If We Were Having Coffee – 4/16/2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice large mug of very strong French Roast.  Or you can join me in a cuppa tea.  Yes, I am drinking tea this week.  I went about a month mostly caffeine free, but yesterday I started drinking tea again.  We have many types to chose from, but I’m having an English Breakfast tea.  Unlike the English, though, I have it with just a touch of honey.  No milk, cream, lemon, processed sugar, etc.  I’m sure you won’t want to stay inside long as it’s a gorgeous day out there.  Yeah, I won’t be in long either.

And where is “here”?  Long time readers of my blog may recognize that mug as meaning we are in McDonald’s Pub in Co. Mayo, Ireland.  No, no, no, no, even though that’s what the mug says, that’s not where we are (unless you really are!).  We are in lovely New Hampshire, and as I said, it really is lovely today.

It has been a great week, but as great weeks go, when I think back on it there are few things that stick out.  Isn’t it weird about humans that we often remember the bad before the good?  That bad tales make better stories than good?  Maybe I need to keep a diary so I can have more to talk about!

First, it is spring.  The week began cool and wet, but it has been warming up and has been sunny.  And the forecast is mostly sunny for the next few days.  It will get quite warm coming up, but not hot.  I always hate hot days in early spring.  They feel out of place.  We’ve had one or two, but so far it hasn’t been bad.

I was on Cape Cod last weekend, which was great.  I can now say I have kayaked at least once every month so far in 2016.

I have been very busy at work, which to me is very good since i enjoy what I am doing.  I have also been pretty busy at home and have spent as much time as possible outside.

I’ve been a little better at keeping up with blogs this week, if not fantastic.  It is time consuming.  Yes, I enjoy reading people’s blogs and interacting with them, but there are only so many hours in a day and there is so much to do!  I vote for a 36 hour day and 9 day week.  Maybe I could fit in 2% of what I want to do instead of 0.5%

I also posted quite a bit this week.  On Sunday I posted a reminder for my Week 14 Smile.  Early Monday I knew I wasn’t going to be able to get a post out.  I felt so far behind and didn’t even want to think about blogging so I re-posted something about how to get back into the habit of blogging after time of, Getting Your Groove Back.  On Tuesday I posted a poem about being in that limbo where life just goes by, neither good nor bad.  Wednesday, of course, was my Week Smile #15, this one about the little things that make life worth while.  Look around you!  No matter your situation, if you look at life you’ll see that it is good.  Thursday morning I decided to open up so old sketchbooks and share some of my older drawing with you.  In the afternoon I put a piece of flash fiction for Friday Fictioneers.  On Friday I posted a short story written from the point of view of what might be thought of as a villain.  Of course, the main character thinks he’s the hero.  Later in the day I posted a second Friday Fictioneers story.  This story is as close as I have ever gotten to “fan fiction” as it is based loosely on The Who’s Tommy.  My original thought was autism awareness, but somehow Tommy came out instead.

Now if you’ll excuse me it is a beautiful day and the outside is calling my name.  I will be bouncing in and out and will try to visit you if you’re having a coffee share.

So that was my week.  And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before. (Note – I’ll make the links hot later in the day.)

32 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 4/16/2016

  1. roweeee

    Hi Trent. It’s now Wednesday but better late than never. Thought you’d like a Tim Tam. We bought a large double pack but it seems they just get eaten just as fast. I can so relate your your feelings of inadequacy trying to read posts, trying to get through my piles of books yet my kids are on school holidays but they also love their electronics. This should be a relationship i bust up more often but I’m engrossed in the A-Z Challenge. This has definitely exposed my ignorance but at least I’m more enlightened, even if I’m not “there” yet.
    My blog reached 40,000 views on Sunday. It was funny because the counter flipped over in my sleep and a further 80-100 people visited in my sleep. When I mentioned that to my husband, we both agreed it was good they didn’t stop by at the house.
    Well, the day is running away so I’d better head off!
    xx Ro

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks for stopping by for coffee and thanks for the Tam Tams. I did see that you offered some to at least one poet, which was excepted better than the Vegimite!

      Funny, I should be hitting 40,000 views by the end of the week – I’m about 150 down right now, so if there’s a spike in views it could be in the next day or two. Overall I’ve been doing really well with views here, just not me viewing other people’s sites.

      That being said, despite not commenting I have read most of your poet posts. One thing I didn’t comment on, but when you mention “ignorance” ;) – while “Hey Jude” was written for Julian Lennon, it was written by Paul. Beyond that, my knowledge of most of the poets is, well, very, very low….

      Yesterday I might have hit a dozen posts at the most. Today should be a little better, but perhaps not much. Well see. In some ways it is liberating to say, “I’m not going to read any today!”

