Weekly Smile Week 16 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

16 weeks already!  i wish I could say the idea has really taken off, but, well, a handful of people post regular smiles but it rarely goes beyond that.  But hey, that is a few smiles more in the world than there were before, right?  :)

As I’ve said many times before, the Weekly Smile can be about anything that makes you smile.  Well, anything within reason – no smiling at other’s misfortune, for any hateful reason or for violence.  The rules can be seen here.  What I’m saying, is that the smile can be about a small thing – the words of a child, the colorful bird you saw, the bed of pretty daffodils, etc.  The smile doesn’t have to be huge or Earth shattering.  Which brings me to today ;)

I often say that I’m a nerd, but I usually don’t show my nerd creds.  I don’t do comics.  I don’t watch TV, except the news, and rarely go to the movies.  Yes, I can quote 45 year old Monty Pythons’ lines with the best of them, but these days I prefer quoting Calvin and Hobbes.  And The LotR?  I read the books at least once a year from the time I was 16 until i was 30.  I haven’t touched them since.

As a kid I was totally taken in by Star Wars.  When it was released I saw it eight times.  In the theater.  With in two years of its release.  The only other movie I ever saw multiple times in the theater was Rocky Horror Picture Show and that, well, that’s different – it isn’t the movie as much as the experience.  So yes, for the first series I was a total Star Wars nerd.  For the second series I was a little less enthralled, but I did catch them all in the theater.    So the new one?  Well, I missed it.

That is, I missed it until now.  I saw the new Star Wars over the weekend!  It wasn’t my favorite, but much better than the first of the second series.  My problem with this one was 75% of it felt more like I was watching a “fan fiction” movie and not a Star Wars movie.  George Lucas’ vision of the Star Wars universe seems to be mostly missing.  All the details were right, well not all, but most.  Yet something was missing.  That being said, it was very enjoyable.  With the second series it took seeing the whole arc of the trilogy before I totally excepted it.  Once the last one was out even the horrid first seemed better.  So I will not write this off.  As i said, I really enjoyed it, and there were some things that they did right, enough, to paraphrase a famous line form the movie, in ways it felt like “we’re home.”

That was my smile this week: Seeing the new Star Wars movie.  What was yours?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

26 thoughts on “Weekly Smile Week 16 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: Whew: – creatingmyspaceblog

  2. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    I haven’t seen Rocky Horror Picture Show movie but loved the stage production. I saw Star Wars the original and wasn’t hooked and haven’t seen any of the ones following. My 12 year old nephew informs me that the latest is the best. I tend to believe your version. Glad it gave you a smile though.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I haven’t seen the stage version of the Rocky Horror Show. The movie is great fun. Of course, a huge part of the movie is the audience, so it isn’t quite the same on DVD or Blu-ray.

      As a 12 or 13 year old seeing the original Star Wars on the large screen – and the screens were much larger back then – I was totally blown away. One thing about the new movie is that it tried to capture some of the look and feel of the original series. It also brought back some of the “space opera” feel of the first one. So maybe not “the best ever”, but in some ways the best since the original series.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          If you didn’t like the original, well, maybe not, but for those of us who liked the original but really didn’t care as much for where the second series went, this is a great throwback to the earlier movie and movies.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  3. Pingback: Discovering a Drawing #WeeklySmile | Solveig Werner

  4. Master of Something Yet

    We really enjoyed Star Wars 7. It felt like it had gone back to the originals, particularly in look. (I read later that it was a deliberate decision to use CGI as little as possible so it would look like the original movies.)

    The only movie I’ve seen multiple times in the cinema is The King’s Speech. I saw it four times! Well, you know, different groups of friends were going so why not tag along, eh? ;) DVDs is another matter. I’ve watched many movies over and over. (Including The King’s Speech probably another five times!) It’s my safe space when I want to escape the stresses in my life.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The cat sitting on my lap is named “Albert” for a reason ;) My wife is a speech pathologist and that was one of the few movies that touched on her profession that she actually liked.

