Amazing Journey

PHOTO PROMPT © Kent Bonham

PHOTO PROMPT © Kent Bonham

Head scrunched down, Tommy meticulously filled the entire two sides of the sketch book with geometric shapes.  The precision of the freehand ink drawing was remarkable, with the perfect circles seeming exactly the same size no matter where on the page they fell.  Finished, he handed the book to his mother who in turn handed it to the teacher.  Tommy looked expressionlessly out of the window.

“Yes, Mrs. Walker, Tommy’s is an amazing talent, but he needs to communicate with the world.”

“Ah, but he does.  This drawing is of his favorite pinball table.  I think he wants to play.”

Originally I had thought of this for Autism Awareness Month, but it some how took a turn towards The Who…

Word count = 100

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This weeks prompt is here and uses a photo provided by © Kent Bonham.  Read more or join in by following the “linky“.

 

26 thoughts on “Amazing Journey

  1. Siobhan McNamara

    The Who reference passed me by until I read your explanation – then I had a ‘doh!’ moment because I too was very struck by Tommy when I first heard it. The autism awareness however shone brightly, maybe because it’s not unlike where I went with my story. My late mother taught children with autism in a small class of children with a range of intellectual disabilities. When people would ask her how she managed to work with some of the less communicative children she would say ‘you have to go right into their world, not try and force them to come into yours.’
    Your story captured that idea nicely.
    Now I’m off to dust off some vinyl!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I liked your story. You’re right, they do follow very similar themes about the way these children see the world and communicate. I like your mother’s philosophy about working with autistic children. She must have been very good with those students.
      Yes, you should dust off the old vinyl. My brother had Tommy so I didn’t pick it up until I had a CD player. It’s still one of my favorite rock albums from that era.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 4/16/2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I might not write about him again, but then who can say? Thinking of “who” – I have never written fan fiction before, but in ways this is fan fiction since Tommy and Mrs. Walker are based, at least in part, on The Who’s Tommy, which I think is one of the greatest rock albums to come out of the 1960s. The video at the bottom of the page, Amazing Journey, is where Tommy closes off the world and descends into his own mind, the amazing journey into self.

          Like

          Reply
          1. petrujviljoen

            I’m sorry I couldn’t watch the video, the internet connection where I’m at is so slow it would take hours to download, if at all. I remember The Who, even though I was preteen during the sixties. Older sisters and brothers played it a lot. :-) Journey into self – some say it’s the best journey to go on!

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              I was 5 when I first heard Tommy and it instantly became my favorite music. A couple of years later my parents picked it up for my brother for Christmas. We about wore it out….
              The inner journey usually is the best type :)

              Like

              Reply

Express Yourself