      Have a good rest of the week! I hope your enjoying your kids being home. We’ll chat later. I have to get back to work…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. roweeee

        Thanks so much for the tip re “Hey Jude”. That’s been my only correction, which is a miracle because I’m writing these posts so fast and covering so much ground. I gave Oscar Wilde the Tim Tam and taught him about the Tim Tam Explosion where you suck your tea/coffee through it. It’s very decadent because the whole thing melts into a gooey chocolate mess and you’re sort of meant to get it all over your face. I thought the experience suited his decadence. Moreover, when I was at uni it was known rather crudely perhaps at the “Tim Tam Suck”.
        A premature congrats for reaching 40,000 hits. I was ecstatic but bunkered down writing these letters.
        The kids have gone to my parents’ for a few days so I can get this writing out of the way without feeling guilty. I’m putting much of this material together for the kids but that’s not the same as spending time with them.
        Hope you have a great week.
        xx Rowena

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Yes, decadence and Oscar Wilde seem to go together. Actually, he might actually have enjoyed the sexual innuendo of the cruder name more than the more tame version, particularly if said where it might shock someone.

          Have a great week!

          Like

          Reply
  2. Corina

    These days time for blogging is scarce but I’m trying to read at least the blogs that always reciprocate. However, that reading is often on my phone. And the WordPress app seems to have changed. I can no longer tweet a post or like it from my phone!

    I am glad you are enjoying your warm weather. We were in the 70’s yesterday. It’s currently 79°. Tomorrow is supposed to be very close to 90! Hopefully we can finish school stuff early enough to enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      90 is too hot for April! We’ve had it in the past, but I don’t like it when it gets hot early. It was in the 70s today and will be again tomorrow, then it will cool down.
      I sometimes read from my phone, but I do like the tablet better and the PC a lot better.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Solveig

    Ah it’s tough at the moment finding time for everything isn’t it? Maybe we all need to change how we organise things…
    You always sound so hard on yourself when it comes to writing your blog and visiting others, it shouldn’t be a chore.
    Every time that I sit down to write my coffee less post, I end up writing only a little of what I wanted and a lot more of other stuff that just takes the space. I don’t want my coffee posts to be long reads but at the moment I share only a fraction of things and I write almost a thousand words…
    Enjoy your Sunday! I know that I will see you around :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is really hard to do everything. I do try to prioritize, but when I get involved in something, I’m the type that focuses in and doesn’t realize that 4 hours just disappeared.
      I do get hard on myself when I don’t think I’m reading enough. I enjoy the blogs I read and like the people. If I didn’t, I wouldn’t bother. But I also see it as a kind of give and take. How can I expect people to come in and read what I have to say if I’m not going out and reading what they are saying? I’m not vindictive and I think most people aren’t either – I’m not going to stop reading your blog because I haven’t seen you “like” mine in weeks and I think most people are that way. That being said, I have noticed that the less I read the less views I get even if I’m posting at the same rate.
      Anyway, blogging isn’t about views it’s about people, which gets back to my first statement that I do like reading and interacting with other bloggers and I feel bad when I can’t.
      I know that many of my posts get too long. And funny, on Friday I think of 1000 things I want to mention on my coffee share post and on Saturday I can’t remember a single one! Ah well, life gets busy.
      Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Sounds like you’ve had a good week Trent. You’ve given me the incentive to try to put our tinny in the water in the coming week. Kayaking every month despite the cold is impressive.Sounds like a good blogging week. I’ll look for something that made me smile for next week. Have a great week and enjoy your wonderful weather.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m sure despite all that’s happening there is something out there that will make you smile this week :) so yes, try to find it and join in!
      It has been a busy, but good week. I love being out on the water and I’m sure once I move to Cape Cod full time (5 years? 10? 15?) I will be out all year – there is always at least some small bits of salt water that doesn’t ice over even in the coldest winters.
      As I said, I hope you have a good week coming up!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Marje @ Kyrosmagica

    I’ve broken out in a sweat just reading what you’ve done this week! Goodness me you blog a lot! I’m falling by the wayside – so busy at the moment with my WIP….editing is taking so much of my time that everything else is taking a bit of a back seat. So trying to get as much into my weekly coffee share as I can! I really miss having the time to blog more! Thanks for popping over to Kyrosmagica. Have a lovely Sunday. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I write very fast – I wrote my coffee post in about 10 minutes, so I can post a lot. My problem is that I don’t have time to go out and read other people’s blogs. I feel bad if I don’t interact at least a little.
      I have 3 WIP I need to work on – I have a 4th draft of a book that needs just a little cleaning up and much more marketing to agents, another that is just a first draft and is begging to have me write a second draft, and then there are the short stories. I’m digging through about 150 short stories as I try to deice which will go into a self-published book. All of them are little more than first draft, so I’ll need to work an them all once I narrow it down to 20 or so. As you know, the writing is the fun part ;)
      And then my musical instruments are screaming at me that they don’t get enough attention. I did “jam” for a couple of hours last night, but I need to sit down and do some serious playing and recording.
      Maybe I need 48 hour days and 12 day weeks instead of the 36 hour day and 9 day weeks I wished for in the post!
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Marje @ Kyrosmagica