      I have the Blu-ray for Star Wars 7 so I will watch it again in the near future. I might even go back through all of them, from 1 to 7 to see how it fits. And then, of course, I’ll have to see where they take it. There were parts I totally loved and parts that seemed, as I said, almost like fan fiction. The look was a plus, as was the fact that there were fewer action sequences just for the sake of having action as there was in a few of the other movies. (I may be the only person on earth that thought the asteroid scene in Empire Strikes Back was totally hokey and one of the worst parts of the original series). Anyway, I’ll do a throwback Star Wars post either this week or next…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 23rd of April, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  6. Pingback: Weekly Smile #16 | Lillie-Put

  7. Pingback: Ponies, Bees and Forest – ladyleemanila

  8. Pingback: Weekly Smile 21st April 2016 | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  9. creatingmyspaceblog

    My son is looking forward to the new star wars movie, I remember his amazement at Yoda’s fight scene in #6? ‘He’s a fast little sucker he is!’ (I think my son was 6 at the time). I have been meaning to read the books and haven’t got around to it yet. I really hope the new movie has the power to amaze with special effects? I shall have to wait for the dvd, no theater here. Thanks for sharing. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It should be out on DVD – I picked up the Blu-ray about last week from Amazon.

      So funny that at 6 he already got “Yoda-talk” :)

      There are a few really cool things in the new movie, special effects-wise. Nothing ground shattering, but I love the sequences with the ruins of the old, crashed star destroyers, including..no, you’ll have to see.

      One “problem” with the movie is that it is very much a prelude. Yes, there is some closure at the end, but there are more questions than answers.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. creatingmyspaceblog

        Sweet. I will look forward to seeing it then :) And don’t give up on the weekly smile, I just found it! I will be sharing it to my blog once I get inlinkz down :)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  10. joannesisco

    I’m still stuck on the line about seeing Rocky Horror Picture Show multiple times. I’ve never heard someone else admit to that! … and yes, it was definitely more than just a movie, it was an experience :)

    Star Wars? Meh.

    Now I’m off to do the Time Warp … (thanks for the smile!)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Rocky Horror was a great experience. The last time I saw it in a theater was in NYC in the early 90s. It had been played in that same theater every midnight for almost 20 years. before the film started they introduced half of the audience – who was in what costume, etc. It wasn’t my favorite showing, but it was a great experience.
      I also remember the point in my life when I discovered people would give me funny looks when I sang “I’m a sweet transvestite from transsexual Transylvania”! OK, being a straight guy I guess some songs are better off not being sung in public ;)

      Like

      Reply
  11. joseph elon lillie

    My nerd creds stem beyond Star Wars into the comic world (though I gave up buying them long ago). I can only ever watch a movie once though. Even back in my heyday of great movie going I would only see a movie once. More than that seemed too much of a good thing to me. That said my sister saw Star Wars 50 times!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      By the time I was a teen I thought of comics as being made for “kids” and spent all of my reading time on Sci-Fi and Fantasy. Of course in the mid-1980s I read The Dark Night Returns graphic novel and discovered that Batman was a little more than the campy 1960s TV show, but it was too late by then.

      I’ve only seen the two movies mentioned in the post in the theater multiple times. Once a movie has been seen, well why go back? But for a while I was watching my favorites on tape, DVD multiple times. I very rarely have watched Blu-rays multiple times and never streaming. As I get older I find life is too short – I spend all of my work hours doing, not watching.

      That being said, I’m sure counting times on Beta, VHS, DVD and Blu-ray I’ve seen the first Star Wars film at least 30 or 40 times!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. joseph elon lillie

        I know what you mean. I do have to admit though I am a closet Superhero serial watcher of all the current WB shows. I don;t have much time for binge watching but every once in a while I get a day in which I can sit back and watch a whole set of shows to catch up.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Express Yourself

