Dreaming

arena

PHOTO PROMPT © CEAYR

Through my childhood I looked at the giant blue flower glowing across the river and dreamed.  Sometimes I imagined it was flying saucer that had descended from space.  It might as well have still been in space, we never had more than two nickels to rub together so I never came within two blocks of the shining object.

Although I dreamed about it, I couldn’t truthfully imagine even sitting in the stadium, let alone playing in it.

So to all of you kids on the wrong side of the river, if I break the record tonight, this one’s for you.

(note – after being up for a few hours I greatly edited the story)

Word count = 100

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This weeks prompt is here and uses a photo provided by  © CEAYR.  Read more stories or join in by following the “linky

24 thoughts on “Dreaming

  1. patriciaruthsusan

    How wonderful that he’s achieved success when he began so poor. I was reading some of the comments and agree it’s one of the few paths open to many youngsters to reach success and an education. Well written, Trent. :) — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on May 14, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! Yes, it is sad that sports and sometimes music are about the only career paths that lead away from that “wrong side”. Some are able to transcend that background, but far too few.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Dreamer of Dreams

    It’s a lovely story, Trent! And I love the idea of seeing it as a giant flying saucer or a giant blue flower (I saw it as a spaceship, too) – beautifully connected with a kid’s dream of making it big in a world that seemed so unattainable at first.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! My first thought was the flower, then the spaceship. In the end i wanted a “real” story and not sci-fi or fantasy, so I found a way to put them both in any way. And it did fit with the little kid’s imagination as he dreamed about the future.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

