If We Were Having Coffee – 3/19/2016

Weekend Coffee on Cape Cod

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice mug of very strong French Roast or a cuppa tea.  Perhaps some other beverage.  Me?  I’m drinking water this week.  Yes, I’m a week into my no-caffeine experiment.  I hope to go at least another week or two.  We’ll see…. Anyway, the sun is shining and it is beautiful, if a bit on the chilly side.  And where am I?  By the eclectic mugs you may know I am on Cape Cod this weekend.

It was a strange week.  I did a lot of outdoor activities last weekend.  I did yard work.  I ran (in shorts and t-shirt!), walked the dogs.  And I puttered.  Unfortunately I also did something to my back and was in a lot of pain most of the week.  Yesterday it was like I threw a switch and it got much better.  There is still some pain, but not nearly as much.

I had a pretty good work week.  One thing, I spent Wednesday at an office that is already a third of the way to Cape Cod so after work I drove here.  I telecommuted Thursday and Friday and did a very short day on Friday.

chapin-march-2016

After work on both Thursday and Friday I went kayaking.  Thursday was the better day, but I did a much long paddle on Friday, even if it was chilly and very windy.  I took a walk in the woods on Thursday and spend well over an hour on the beach on Friday.  Today will be much the same, though it is much cooler.  A note about the weather – they had been predicting up to a foot of snow Sunday into Monday, but now it looks like it will miss us.  There will still be some snow on Cape Cod, but we’ll be in New Hampshire.

I didn’t blog as much this week.  I guess I am on a slowdown.  I didn’t participate in some of the typical things I have been because I knew I wouldn’t be able to read in return.  Of course not blogging as much really lowered my stats.  For example, so far this week I have had fewer comments on my blog than I had on any single day in January or February!  But it is to be expected when you take a slowdown.

So I started the week on Sunday with a reminder to check out Week 10’s Weekly Smile.  I skipped Monday and posted a poem on Tuesday about letting go (read it and you’ll know what I mean).  Wednesday was my Weekly Smile for week 11.  And on Friday I posted a short story, The Dragon.

Ready for Cold Water Kayaking

Ready for Cold Water Kayaking

So that was my week.  And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

47 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 3/19/2016

  1. Joshua

    Wow you do so much in a week which I usually think to do one at one weekend. Need to learn much from you, I will also try to do at least 3 things like you in a week. Between when I feel back pain due to hectic schedule or due to sitting for long in front of computer, I usually do yoga called Cat cow pose, That really help me, even on same day. Also thinking to write post like “if we were having a coffee” in my blog too, That’s nice way to share our life. Check this just for a french press lover like you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Master of Something Yet

    I always appreciate these posts, Trent. They let me catch up when I’ve had a week (or two, or three) when there hasn’t been much time for reading people’s blogs. I see the new posts come in and I think “Oh, I must read that” and the next thing I know it’s a week later and there’s about twenty posts I should read. I know this isn’t helping your stats but it helps my sanity levels. ;)

    Sorry to hear about your back but kudos on the caffeine detox. And I’m glad you’ve been able to get out on the kayak. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yeah, though I’m usually not gone that long I know the feeling of “I must read that” only I can’t. And then the next one and then… I think starting over is fine, but I hate doing it and do like to go back. And though I’m a stats fanatic, I don’t worry THAT much about them ;)
      Getting out on the water has been great. Of course there is several inches of snow on the ground now! But it will be gone in a day or two.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Nancy

    It sounds like you’ve had a very health active week! Kudos on the “no caffeine” status. I usually have two cups of coffee a day and I tend to get a headache if I don’t have any so I’m not sure I could stick it out. We are just getting rain here too, thank goodness. I did not want more snow! Enjoy your week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      They just changed us back to the 1-3 inches – they have been going back and forth and from Saturday afternoon to Sunday morning they said the storm was going to miss us. Oh well…. It’s going to be warm this week so it won’t stick.
      I didn’t have any caffeine headaches the first few days, but they started on Friday. Not bad, just a slight pressure that usually isn’t there.
      I always try to stay active and when I’m on Cape Cod I go even farther with it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Just an experiment – I noticed i was getting irritable when I had too much coffee or any Starbucks (I love the coffee, but it makes me a bastard). Another blogger has quit caffeine and i read what she said and decided to give it a try. The hard thing right now is chocolate – I eat a chunk of 80% cocoa chocolate every night, or I did. Not now… I’ll return to caffeine slowly once it’s all out of my system, perhaps 2 more weeks.
      My phone does awful for closeups of anytime, like taking pictures of people or things, but does great with panoramas and landscapes. It’s a beautiful beach and the phone does OK getting pictures of it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Robin

