Weekly Smile Week 17 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

I’ve posted smiles that have run a large rang. There have been simple things and complex, old and new, and.. wait… that sounds like something for this weeks smile :)

I received my first music synthesizer when I graduated high school.  It was part graduation present and I paid for part of it.  The instrument was a Realistic MG-1.  That’s right, it came from Radio Shack!  That being said, the basic synthesizer was built by Moog, a company that at one time was almost synonymous with synthesizer.  Through the years I bought newer and better instruments.  The MG-1 had two ways to make sounds – the Moog analog synth, which played one note at a time.  This sound quickly became dated as the 80s progressed.  Then there was an organ tone that I almost never used.  The newer instruments had a “modern” sound and could play more than one note at a time.  As time went by the keyboard had issues and other problems cropped up.

So, my first synthesizer has spent about 2 decades in a closet.

MG-1 top

Funny thing, that old school analog sound is back in fashion in some circles.  I’ve posted about my modular synthesizer before.  Second funny thing is that the MG-1 can actually be used with the modular since the use much of the same technology.

A few weeks ago I brought out the old Realistic and hooked it up to the modular.  After a little fiddling I got it to work.  And actually, it sounds great!  Last Sunday I decided to do a quick recording.  The sounds all come from the old MG-1 but I have processed them through the modular.  In ways this is the best of both worlds – true old-school sounds put through new old-school equipment.

As part of this “back in time” experiment, the little ditty I recorded was something that I wrote back in the day and used to play with the Realistic MG-1.  Here is the video

(click here if you don’t see the video)

So that was my smile for the week, bring an old musical instrument back from the dead and updating sounds from my childhood with my new hobby.

What did you smile about this week?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

MG-1 and modular

16 thoughts on “Weekly Smile Week 17 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: Book Tuesday: Trent’s World | Thoughts by Mello-Elo

  2. Pingback: Treasures #WeeklySmile | Wasted Days And Wasted Nights

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I can hear how old video games would come to mind. It is very 1980s! Well, the middle section sounds a little more 1970s, but that bass line could have been any 1980s techno-pop band.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Pingback: If We Were having Coffee on April 30, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  4. Pingback: Weekly Smile – creatingmyspaceblog

  5. Pingback: Snow, Birdhouse and Flowers – ladyleemanila

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! There once was a time when the word “synthesizer” and the word “Moog” were pretty much synonymous in most people’s minds. The technology has come a huge way since then (as with everything!) yet people are back to searching for that distinctive sound.

      Like

      Reply
  6. joannesisco

    You know, I didn’t understand any of this – Moog bass, old analog, modulator, warmer tones etc

    … but I could picture you smiling broadly as you got this to work and you were able to re-engineer your original piece :)

    Like

    Reply

Express Yourself

