If We Were Having Coffee – 4/9/2016

Weekend Coffee on Cape Cod

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice strong mug of French Roast, a cuppa tea or some other beverage.  Again I’m having half of a lemon squeezed into some hot water with honey.  Yeah, I’m still not doing caffeine.  And where are we today?  M<any of my long time readers may be able to tell from the picture at the top that I am on Cape Cod.  The mug with a drawing by Edward Gorey (it’s not Batman!) might tip you off that we’re not far away from Yarmouth.

This is a just a short trip down.  I got in at dinner time yesterday and will leave after breakfast tomorrow.  I’ve already taken a long walk on the beach and seen my first osprey for the year, plus other wildlife.  There are already signs warning about the Piping Plover, so they must be in town.  I may make it out on the kayak and will definitely spend a lot of time outside today.  I need it to unwind from the week.  It was a very good week, just busy.

I got up at 4 AM on Monday and flew into DC.  Because of my schedule I decided to stay out in Manassas.  I got there pretty early so I spent a few hours walking around the battle site and out in the woods.  I actually saw a deer!  When I got into the hotel I was able to plug in and do a solid three hours of work.

Tuesday I got up early and went back into DC for some morning meetings.  I then came back out of the city and went to Reston, VA, out near Dulles for another meeting.  Then back to Manassas.  There was a lot of driving and some Metro time in there.

Wednesday I had a full day conference/meeting/training.

Then Thursday up at 4:30 to drive back into DC to fly out of DCA.  I had a 2 hour layover at EWR (Newark).  Right before we were supposed to board the plane they canceled our flight.  So in line at customer service and I see on my phone I was rebooked.  Great.  I took the shuttle bus to the new gate and plugged in my laptop.  Going into my work email I tried to pull up a new boarding pass.  It said I couldn’t get on that flight or any flight for the day.  Great.  I got back in line for customer service, only now it is much, much longer.  I got up and all they had to do is print the tickets.  Great, I will actually get home.  There was a total of three and a half hours between flights, so a total of almost six at EWR.  When I had walked up to the gate it had my new flight number.  When we were supposed to be boarding it showed a different flight.  So panic for the third time in the day.  I asked a person at the gate and she said they had swapped gates.  I looked and sure enough, it was at a different gate.  I finally got home, but I was pretty worn out.

Friday I was straight out busy catching up from the week.  I tried to read email when I was on the road, but it took my all  morning to go through and respond to every one.

I know, too long of a story, but it shows why I need to relax today.  Relax by doing a lot of physical activity.

I didn’t have time to blog much this week.  I wrote a few posts on Sunday and scheduled them.  I didn’t read a whole lot either.  Sunday I did my typical reminder for the Weekly Smile.  On Monday I posted some photos from a trip down here on Cape Cod back in mid to late March.  On Tuesday I put up a very quick poem just to say I was going to be posting or reading.  On Wednesday I posted my Weekly Smile.  I didn’t have a post on Thursday, which was one of my lowest view days in at least six months.  I didn’t think I’d be able to post on Friday so I reblogged an old poem and write up about how poetry effects us.  Right before I was going to shut down for the work day I threw out a quick Friday Fictioneers story.  Funny, it has been real popular.

As I said, I’m going to try to be out and about most of the day today nd tomorrow I’ll be on the road so I may not be able to keep up with all of the Coffee Posts as I’d like.  But I’ll try to make to as many as possible over the next few days.

