Barbed Wire

PHOTO PROMPT © Madison Woods

PHOTO PROMPT © Madison Woods

“If they don’t see us they will know we are here when the electric is cut.  Are you ready?”

Rose and Merl nodded.  Rose was carrying  wood-handled clippers.  Merl had three saddle blankets.  I was carrying a length of knotted rope tied to a heavy anchor.

I gave the hand signal and we rushed the fence.  Rose knew the exact wires to clip.  Merl threw the blankets onto the top of the fence to cover the barbs.  I tossed the anchor over.

Swinging my legs over the top they got snagged on the barbs.  I heard the choppers coming.

“Run!”

Word count = 100

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This weeks prompt is here and uses a photo provided by © Madison Woods.  Read more or join in by following the “linky“.

I just made a longer version of this.  What do you think?

28 thoughts on “Barbed Wire

  1. joannesisco

    I think I might have enjoyed the suspense of this one better if it wasn’t so close to an actual escapade of mine.
    … except instead of choppers, we were evading cows ;)

    btw – cows are really scary ;)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 23rd of April, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. Pingback: Barbed Wire – Full Story | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Against the odds, somehow he should make it. I have plotted out a few scenarios in my head, but I most likely won’t write a sequel. But then again, I also never say “never”.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yes, it is hard in open areas, but perhaps they have a 20 meter sprint until they are in another country and they know the helicopters won’t risk being shot down. Or maybe it’s a deep forest, or there is a prearranged hiding place, or the narrator has a diversionary tactic planned, or someone is waiting for them, or they hid antiaircraft missiles in the bushes before they entered, or a thousand other possibilities. With these 100 words we can only guess, but I think that guess is half of the fun.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

