Weekly Smile Week 21 – #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Do you ever have weird memory lapses about your travel plans?  I haven’t in a few years but I used to make some huge mistakes, thinking I’m leaving at one time and it’s really another, or even a different day.  My mom is usually no help.  If I’m going to visit my family I have to ensure both parents and my sister have my itinerary and I often go over it several times with them to be safe.

I’m going to be traveling this week, visiting family.  It isn’t just me, though.  My brother and his family are driving out and my nephews and nieces that are independent are coming in.  So is my mom’s “Chinese granddaughter”, a young lady who stayed with my parents as an exchange student about five years ago.  For privacy, I won’t name this college junior, but we all feel she is part of the family.

My mom very rarely posts on Facebook, but on Monday, being on because somebody tagged her, she decided to put up a post saying, “Looking forward to seeing (Chinse granddaughter’s name) tomorrow at 6 PM!” and the young lady was tagged.  A few hours later there was a response, “Grandmother, I’m not going to be until Thursday at 6 AM!”  A little bit later she posted her itinerary.

Uhm, they were both wrong.

The student needed to catch her bus Tuesday evening was getting Wednesday at 6 AM.

My mom never uses social media.  Or almost never, yet she did this one time and saved a huge amount of aggravation for everyone involved.  Although there was a scary few minutes involved, I got a big smile out of the outcome.  Facebook saves the day!

I don’t think young people realize how much social media and things like cell phones have changed the world.  Some of the changes are bad, but there are some very positive changes as well.  This is a great example of how positive the changes can be.

So that’s my smile this week – social media saving the day!

What made you smile this week?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

17 thoughts on “Weekly Smile Week 21 – #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having coffee on June 4, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: Pop Pop | Wasted Days And Wasted Nights

  3. Corina

    I’ve been thinking about the positive side of technological advances. Yes, there are a lot of negatives but without those advances, a lot of lives would be lost. I’m thinking about my grandson who was born with an extremely dangerous heart rate and blood pressure and an infection. Without modern medical technology we might not have him.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s funny how sometimes things just happen, and it’s even funnier to think that Facebook had a hand in this one.
      Thanks! Leaving for the airport in just a few minutes.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Prior-2001

        Enjoy your family – and see you next week for coffee time – and thanks for leaving the nice comment on my Paris post- you have so many interesting sides – still amazes me how unique you are with the varied interests – in a vey natural sorta way too – not like someone who is an angst for stuff – if that makes sense – ok – peace out!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks!
      Sometimes people use social media to divide us into extreme camps, but I think just as often it helps us out. As i said in another comment, I use Facebooks Messenger to chat with a bunch of people simultaneously. It works great for coordinating events.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. soireadthisbooktoday

    I once drove from the southern Oregon coast to Eugene (quite a distance!) for a training class – only to find out the class had been held the day before ….. now THAT is embarrassing! LOL And I got to explain to my boss just why I not only missed a day of training . . . I was MIA the day after! Pft!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Ouch, that’s pretty bad. I’ve missed a few things, but 90% of the times I’ve done it I’ve caught myself just in time. I did hit a final exam at university an hour late, but I aced it anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. joannesisco

    I like this Trent. So often social media gets a bad rap and certainly FB gets more than its fair share of criticism.
    I have a Dutch cousin currently visiting me. This is her first time to Canada and meeting most of the family for the first time. It all became possible because 3 years ago she found me on FB.

    This is definitely smile worthy. We need to celebrate these little positives :)

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The social media world does sometimes makes life in the “real” world easier. In the last week or so we’ve had some group discussions using Facebook’s chat feature. It might be possible to do a 15 person text with phones, but I don’t know how easy. With FB Messenger, I can use my phone to talk to 15 people.
      Very cool about your Dutch cousin. I hope you all are having a great time!

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

