If We Were having Coffee on April 30, 2016

Weekend Coffee on Cape Cod

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice large mug of very strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or some other morning beverage.  I’m drinking coffee for the second time since i stopped almost 2 months ago.

Isn’t it a gorgeous day?  The sun is shining and it is warming up nicely.  It would be hard to imagine a nicer day!  And exactly were are we?  From the picture some of my long time visitors may realize we are one Cape Cod this beautiful morning.

This week was my spring break.  I drove down to my cottage on Cape Cod Tuesday evening.  I took most of the day off on Wednesday then took off Thursday and Friday.  It has been seasonably cool, but very nice sown here this week.  I’ve walked on the beach every morning, including today.  I’ve kayaked, including a 5.5 mile (just under 9 km) paddle down to the ocean and back yesterday.  It took about an hour and twenty minutes, including stops to take pictures, so I paddle at a pretty fast pace (a bit better than 4 mph average).  I’ve been walking in the woods.  And I’ve just been enjoying myself.

I’ve seen a bit of wildlife.  On my drive down here a Fisher Cat crossed right in front of my car, stopped at the edge of the woods and snarled at me.  What’s a Fisher Cat?  It is a large weasel on steroids.  Google it.  Yesterday, on the way to the beach a large Tom Turkey slowly walked across the road in front of my car.  When started again he fluffed up and fanned his tail, looking just like those corny old Thanksgiving decorations.  I’ve seen plenty of osprey, swans, ducks, geese, piping plovers (this morning three flew past me then landed just a few feet in front of me),  egrets and other shore birds.

I need to show off my latest toy.  I picked up a 21 watt solar panel and a 1300 maH battery.  I charge the battery in the sun and then charge my devices from the battery.  I’ve also charged both my phone and Kindle Fire straight from the solar cell and find it charges just as fast as plugging them into the wall.  Cool, right?

As far as blogging goes, I didn’t read as much as I wanted to this week.  I mostly did it in short bursts, trying to go through my reader but also hit some of my favorites.  Sorry if I missed you this week.

A far as posting, I did a little better.  On Saturday I posted posted another a video and long write up for another movement of my Hamlet Symphony.  I wasn’t originally planning on doing it, but since it was the 400th anniversary of the Bards death and this movement had a very explicit musical reference to death, I couldn’t help it.  I have 2 more movements to post.  On Sunday I posted a reminder for the Week 16 Weekly Smile.  On Monday I posted some pictures of red Trilliums, a very pretty wild flower.  On Wednesday I posted my week 17 Weekly Smile (read it, follow the linky, read others and join in the fun!).  On Thursday I talked about childhood memories of seeing the original Star Wars when it first came out.  It was magical to a 13 year old!  Also on Thursday I posted a flash fiction piece for Friday Fictioneers.  I was too busy being outside on Friday to write a new story, so I reblogged my illustrated story, The Magic Wand.  A quick word about it – I drew the panels almost exactly 2 years ago when I was down here on Cape Cod for Spring Break.  I was inspired after visiting the Edward Gorey House (if you don’t know him, Google the name).  The bat mug at the top is an Edward Gorey illustration.

As I said, it is a gorgeous day today.  I am surrounded by natural beauty.  I will try to have tea or coffee with everyone, but if I’m a little slow, well, I’m outside!

So that was my week.  And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

22 thoughts on “If We Were having Coffee on April 30, 2016

  1. Robin

    Your week and your nice weather sound wonderful. I have never heard of a Fisher Cat before. It’s an interesting looking animal, but not one I’d want to encounter up close (judging by the teeth in the photos I looked at!).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s been a great weekend. I’ve seen Fisher Cats 3 times. The first time I had never heard of such a thing. It was 5 AM and the thing was in the middle of the road. I slammed on my breaks and came to a screeching halt. The thing snarled at my car then moseyed off the road, not in a hurry. I was sure if i was really awake or if it was a nightmare. After telling the story a coworker told me what it was.

      Like

      Reply
  2. roweeee

    Sounds like you’ve had a great week and being in the outdoors on your kayak and seeing that wildlife, sounds like a dream. I have been in such a pressure cooker with the A-Z Challenge and it’s great to feel human again.
    Take care and hope you have a great week!
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I was great having a bit of a get away. Relaxing yet event filled. I’m sure it is both with a sense of great accomplishment and relief to finish your A-Z! I didn’t get a chance to read as much as I would have liked to, but I’ll try to get back and look ta the “wrap up” post later tonight. (I hope)

      I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Nancy

    Kayaking sounds fun. I’m sure I could never keep up with you, though! I am more of a recreational paddler. :) When I was a teenager one of my friends family had a canoe and a group of us girls would take it out for a day of picnicking and sunbathing with short bursts of canoeing in between.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      In the tree years since we’ve had the cottage I must have been on the kayak at least 150 times, maybe more. Yeah, I kayak a lot, which is one reason I like to paddle very fast. It is great fun, and when I’m with someone I can go leisurely.

      It sounds like a great time, a day out with friends on the canoe.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  4. Corina

    I am really interested in getting a solar charging mat. There are so many that it’s confusing when I go to check them out. One day I’ll figure it out and get one. I’m glad you are enjoying your weather! It has been quite wet here this week. The weather people say we’re supposed to have sun and 80 degree weather today and tomorrow but it’s almost noon here and it is a very cloudy 50 degrees. So perhaps they are wrong. I could use some sun this weekend. The boys are climbing the walls because they haven’t been out to play!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It has been a weird spring. The temps here have been in the 50s, which is pretty typical for this time of year. It was pretty close to 50. On thing, Spring on Cape Cod is cool because the ocean water is still cool.
      I pretty much “eeny-meeny-miney-moed” which solar charger to get. I ended up with a 21 Watt Anker off of Amazon. I used it one day and then ity diodn’t work. I went to call the company and as I was on hold it start working and has been fine since. Odd. But all week I’ve been able to use it without a problem.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Rhio

    Wow kayaking. I was lucky enough to get the chance to do that in Canada when I was younger and I LOVED it. So peaceful being out on the water. We don’t have anywhere where I live to do things like that, the rivers are fast and not many lakes!
    I keep saying it, but I hope I do actually do the weekly smile this week. I am planning on doing so.

    Hope you have a great week :D

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      My cottage on Cape Cod is very close to a boat landing on brackish water pond. I can have my kayak in the water in about 5 minutes from the time I walk out of my house. Yes, I love being here :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

