so we drove out to McGee Marsh.  I’ll let you Google it to find out about this bit of birding paradise on the Lake Erie coast.  We missed most of the migratory birds that attract the huge crowds, but we did see some eagles up close and personal.  I didn’t get any pictures of a flying eagle, but I got some of them on their nests.   Hopefully in a week or so I’ll share them.

Others came in on Friday night.  We had a big family breakfast and then a large group of us went out to Cedar Point, a large amusement park.  Cedar Point is known for its roller coasters, of which it has 18, the second most of any park.  It is always in a war with other parks for the best thrill ride, though it’s coaster from the year 2000 has been consistently rated as the best or second best since its inception.  Because of a late start and rain it was a short, hot day, but a good time was had by all.

On Sunday we had our family reunion.  We were only missing a couple, but we had a couple of extras, family members in all but blood, who were there making a total of 30 people.  I missed stated something – actually there was a mother-in-law present, so related by blood to a spouse and a girlfriend besides the two family-in-all-but-blood I mentioned.

Family-reuinion 2016

Monday was a day of talking, helping with chores, a little eagle “hunting” and reviewing stories to include in my short story book with my mom.

I didn’t fly out until the evening on Tuesday, so i spent a good part of the day at the Rock and roll Hall of Fame and Museum.  It’s been quite a few years (a decade?) since i was last there and a lot had changed.  Of course a lot had stayed the same, including the video about videos that has stayed constant since 1995.  I still have a few problems about who they choose to highlight and who they totally ignore, but I still had a good time.

Anyway, that was my week, or almost week, away.  It was a nice get away but it’s also nice to be home.

I had planned on writing a bunch of posts to go up while I was away but never got a chance to write them.  As you can imagine, my stats were pretty bad except for Monday when my mom pulled a bunch a stories up on her Kindle so we could discuss them.  I know, cheating ; )

Since last coffee post I put up a reminder for the Smile for Week 20 plus a new Smile for Week 21.  Just this week I posted the new one, Week 22 – check it out!  The Smile has decreased by about 75% in the last month so I’d like to see more up there!  I had a long(ish) post about going away and a short one (about 25 words).  I also did a post about how I pick names in my stories.  I did a 100 word story for Friday Fictioneers this week and liked it so much I did a much, much longer version of the same story.  I had someone off line say it is their favorite story of mine.  And then on Thursday I did a Throwback Thursday post about the roller coasters at Cedar Point.

It is a nice day and I have a lot of stuff I have to catch up on after being away.  I don’t mean to push you out of the door while you are still sipping on your coffee, but it is busy.  If you have a coffee post I’ll try to stop by and we can continue the conversation.

So that was my week.  And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

(Go check out everyone’s smiles!  Add one of your own while you are there!  Here is a direct link to the link up.  Go take a look!)

35 thoughts on “If We Were Having coffee on June 4, 2016

  1. Tena Carr

    Sounds like quite a week. Hope you had a good reuniom and that this week has been good to you. See you at the next coffee share (well hopefully anyway).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. KB Garst

    Sounds like you had a good time. Would love to see photos of an Eagle! Took a few pictures while at the cabin this weekend, mostly of family and our dogs! Set up a game camera by the stream to see if we could get pics of deer or other wildlife and got part of a coatimundi. Have a good week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It was a very good time. I hope to have photos up in a week. It’s funny, I didn’t take a single picture of any family members, I let my niece handle all of those types of photos.

      Coatimundi? Where are you? I’ve never seen one. But doing a quick Google of the name, well, I’m not surprised I’ve never seen one…

      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Rowena

    Hi Trent. Thanks for another weekend catch up and the coffee. I am steadily falling asleep here and need a bit of a siesta. Catching up with all that family sounds fun and I would’ve loved hanging out with you and your Dad photographing eagles. I did that with very limited success, driving across the Nullarbour Plain between Adelaide and Perth. Or, to be more precise, passengering! I didn’t do much of the driving! I went down to the beach this morning to check out the damage from the storm and the high swells. The poor beach has lost more trees and was looking very grey and bleak. It was also high tide and with further beach erosion, I couldn’t walk far. Got wet shoes in the interests of capturing what I can coined “bleak breach”. I’ll be posting some photos soon.
    Hope you have a great week!
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      When I was a kid there were no eagles in our state. Now there are a lot near where my parents live. If you want to see some, they are there. Only, when we were looking we didn’t see as many as we had hoped, thus our hour and a half drive to the nature preserve. We saw some later, but I didn’t get as many good pictures this year as usual.

      Sounds like it was an awful storm. The winter storms are always tough on the beaches on Cape Cod. It’s interesting to watch how they change year to year. Looking forward to seeing the pictures.

