When Her Bus Came In

jhc7

PHOTO PROMPT © J Hardy Carroll

A refugee from the 1930s, the bus station was a place caught in a temporal bubble.  I switched between pacing the well-worn floor and sitting in the rock-hard benches as I waited, my mind aflame with her memories, the way she had left eight months ago, yesterday’s frantic text message and the ticket I had purchased online.

The bus finally arrived.  I saw her in the middle of the crowd before she saw me.  Everything she owned in the world fit in a small bag and a backpack.  I was about to turn and leave when I noticed the baby.

Word count = 100

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This weeks prompt is here and uses a photo provided by © J Hardy Carroll.  Read more stories or join in by following the “linky

15 thoughts on “When Her Bus Came In

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on May 21, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Whatever background you think is the correct one for the moment. With the innocent life is involved, he decided he (or she decided – it could be a mom or best friend) decided he (or she) needed to stay help.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. SunSandSeaSandeep

    I like the story. You have left so many things unspoken and to my assumption that I am more curious to know what exactly went into your mind. :). Also, the fact that you used the floor and chairs in the image to create a vivid imagination of the story was good on your part. I shall keep that in mind for the future.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The thought process was pretty mundane – I had wrote it out as a story about waiting for someone to return after a long absence, originally two years. The idea of the baby came in and I rewrote it. I was intentionally a bit ambiguous – whose baby is it, the narrators or the person she left with? Is the narrator a spurned lover, the father (or mother), a teacher, a best friend? I think it’s up to the reader to decide ;)

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I was thinking the events that led up to her leaving town are the ones he needs to take responsibility for, the ones that happened 9 or 10 months ago. Of course it could also be the daughter who ran away from home with her boyfriend only to return with a child, it depends on how you want to read it…

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

