If We Were Having Coffee on May 14, 2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice big mug of very strong French Roast.  If you’d rather i can also offer you an assortment of tea, cocoa or other morning drink.  After last night’s rain it looks like it will be a beautiful day out there so perhaps we can take a walk and chat.

So, where am I this fine weekend?  From the picture at the top some of my weekly coffee company will know that I am in New Hampshire.  Yep, two weekends in a row.

This has been another busy week.  Work was a little less busy than l;ast week, but there was still plenty going on.  At one point I had meetings scheduled from 9 AM through 1:30 PM and then a 2:30 PM scheduled.  That includes a place I was double booked.  Thankfully the hour and half meeting was canceled and two of the others were short enough for me to stand up.  And then, of course, i had something planned every night during the week.  Not big things, but enough that I really didn’t have as much “personal artistic” time as I like.

This was a beautiful week.  I turned off the heat in the house!  Even though we had a milder than usual winter, we had some cold in the spring after I removed plastic from the windows and propane prices were double what it was last year so this has been the most expensive winter ever.

As I said, it was a beautiful week and I did get outside a bit.  I walked dogs and did a few runs on my own.  I chased dogs up and down the hill in my back yard. I did a few outdoor chores.  This week I have to mow, which will get me out even more.  I’ll also spend a lot of time out of doors this weekend.

Are you having nice weather?  Have you been able to enjoy it?

With all of that, I three times was able to turn off all screens, turn on all my electronic musical instruments and just jam out.  I spent a lot of time exploring new sounds.  One of the biggest influences on my music, Isao Tomita, passed away this week and I had to create some rich electronic textures in his honor.

I also spent a little time reading stories.  I still haven’t decided on the content for my up coming short story book!  I have almost 200 stories to wade through, which includes some I haven’t posted.  I will have the list finalized by the end of the month and then start editing.

I did a little better blogging this week.  I don’t have time to read blogs when I’m at work, or at least not many, so I miss quite a bit.  If you post between 8PM and 5 PM EST, I might not see your post unless I actively go looking for it.  Yeah, that’s a big chunk of the day and I miss a lot!  But I do try to zip through the Reader real quick and read things that jump out.  Plus I actively search out a few of my favorite bloggers.  Still, I have about 1/5 the time that I had just two months ago, so that means a couple of months ago I was reading five times more posts.  And I think it’s the same for everyone – even though I posted almost the same as usual, I have had about 1/3 the views as I’ve had on average this year.

Well, I might not have posted quite as much as i was posting in March.  I post a reminder for my Week 18 Smile on Sunday.  On Monday I reposted on of the very first posts I put up when I started blogging.  I missed Tuesday (my lowest view day in over a year) but was able to put up my Week 19 Smile post on Wednesday (check it out and add your own smile :) ).  Thursday I posted a little flash fiction story and Friday I posted a longer work of Fiction.  Yes, back to two works of fiction a week.

I will likely spend as much of the day outside as possible.  Perhaps today is the day I start mowing.  And I need to run.  The dogs are looking at me saying they need to go out.  But I promise to join at least a few of you for coffee.

So that was my week.  And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

(Edit at noon – go check out everyone’s smiles!  I think there are some great smiles this week!  Here is a direct link to the link up.  Go take a look!)

47 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on May 14, 2016

  1. Pingback: #Monday Coffee | Thoughts by Mello-Elo

  2. Prior-2001

    the music tribute jam session just sounds super awesome… and that’s the way to do it my man!

    and glad the heat is off – and the weather here is rain and more rain – little breaks – but oh well

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The first week of May was wet and cold here. So this last week when the sun came and everything turned bright green, yeah, I’m happy spring is here at last!Today is cool, but it feels like a late spring day that’s cool, not a return to winter.

      I hope you’re having a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
              1. Prior-2001

                Ha! I’ll bring some coffee this time- seeing that it is Monday and I am late for weekend Java-!
                Side note – I have been adding unsweetened almond milk to coffee – and it is really good – who knew?

                Liked by 1 person

                Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      your messages got sent to spam. So I just found them. Yes, I started back with coffee about 2 weeks ago. I did a little over a month with no caffeine then two weeks of tea then back to coffee.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Sometimes coffee makes me jittery – Star Bucks always does no matter how little I drink – but so far I haven’t had that problem since I restarted (I haven’t been back to Star Bucks)

          Like

          Reply
  3. Connie T

    You sound like your always have busy weeks. I like that you write a lot. I want to go for a ride in you canoe. I love the ocean. I would be too afraid to paddle out there alone. I have a canoe but have never used it yet. Maybe someday, if the waves are not too big.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      A couple of years ago I wasn’t as busy at work. Actually up until September I could always find some free time. But then I changed positions and things started to get a lot busier. The last few weeks have been even busier than usual – some days no time to breath. So I went from being able to read a lot at work to not being able to read at all.
      Actually I have a kayak, not a canoe. Well, I have 2 kayaks, including a 2 person one, so you could ride in that. Even when it is relatively calm kayaks are wetter than canoes. Most of my paddling is on a brackish water pond and tidal river, I don’t go out on to the ocean very often and I try to avoid it when if the waves are too big.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 14 May 2016 | Scribble and Scran

  5. Deborah Weber

    Heat off and mowing – sounds like Spring has officially arrived! Hope you get some time to really unwind and relax this weekend – your schedule sounds crazy. The weather here is Chicago is fickle – lots of rain and cool temps with a lovely warm day inserted in there once in a while so we don’t lose all hope.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Today is cool, but it still feels like spring. It will be warm on Tuesday and hot by Saturday. The first week of May never got above 47 and it rained every day, so I know how that feels. I did relax a bit, so I’m almost ready for the week ahead..

      Have a great week and I hope the weather in the windy city gets a little warmer soon (I’ll be in the Cleveland area in 2 weeks so i hope the Great Lakes are warmer by then!)

      Like

      Reply
  6. nerdinthebrain

    The weather here is great…if already a bit too warm on some days. :)

    I totally understand your blog reading and posting slow down…I’m in the midst of a similar situation. I love my blog friends dearly, but life away from the computer sure slurps up blogging time. :)

    I hope you’re having a fantastic weekend!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There have been a few times I’ve felt warm even wearing shorts, so i can understand how it can be overly warm that much farther south! I hope you have a great week. I’ll be by soon if you’re having coffee at your place.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Actually, my house is now quite warm, which is good after keeping it on the cool side for a while. I know it won’t be too long before I’ll want to cool it back down.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I just talked to my parents in North central Ohio (about 45 miles west of Cleveland on the Lake) and it does sound cool. I hope it warms up a bit for Memorial day weekend when I go there to visit!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          You need to reread my coffee post ;) Every week I say where I am – this week it was at home in New Hampshire. Some weeks it’s at my cottage on Cape Cod. I’m originally from Ohio but have lived most of my adult life in New England.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  7. charlypriest

    A hot cup of coffe….. I´m going your way. Glad you had a good weekend, mine was not so nice yet again it is life, and with the bad always put a smile in your face, be positive, wich is what I like about your blog

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Sorry you didn’t have a very good week. Sometimes keeping a good attitude helps. And of course, having a cute puppy helps, even if it is a complete hellion (most of them are).

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