        Ha sounds like you need a few more hours in the day!!! Me too, never seem to get enough time to do what I’d like to do either. I have a piano untouched for ages. A second WIP, that I haven’t looked at recently, plus a couple of picture books, several shorts stories, and a bunch of haikus…. If only I could wave a magic wand!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  6. Connie T

    You post a lot for a week. I don’t see how you have the time. I would love to try using a kayak. We have one but have not used it yet. I took it to the ocean in January but the waves were too strong to even try.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      That’s one of my problems – I can write a post in 10 minutes and a short story in maybe 20, but I don’t have time to read others. This is a social media and do want to spend time with the people I follow and that’s where the time crunch comes in.
      For kayaking you might want to find a protected bay to start off. I do most of my kayaking in a tidal pond and the tidal river. I occasionally make it out to the ocean, but will stay in my protected area if it’s rough – I put in about 2 1/2 miles from the ocean.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We have a year round cottage on Cape Cod (which is why I always start by saying where I am – I do a lot of weekends there). From our cottage I can get the kayak in the water in less than 10 minutes, so this year part of it was luck that the pond wasn’t frozen for big chunks of the winter. I love kayaking, so since we’ve had the place there I’ve spent quite a bit of time on the water.

      Like

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          kayaking is very popular on the East Coast, sometimes too popular – I like to be out there by myself. Of course I am when I go during the winter. Cape Cod is very beautiful.
          I lived in Texas for about six months just after college but never made it down to Austin. I have a niece who moved to Austin after college. After a few months she moved to San Antonio. She’s been down there for about 2 years.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. Amy

            It must be cold in the winter time. Most students who graduated from UT Austin want to stay there. People always say that San Antonio is one of the most friendly city. :)

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              It’s not that hard to dress for the cold. I also have a ‘skirt”, which covers the kayaks “cockpit”. It was warm enough this year that I didn’t have to use it, but I’ve used it winter kayaking in the past.
              I have heard good things about that part of Texas.

              Like

              Reply
  7. bettylouise31

    Nice your weather is finally warming up. It won’t be lo g before we are complaining about the heat. I am behind by doing a post for Flora Friday. I guess we make time for something important to us. No special story on mading someone smile as my allergies have snap my strength.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Sorry about the allergies. I’m sure you are right that it won’t be long before the “It’s too hot!” complaints start. I try to enjoy the weather we have, it’s just sometimes not fun when it goes up and down by such big numbers as it did this late winter/early spring.
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. creatingmyspaceblog

    It is hard to balance blog reading with blog writing and etc. And time is never easy to find. You are so right about people remembering the bad and not always the good. This makes a very negative place for most of us. Enjoy the sun.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I complain about blogging time too often ;) Lately I have been in one of those down times when it’s hard to read all that I want to, but it will swing back the other way later.
      Often ordinary life is the best. Since it is “ordinary”, it doesn’t stick in the same way as extraordinary, whether good or bad, but it is often what we really want, what makes us happiest. And you’re right, a big part of it is attitude – if we remember the good and perceive it, life is great. If we only focus on those bad times, well….
      It’s been a great day outside so far. I’ll try to read a few coffee posts and then back out into the sun again :) Have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  9. Diana

    I’m always curious about the things that we remember versus the things other people remember. It’s easy to think that we’re objective until we start comparing memories. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I agree. We all take things in through a filter. After it comes in, we filter again what we remember and then a third filter in what we recall at a given time. By that time it can be quite different than what actually happened!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  10. Rhio

    I feel you with the needing more time in the day/week to read more blogs. I struggle to keep up when my little one is at school, and really enjoyed keeping up to date last week.
    Humans always remember bad before the good because it used to keep us alive. However, I always feel more passionately about the good stuff that does happen because of the bad. I appreciate it more and I give the good more attention, and keep it front and centre in my brain. :D

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      You’re right, without the bad we wouldn’t properly appreciate the good. I do try to make a conscious effort to recognize when things are going well, or just those little things I smiled about this week, but it is so easy to take it for granted.
      Time is a huge issue with all bloggers. I used to have more free time at work and did a lot of reading there. Now i I don’t really have any free time at work, so there goes a chunk of my blog-reading.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

