If We Were Having Coffee – 3/12/2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you large mug of very Strong French Roast or a cuppa tea or some other beverage.  You may notice, however, that I am not partaking.  Today I am beginning an experiment of giving up my morning Joe.  Why, we’ll see how long it lasts, but I want to at the very least get the caffeine out of my system before I start again, so a week.  Once the week is done I’ll negotiate a second week.  Then, we’ll see…

I think Spring is finally here!  I say that as if it had been a harsh winter.  Actually no, but those early warm day whetted my appetite for an early spring and it is finally here.  We reached 78 F/25 C on Wednesday!  It dipped a little below freezing last night, but there is no more below freezing temps in the long range forecast.  No more very warm weather, but it is looking, feeling and smelling like spring.  Oh, and in case you missed it, “here” is new Hampshire.

It was a pretty busy week but not insane like some of the past weeks.  Even so, as usual I just feel my time has been used before I have a chance to do what i want.  Oh well.

Today will be used for some initial spring activities.  I’m going to start raking the yard.  I have already removed the humidifiers.  I’m going to take a load to the recycle center.  Other stuff like that.  I know we’ll still have some cold weather and possibly even snow, but I’m betting winter is over.

I got a chance to read a little more on the blogs this week, but still not as much as in the middle of winter.  I’m not going to push myself and let it play out naturally.

Last weekend I finished the music I was working on and made a video for it with some animations.  I put it up as a post on Monday.  On Tuesday I did my usual poem, this one was about the not trying to pin down the nature of a woman.  After I posted it I thought it could be all Women and would fit well into International Women’s Day.  On Wednesday I put up my weekly smile, this one about Greek grandmothers.  I joined in the Throwback Thursday Link Party with an old post about what you will do once your job title has been automated away.  Later in the day I posted about how I feel an artist needs write/play/draw/whatever in a way that satisfies their soul, not what people tell them will make money.  I couldn’t think of a story for Friday, so I wrote a story about not being able to think of a story ;)

As I said, I hope to spend most of the next two days doing work around the house.  I’ll try to get back in and read blog posts, but i can’t guarantee it.

So that was my week.  And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

If you missed it, here is the music video:

(Click here if you don’t see the embedded video)

 

17 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 3/12/2016

  1. Nancy

    I’ve been spending sometime celebrating the arrival of Spring as well. We put out our deck furniture and changed the flags. I also cleaned out the flower pots and gardens of all the winter flotsam. It’s a wonderful feeling! Loved your video, by the way. Hauntingly lovely music.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Corina

    We had a very wintry day today. Soooo much rain and cold and wind and hail. The only thing we didn’t have was snow and that was here where I live. I think there was plenty of snow up on Mt. Hood up the road.

    No caffeine? That’s just not natural to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We’ll have to see where the no caffeine ends up. After a week or two I want to get back into tea.
      It’s going to be a bit cooler this week, closer to normal for this time of year with temps in the low 50s. It’s still very possible we’ll have snow again, but I hope not.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. roweeee

    Trent, you and your upside down seasons, LOL! No Autumn leaves here yet but not much life in our garden either after this Summer.
    Thanks or the coffee and music. Enjoyed it and it was good to extend myself into uncharted territory. It was quite spooky.
    Our dishwasher went on the blink but suddenly decided to work again just when Geoff was starting to pull it out to follow up the warranty. The kids have been at a sailing/kayaking scout camp on Sydney Harbour so it’s been very quiet here. Surrounded with stuff to sort out but needed a breather. Currently, baking my son a proper birthday cake…a butter cake with rainbow coloured M &Ms mixed through it. Hoping for a rainbow effect. Hope you have a great week and continue to enjoy the warmth!
    xx Rowena
    PS Autumn and Spring are my favourite seasons.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is fun watching the upside down seasons. We still have a few more weeks before it will really look like spring here, but it is in the air. And then the seasons on Cap Cod are a little off from here – the winters are milder and end sooner, but spring stretches for much longer, being much cooler. Autumn also stretches for much longer down there and is much warmer, so that half is nice, particularly since I like Autumn so much.
      Appliances are like that, with a mind of their own.
      Sailing/kayaking scout camp sounds like a great time for the kids. As does a colorful birthday cake.
      Hope the rest of your weekend goes well – I know it’s almost over – and that you have a great week.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Robin

    I enjoyed the tea, the music, and the video. Thank you. :) I gave up caffeine for a while, but have slowly gone back to tea and a swallow or two of coffee. I hope it goes well without the usual withdrawal headaches.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      No bad headaches today, which is surprising – I’ve been drinking a lot more coffee than ever and usually do get headaches when I stop. When I go back to caffeine I’m planning on tea. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

      Reply
  5. Deborah the Closet Monster

    Your first paragraph had me going, “Ooooh!” I’m curious to hear how that turns out. One week out here, I’m starting to feel pretty good … so good that I took Littler for his first go in the running stroller! Good things are ahead, I think, though I’m still feeling a little hyped up from last weekend’s overcaffeination. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I have you to blame… I mean thank for this ;) So far none of the bad headaches, though my head isn’t normal either. I’ll say more on my next coffee chat. Hopefully I’ll still be caffeine free.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Winters up here can be brutal. I used to love winter when I skied, but I always hated snow removal. For the most part I like having 4 full seasons and wouldn’t enjoy the south that much (I did spend time in South Carolina and Texas, but liked the north better.)

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

