When the Night Rides Gently Across the Land

 

Swan pond at sunset

When the night rides
Gently across the land
When the stars hide
Behind a cloudy band
Sleepless I lie in bed
Darkness fills my head
My feelings all are dead
My soul is filled with dread
For a part of me is missing
That’s shaped, my friend, like you
And the color it took with it
Leaves the rest in shades of blue

Gentle night lasts all day
Twilight around the clock
Stormy days behind me
Still water gently rock
Turbulence when you’re near
Has subsided so I fear
Your voice no more to hear
You’ve really gone away, my dear
For a part of me is missing
That’s shaped, my friend, like you
And the brightness it took with it
Colors my mind a midnight hue

When the night rides
Gently across the land
When the stars hide
Behind a cloudy band
Think kind thoughts of me
My friend
For you know
I am thinking kind thoughts
Of you

13 thoughts on “When the Night Rides Gently Across the Land

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 23rd of April, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Isolated_girl

    I do understan how it feels like losing a friend, and wen he is ur best!

    I m sure! your friend must be so happy seeing this poem and seeing u missing!

    But won’t like being sad!

    wonderful poem trent

    love from Nepal

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      In the story of our lives different characters make entrances and exits. Usually when they go, they sort of fade away and we say, “I haven’t heard from that person in a long time…” It is a continuous thing, as the dynamics change. So, from my side, there are people I haven’t heard from for too long so I wonder, and from the poem’s point of view, I think we all have friends that have slipped away that we miss and wonder about. Sorry, too much time explaining what you know ;)

      Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