    I think I’ll have water too, please. I’ve had plenty of caffeine this morning, and I could probably use a rest from it for a while. Your beach scene is beautiful, and it sounds like you fit in plenty of fun activities. I’m on a bit of a slowdown with my blog, too, for similar reasons. I just can’t keep up. Glad to hear your back is on the mend.

    Thank you for the water. I enjoyed my visit. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      That beach is beautiful, one of my favorite places. Whenever I’m on Cape Cod I try to walk there every day, even if it’s sub-zero and 60 know winds.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
  5. Diana

    Glad to hear that your back is feeling better! Back pain can make pretty much everything a chore, even fun plans.

    We’ve had some weird weather here. After the storms of last week, the temps were in the 80s, and we’ve just had more storms and now temps are in the 50s.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yes, we’ve been having that type of yo-yo weather. I hope it settles down soon.
      The back is much better. I’ve hurt it in the past, but I think this was one of the more painful times. Luckily it was also one of the shortest lived – mostly gone in a week I can live with, dragging for weeks and months is awful.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. roweeee

    Hi Trent. Here we are back again for another dose of caffeine real of made up. Sorry to hear about your back. My parents had a very entertaining and delightfully eccentric chiropractor who called himself a “crocopractor” and handed out pens to clients which were crooked. He was quite old and so endearing. Miss him. Mum and Dad became friends with him.
    I seem to be struggling to keep up on so many fronts that might need to stick up a periscope soon. I’m drowning both literally and figuratively. All our hot weather and drought vanished and we’ve had very heavy rains and patches of flooding. Did get some incredible photos though.
    So, this week I’ve conceded to Autumn and it’s looking like I’ll be needing to dig out the blankets pronto!
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Autumn there, spring here – and snow in the forecast 2 days this week! At least we won’t get the storm they talked about – they originally thought we’d get a good 25 + cm of snow tonight. Now it’s down to a couple.
      Back is much better. I’ve hurt it a few times in the past. This was one of the most painful, yet, thankfully, the quickest to go away. My massage therapist suggests I go to a chiropractor for a different issue. I mentioned it to my doctor and he didn’t say don’t go, but he did remind me that most people in traditional medicine think of them as quacks. I may still do the one trip.
      Anyway, besides drowning in the rain I hope you’re doing well. Have a good week and stay warm and dry!

      Like

      Reply
  7. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Well done on the caffeine. I gave up after I had a condition that was worsened by coffee and the headaches were so bad that I determined that never again would I suffer that. When my blood tests were back to normal I now limit myself to 1 cup of coffee a day. What used to be my first cup is now hot lemon juice, coffee after walking the dogs always at a coffee shop then the remainder of the day herbal tea. I no longer crave coffee I’m glad to say.
    I do the same. I haven’t participated in Friday Fictioneers for a couple of months for that very same reason. You can only do what is humanly possible so if I have to go slow I do and I try not to feel guilty about it but I do limit the link-ups when I am that busy because I do enjoy going around and reading everybody elses posts.
    Hope your back is better soon and I love the hat too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’ll most likely pick up the caffeine again in a few weeks, but at a much smaller dose. And I’ll drink more tea and less coffee.
      I understand why you haven’t had much time for blogging. Hopefully you’ll have more time. If you use it for blogging or not, well…
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. Solveig