So that was my week.  And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

29 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 4/9/2016

  1. roweeee

    Hi Trent,
    Stupid WordPress wouldn’t let me post a rather lengthy comment. Sorry about your travel stress. Would’ve freaked me out thinking about the timing of things and what’s meant to be or not. Good to hear you’re home safe.
    xx Ro

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Not sure why WP wouldn’t let you post a big comment. Odd. There were a few “freak out” moments, like when I look up at the gate for the second flight and my flight number is no longer there. Where did it go? I was happy to be on the ground again in NH.
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. roweeee

        We flew to New Zealand on our honeymoon the morning after 9/11. With the time differences involved, we saw the planes hit the night before so the timing was very close. It was quite harrowing at the time and I still remember the long line of Police cars outside the airport.
        By the way, you might enjoy today’s letter: Jim Morrison from The Doors. I visited his grave when I was in Paris in 1992.
        Hope you are having a great week!
        xx Rowena

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          That must have been pretty scary and sad flying that day. My wife was on a flight about 2 months after, sometime in November), that was the same flight as one of those that hit the Trade Center. They renamed the flight, of course, but everyone on board knew that it was the same flight.

          I did see your Jim Morrison post and your photos from his grave. I never visited the grave site. Some time when I’m there I might, but for the limit time I’ve spent in Paris I had other things that were higher priority.

          Have a great week!

          Like

          Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I have a love-hate relationship with work-related travel. It was a very good and productive trip, but the process on Thursday, well… I just got back home from my Cape Cod trip. It’s always nice to be down there.
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          The graphic you used looked liked 2 links in the spam folder. The spam settings are usually if there are two links it will send it to spam. When I put the comment back as part of post the graphic showed up and I didn’t see the links.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  2. Deborah the Closet Monster

    Oh, man. Your airport experience reminds me of my first time traveling for business (what a gruelling week!), right before the 4th of July weekend. I went to board and was told I couldn’t; I had a “boarding management pass,” not a ticket. They told me they wouldn’t be able to get on a flight that day, but that they guaranteed they’d send me out sometime that weekend if I sat and waited patiently at the airport the whole time. Fortunately, this was at SFO and I was flying to EUG, so I got a refund and drove up.

    The good news about all that was that I knew what to do when I saw “boarding management pass” on a flight back from England. I hightailed it to the line, where–at the front of the line–I was one of only four no-ticket people to make it on the flight. No driving back home that time around!

    (Since then, I’ve avoided that particular airline, though they talk periodically about turning things around.)

    I hope you find some restful moments in the hubbub.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’ve never heard of a “boarding management pass”. That’s pretty awful. At least you knew the next time when it would have been a bit more difficult to drive, all that water and all.
      I’ve had worse travel days, but they are never fun when they happen. I once got to spend an extra day in Paris! but never left the airport :(.
      It’s been a good weekend and I feel very refreshed. I hope your weekend is going good. I’ll take a look at other coffee posts later and hopefully will be able to catch up.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. bettylouise31

    Your work has keep you busy. I enjoy reading about seeing the osprey and piping plovers. But you know from my blog that I enjoy wildlife and flora. I wonder if you would mind if I put you weekly smile badge on my page since I am noy writing a blog. This week on my trip one of the clerks smile at me and I answer back. A young lad was on the seat seating looking unhappy. I smile and I got a big one bad that me me feel very good.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s great to see the wildlife returning. It has been a cold weekend and so it stills seems a little winterish, but the returning birds are great.
      You should write a smile post. If so, yes, you can use the badge. Don’t forget to put it on the link up. I’m going to post a reminder tomorrow.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Solveig

    Wow, I don’t think that I have known you this busy since I have been reading your blog. I am glad that you got home alright. Being stuck somewhere when travelling is never fun.
    Relax! I think if you can visit a handful of blogs in a linky then that’s fine. More is better, but everyone has things to do, especially on the weekend.
    Maybe you should start having guest bloggers here and there for when you are out and about…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Occasionally I’ve been very busy, but it is just a busy work day – meetings all day so I’m not able to keep up with the flow of e-mails coming in. This was more physical busy – fighting the infamously busy DC traffic, etc. I do like to try to visit as many links as possible, but you are right, sometimes I shouldn’t even try to get more than a handful plus the few that I really want to visit. The occasional guest blogger might be a good idea.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

