If We Were Having Coffee on the 23rd of April, 2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice large mug of very strong French Roast, a cuppa tea, hot cocoa or other morning appropriate (non-alcoholic) beverage.  I’m drinking tea.  I went about a month caffeine free and have drinking just tea for the last week.  I may just stay coffee-less.  Not sure yet.

Some of my long time readers may recognize from the picture that I’m in NH this weekend.  It has been an absolutely gorgeous week.  OK, until yesterday.  Yesterday was still warm but it was cloudy with passing showers.  Today, so far, seems like a repeat, though a little cooler.   Still, I won’t complain.

It’s been a busy week but, as often happens, I can’t recall 95% of it.  I need to keep a diary!  I did “go” to a conference, though I attended on-line.  That means I missed the vendors, the schmoozing, etc., but I did see the round tables, the speeches and other such stuff.

I played outside quite a bit, did stuff around the house and finally watched the new Star Wars movie.  You can read this week’s smile post about Star Wars, though I’m planning on doing a Throwback Thursday post on Star Wars in general.

I’m listening to Prince right now.  He was so ultra-talented, but I’ll admit I have a much stronger connection to ELP (RIP Kieth Emerson) and David Bowie – I’m still listening to Bowie’s music more than any other music.

Artistically, I haven’t gotten much done lately.  I have that promised self-published book of short stories on my to-do list.  I have someone helping me sort who has been AWOL for almost 2 months and so I blame her ;)  I also need to do a good second draft of “The Halley Branch” and a 5th draft of “The Fireborn”.  I also need to send query letters to agents for “The Fireborn”.  And music?  I’ve sat and jammed a few times lately, but nothing more than just “making noise” (I used to call tapes (I’m old) of my music, “Noise year“, where year was like “1997” or whatever.)  And drawing?  I used to put up at least 3 new drawings a week (back in 2014).  How many new drawings have you seen this year?  One?  Two?

I have been blogging a little, at least the writing half.  My reading levels dropped quiet a bit this week.  We’ll see how it goes.

I started the week blogging with a reminder for the week 15 Weekly Smile.  On Monday I posted a video for the 3rd movement of my Hamlet Symphony along with a long dissertation on “madness” in the play.  On Tuesday I posted a kind of melancholy poem about missing friends and lovers.  Wednesday was, of course my Weekly Smile for week 16.  Go check out the smiles and add your own!  Thursday was a bit of flash fiction for Friday Fictioneers.  I started Friday by writing a short story around Thursday’s flash fiction, a bit of an adventure story.  Later in the day I posted a quick pat-myself-on the back post about recent stats.

Despite the less than stellar weather I plan on being out and about most of the weekend.  I promise to drop in on occasion and read coffee posts, so if you have one I’ll try to make it!

So that was my week.  And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

21 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 23rd of April, 2016

  1. Nancy

    Sounds like a fun week. I like how you said you were “playing outside.” That is certainly something we grown-ups need to allow ourselves to do more often. I need more of that myself. Today I was trimming hedges. Not fun at all. I did do one fun thing that I am going to go share at the Weekly Smile, though!
    My husband is very excited that Paul McCartney is touring again. Would he be so one you would enjoy seeing (if you haven’t already)? I’ve not had the opportunity to see him before but Hubby did many years ago and said he was excellent. Enjoy your week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It was a very good week. When I’m up here in NH, “playing outside” usually means with the dogs. I do some outdoor work and walk and stuff, but “play time” is trying to keep the dogs in bounds as the play in the woods behind our house.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    2. trentpmcd Post author

      Oops, I sent that too soon. I wouldn’t mind seeing Paul McCartney. I like a lot of his music, but don’t listen to much beyond the Beatles. On a sad note, I think you need to grab an opportunity to see him – with all of the celebrity deaths and with him in his 70s, well, he won’t be here forever…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. roweeee

    Hi Trent,
    Happy Sunday to you. Did you hear that it was the 400th Anniversary of Shakespeare’s Death yesterday? I am pleased it coincided with my letter to Shakespeare for the challenge as I felt a part of the festivities all the way from the Antipodes.
    Hope you have a great week ahead. The weather is starting to cool down a bit now and had the electric blanket on last night. Next weekend once the challenge is over, I’ll be getting out the woolens.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Shakespeare? I thought it was the 400th anniversary of the death of Miguel de Cervantes. Oh wait, that was Friday ;) Yes, I did read your letter to the Bard. Was it fate or planning that you hit that day? I put up another Hamlet Symphony video to celebrate – it isn’t the darkest movement, but it does end in Death.
      Cooling there, warming here. The woolens are all packed away and some people have been wearing shorts.
      Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Master of Something Yet

    Hi Trent! I feel like I’ve been AWOL myself. I’ve been struggling to find time to read (let alone write) and what reading time I’ve had, I’ve been using to read a book. A real life, made of paper, book! First time in I don’t know how long. And I finished it. Okay, it was only The Hunger Games but at least it was a book. :) I’m about to pop over and at least read your Star Wars post (of course!). Looking forward to Thursday’s too. :) Good to hear you’re well and the weather is treating you kindly. Mother Nature can’t decide if she’s ready for Autumn here yet and keeps regressing to Summer (29C last Wed).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hi Heather, it’s great to see you! Through March and early April it kept going from mild spring to mid-winter. We even had snow the second week of April! So the nice weather is great. We even reached about 28C the other day.
      I have a stack of paper books begging to be read. I’m taking a few days off next week and may start on the pile. I’ll try to stop by soon and see if you have anything new, anything else you’ve been trying to master ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. bettylouise31

    I am out about and I get people to smile at, I think about your. One little girl this week wouldn’t answer back. I am still about doing a post for your smile blog.. We seem to be having the same type of weather. The major part the storm has pass by but the wind is still us .

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It has turned into a beautiful day after the slow start.

      I hope you do find plenty to smile at this week. And if you find time to write a post, that would be great. If not, well, at least you smiled :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I have a 75-300 for my Olympus EM-5. I’ve gotten into doing some birding when I’m on Cape Cod and it’s a great lens. I hope you have good results with your new lens.

      It has been a busy week, but lately most are.

      Have a good week!

      Like

      Reply
  5. Solveig

    I am like you about 90% of my week evaporates when I sit down for coffee shares… I did put an extra effort for today though :)
    Nice weather is always a good excuse not to read… I have to check out your stats post, as I am a stats nerd too :) Have a marvellous weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I remember a few times through the week thinking, “Ah, here is something I’ll put on my coffee share post!” Now what those things were, I have no clue. The weather has improved since I wrote this post. It’s now sunny! I’ll be outside again in the very near future….

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