    Oh you should not be so hard on yourself. When joining a linkup I either follow the visiting rules given or I try to visit at least a few (if there are no specific rules). Visiting 3-5 other blogs is always a good number yo aim at but I often do more, sometimes the whole link up.
    I really enjoy blog battle, but I often do not participate because reading many 1000 word stories and voting for the favourites (maybe rereading if it is a close call) takes up too much time.
    When it comes to coffee shares I sometimes visit the whole linkup other times only a few, but I think I must be averaging at around 10 visits.
    Ah I guess I am getting back into a commenting mode after all, ok I have only left likes on the other coffee posts.
    Have a good weekend. Here too the weather has been going crazy lately…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I feel honored that I get the first long comment ;) I do know I can’t get them all when there are 100, like Friday Fictioneers, but I like to try to get as many as possible. And the coffee shares i always try all of them, but some people post late Sunday or Monday, so I miss those.
      I get it, I am too hard on the whole visiting thing in general. If I don’t think I can spend an hour reading blogs, I won’t post anything that day. I know I should loosen up.
      Weatehr here has been swinging back and forth from warm to cold, but it is spring. I hope…

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks, after a very active day, including kayaking, my back feels better than it has all week.

      The caffeine is tough, but not as hard as I expected. I miss it, but really don’t have too man cravings. A few headaches, but not as bad as I’ve had in the past when I’ve quit. We’ll see how long it lasts….

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  9. Dale

    I know what you mean… that’s why I didn’t post my Weekend Coffee Share for a few weeks… just didn’t have the time to read all the participants’ entries… There has to be some give and take but I don’t do it for stats. Couldn’t even tell you where I stand!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I do pay much more attention to stats than I should! It’s the math nerd in me. The visiting, reading, ect. is more just me needing to be a good citizen here and sometimes feeling awful if I don’t, particularly in a link-up. And I do enjoy it! There are people who I really want to hear what they say and there are friends I’ve made here.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Dale

        Hey, to each his own and we are not here to judge!
        And, I know what you mean about making friends in this forum. It has been a most wonderful experience and I’ve been blessed indeed!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  10. bettylouise31

    Sorry to to learn you have back-problems. I hope you will better tomorrow. I try to read other blogs but I seldom read all I can due tack of time. I make a point of reading all coffee shares as I do renjoy them.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The back is improving. On Monday it was awful, but today not too bad. It should be better soon. I’m just glad that they change the forecast so I don’t have to worry about shoveling a foot of snow on Monday!

      Like

      Reply
  11. nonsmokingladybug

    Giving up coffee is a bitch (excuse my language). I gave it up about one year ago and believe it or not, it was harder than giving up cigarettes. I started juicing -for health reasons- and coffee just didn’t go with it. :-) I went back to drinking coffee after juicing for 20 days and it almost killed me (not kidding). It made me so nervous, I just couldn’t handle it. Then I tried decaf and that “stuff” just doesn’t work. I tried teas and even though they were alright, it just wasn’t the same.
    Now I have a spinach-banana-blueberry smoothie in the morning and I crave for it. Isn’t htat funny how you can program yourself.
    My weeks was great…no complaints on this end. :-)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      My plan is after I get the caffeine out of my system (some tell me it takes 3 weeks, so your 20 days was about right) is to start with tea. Tea and eating dark chocolate. Maybe a very small amount of coffee after a while, but I do want to totally get it out of my system first.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. nonsmokingladybug

        I got diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis 2 years ago. A nasty, little disease. I was in a lot of pain and they put me on heavy medications. I didn’t like that at all. I researched it a little bit and found lots of people who have autoimmune disorders, but didn’t take meds.

        I juiced and changed my diet (drastically). I am off all my medications and I feel good.

        I still would love to drink coffee :-(

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          There often are ways around meds for many diseases. There are things in coffee that are good for you, but there are things that aren’t. I would expect it wouldn’t be great for RA.

          Like

          Reply
  12. Deborah the Closet Monster

    Your comment about not participating because you couldn’t read strikes me. I went through a long period where I replied to maybe one or two comments per post. I always meant to reply to every single one of them, but I didn’t get anywhere close. Now I get closer, and a little part of that is I’m getting a little more reluctant to post when I can’t devote at least a little time to returning comments … and reading others’ blogs. This means sometimes I end up with very little traffic to my blog, but that feels okay now that I feel better about really engaging with people in a way I didn’t during that long period. (Whew, rambling! I began typing with the intention of having slightly more targeted commentary.)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      When I blog I do want to participate. This feeling is even greater when I join a linkup. Why should I expect people to visit my link if I’m not visiting theirs? The Friday Fictioneers usually has more than 100 links. I try to do as many as possible, but the last time I participated i visited less than 20. I knew I wouldn’t do better this week, so I skipped it.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

Express Yourself

