I See Her

woman portrait

I see her timid
Quiet doe in a meadow
Beautiful, calm and still
Camouflaged from the predatory mind
Shrouded in respectability
Straight-laced, ribbons and bows

I see her fierce
Looking at me with a gleam in her tiger’s eye
A dragon’s heart beating in her chest
Mischief in her mind
Wild to her core

I see her whole
Timid and fierce
There are no contradictions
Just societal labels
To vainly attempt
To define the spirit
To pin down the free
To clip  those butterfly wings

I see her with acceptance
For who am I to judge?
Who am I to try to force change?
She is as she is

I see her with love
For there can be no other answer
To a truly free soul

I see her free
I see her

9 thoughts on “I See Her

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Pranita. Too often people are biased and see only the cultural stereotypes. I don’t know if I see you or anyone else the way they truly are, but I like to try.😃

      Like

      Reply
  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 3/12/2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s funny, I wasn’t thinking of International Women’s Day when I wrote it, but after posting I realized how fitting it was. I didn’t really write it for one person in particular, so in ways it really was a homage to all women. However, with that in mind, I may rewrite the end a little – Something about seeing her with acceptance because it is wrong to try to judge or change what is, something along those lines.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Honest, I don’t do it intentionally ;) It is odd, every so often WP seems to purge the list of people I follow and I think the other way too, people who follow me. There’s no heads or tails, it just randomly happens.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

