If We Were Having Coffee – 3/26/2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice mug of strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or some other beverage.  I’m still drinking water.  I’m not sure how much longer it’s going to last – the caffeine withdrawal has been getting worse over time, not better.  It looks like it will be a nice early spring day here.  And where is here?  Some people may be able to see by the picture that I’m in new Hampshire this weekend.

Last weekend I was on Cape Cod.  It was a great get away.  Sure, I worked for a few days down there, but it was still great.  I got out on the kayak on three different days and took long walks on the beach twice.  Overall it was very enjoyable and relaxing.

Back in New Hampshire we started the week with a few inches of snow.  The snow quickly melted, but the week stayed a little cooler than predicted.  Yesterday was supposed to be quite warm, but it stayed just over freezing almost all day.  The meteorologists were off on the warming trend by about 15 hours…  Today, though will be warm, though not as warm as yesterday was supposed to be.  There are flowers and the trees are budding.  More birds are to be seen.  It looks like spring.  I’ve even started some spring projects and cleaning.  A lot more will happen this weekend.

The week wasn’t as busy as many, but I still had things to do.  And between going over stories and playing music I stayed busy when not working.  My back was much better, but i still haven’t started into my exercise routine yet.  Perhaps this weekend I’ll do my weight exercises and a short run.  I just need to take it slow.

On the blogging front I did get a chance to read more this week than I have been lately.  I also did a few more posts.  I planned on doing a smile-reminder on Sunday, but was too busy.  On Monday I put up a 1000 Speaks for Compassion post on this months topic, Happiness.  On Tuesday I posted a poem about the Belgium bombing and a little political tirade.  Wednesday was my Weekly Smile, a touching story about a friend.  I started Thursday by joining Diane’s Throwback Thursday link party and then put up a post directing people to it.  Later in the day I put some flash fiction for Friday Fictioneers.  On Friday I posted a short story, which is good since I haven’t done a non-Friday Fictioneer story in about a month.

So that was my week.  And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

13 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 3/26/2016

  1. roweeee

    Hi Trent,
    Wishing you a Happy & Blessed Easter. The day is almost over here now. We have had a pretty quite Easter as we’re saving our energy for a trip to Sydney’s Royal Easter Show which will take much of my energy plus some.
    I have spent the week working on my Letters to Dead Poets for the A-Z April Challenge, which turned out to be mind blowing intense. The concept is going really well and I’m turning it into a book, incorporating my journey. I’m really excited about it.
    Thank you for reminding me of the dreadful attacks in Belgium and loss of life. I’ve seen it on the news but have been so immersed in my writing and research that I’ve slipped into a bubble.
    Take care xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Happy Easter, Rowena! Your A-Z challenge sounds very interesting. I’m not sure how April will turn out – I’m going to do some business travel and may be away from the Internet, but I’ll try to keep up with it.
      Our Easter is pretty low key. We usually don’t do a lot. My parents always have a huge gathering, but they are 600 miles away. My wife’s family is almost 300 miles the opposite direction, so we don’t go there either.
      Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Cyn K

    I was surprised by how cold it was here in Ohio on Friday. This afternoon was sunny and much warmer, so I got to take my son outside to burn off some surplus Spring Break energy.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      That’s how Friday was here,too. It was supposed to reach 62 by 10 AM, but it was still at 32 at 1 PM. It then started to climb, but never got very warm. Saturday, though, was much better.
      I’ll be in Ohio over Memorial Day visiting family. It should be plenty warm by then ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. bettylouise31

    I wonder what it will take to EVERYONE realize that guns, bombs and other weapons of mass destruction mean only one thing to destroy something.
    We cried out at each one and some fights the effort to contain the weapons.
    Whenever I am down in my dumps, I think of your smiley page. Each week I get a savor the pictures that their smiles great Collines an Connie are two that I better.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s nice to hear that my smile posts make people smile. That’s what it’s all about.
      I think the worst possible blasphemy is to kill random people in the name of God. That’s true for all religions – invoking the name of all that is good to do pure evil is, well, evil. I doubt if i will ever see totally peaceful times, but I do hope that we do come down from the level of violence all over the world that we are seeing.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  4. nonsmokingladybug

    Giving up coffee is a bitch isn’t it ? :-)
    It gets better if you find something to drink that you actually like, at least that helps me. Now I wake up with craving for my Spinach-Blueberry-Banana smoothie. Oh Gosh I sound weird.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      For a few days I tried a little fresh squeezed lemon and honey in warm water. It was pretty good, but did not satisfy the cravings. Once it is a little more out of my system I will start drinking tea, but I’ll be careful not to get too addicted to the caffeine again. I hope ;)

      Like

      Reply
  5. Robin

    Glad your back is better. Taking it slow (as you plan) is usually the best way to go with these things. Sounds like a full and good week. :) Mine was pretty much the same in terms of fullness and goodness.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It was a very good week – often full weeks are.I finished raking and clearing my lawn earlier today, which i think is one of the thinks that contributed to my hurt back, so hopefully there’s not much coming up that will hurt it again.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