      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yeah, go ahead and borrow the mug. If you bring it back next week I’ll be sure to fill it right back up with a strong French Roast. Or perhaps I’ll stop by your place for a few minutes, have a sip of coffee and chat there and take it back with me, though I’m 99% certain I’ll forget it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Hi Trent. Glad to have you back. Missed you last week but it sounds like your reunion was great. I have tried picking you from the tribe displayed and failed dismally. Are you going to give us a second on the right or other such direction? When you first said hunting for eagle I thought you meant that you were hunting to kill eagles. That made me a bit sad but I think from what you later said you were hunting to shoot with a camera. I’m looking forward to seing some of those photos. I would love to visit the Rock and Roll Hall of fame – it is such a personal thing who is important to you. I find that even those that i didn’t go for in my 20s have now developed into a trip into nostalgia when I hear their music played and I don’t find them half as bad as I used to.
    I will try to get to the smile this week. I have been trying just not finding much to smile about which is a bad sad but it is time to move on. Lovely tribute to Mr Stone. Okay — I got the hint. You’ve got stuff to do. I’ll catch you later.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Irene. Yes, “hunting” was in quotes to mean we were hunting with cameras. If you look at the picture, I’m towards the left in the back row and am wearing my “blues brothers” hat. I do find that I like some of the bands I used to hate a little more than I did back in the day. That being said, I still don’t know why Hall and Oats was inducted in the hall of fame while no prog rock band (Yes or ELP both sold about 100 times more records than H&O and both had their most important member die in the last year(Chris Squire from Yes and Kieth Emerson from ELP) yet now votes for them…). Anyway, rant over ;)
      I’m sure there’s something to smile about. It doesn’t have to be big, just anything. And along those lines, I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

        got you. Love picking people out from family shots like this but hard when I haven’t met any of you in the flesh so to speak. Did Pink Floyd or Moody Blues get in? Perhaps they did not like the artistic and preferred those that stayed with the original tempos etc of early rock. It is good to rant every so often.
        I will find something to smile at this week if it kills me ( and I sure hope it doesn’t.)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Pink Floyd is in, Moody Blues isn’t. Genesis is (very recent), but they turned more pop in the ’80s leaving their Prog Rock roots behind. I’ve read responses to petitions to put Yes in and the answer has always been that since they used some ideas from classical in their music they are 100% against rock. Uhm, you know, the Beatles used ideas from classical. In the late 60s even the Stones did.

          There has to be something to smile about, even if it is just that the rain stopped ;)

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  5. Nancy

    Sounds like a nice trip. I went to a family reunion last week too but mine was more about further reaching branches of the family tree- mostly second and third cousins. It was enjoyable just the same. I would like to visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame someday. Do they have a Springsteen section?😉 Around here, we do Great Adventure for our thrill ride fix although I personally haven’t been there in 20 years. Thanks for the coffee!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There is a reunion for my mom’s side in a few weeks and for my dad’s in August. Those are the ones for the second cousins, etc. I haven’t been to one of those since the 1990s. Springsteen was at the RRHF, but no section like there was for Elvis. Sorry ;) The museum is actually pretty small. I think it should be double the size and have more from more people. They do rotate a lot of their displays, particularly the costumes that performers have worn. I forget the park up here in New England, but I’ve never been. I wouldn’t go to Ceder Point if it wasn’t for family. But it was fun.

      Have a great weekend and I hope your week goes well.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Corina

    I think I’m jealous! I’m not really a roller coaster fan but my kids always were. We had thought that we would drive out to Cedar Point some summer but it didn’t ever happen. It’s kind of tough to do all the planning and executing when you’re a single parent but I really wish I could have done that. And one of my dreams is to go to the Rock N Roll Hall of Fame. I would love that. I haven’t made it to the Music Experience in Seattle yet but I think that will be the closest I get to rock n roll history. Hopefully it will be one day soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hi Corina. I was lucky, I grew up just 20 miles from Cedar Point so it was a yearly, sometimes 2 or 3 times a year thing growing up. And then Cleveland is only about 40 miles the other way, so I think this was the second time, maybe third, that I saw the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. It doesn’t take very long to go through the whole thing, but it is worth doing once. I hope you can make it up to the Seattle Music Experience some time.

      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is nice for the family to gather together even if for just a few minutes. It was really nice having the long weekend there. I’m sure I will be (virtually) stopping by Idaho in a little bit to visit you for coffee. Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Kathleen Howell

    Hi there! It was nice reading about your week.. :-) Hope you enjoyed Cedar Point, I am from SE Michigan, so it’s not far from us at all. Great pic of your family reunion, how wonderful it is to have that much family. Mine is much smaller and rather distant. Thanks for the coffee!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hi! I grew up about 15 miles from Cedar Point so it was a staple of my childhood. A lot has changed there! The family has grown as a few of the older nieces and nephews now have kids of their own. And with the additions, like my sister’s mother-in-law, yes, it’s a big gathering.

      Thanks for stopping by. I hope you have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I hope you had a good break. Did you travel? It’s hard to do all of the challenges – I missed last week’s Friday Fictioneers and the coffee share while i was away. Still, sometimes it’s nice to not have the pressure to put something up.

      I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

