Lost Star – Music Video

Lost Star

In the past I have put up a few posts about my modular synthesizer.  Here’s a very, very quick recap – a modular synth is created from different modules, each one with a specific function that are patched together with patch cords. They are, or can be, very “old-school”, like 1960s and early 1970s.  As technology and needs moved on they quickly became dinosaurs.  Except nothing else is as flexible or can get that sound, so they have made a comeback and have even been seen in “mainstream” music.

OK, So I have posted a handful of videos, from a funky version of “The Munster’s” theme, to a two part, modern classic work to a fun rap.  In each of these videos there are photos or videos of the modular synthesizer.  Those who are observant can see that there was a lot of empty space in the cabinet and that empty space grew smaller with each video.

Modular Synth - no patch cords

Well, that empty space is gone!  I have filled in the space with new modules.  To celebrate I decided to record something a little more substantial.  It is a tribute to some of my synthesizer heroes from the 1970s.  This is old school, so it was played one line at a time.  A lot of fun!  I also made a video for it, which was also fun.

So here is the song and video, Lost Star:

(Click here if you don’t see the embedded video)

Some of you may recognize that I used this tune before on my improvised “Space Jam“.  If you have a lot of time, check out the original!  And if you do watch/listen to both, let me know what you think of how they compare.

Even if you don’t listen to both, but only “Lost Star”, let me know what you think of the music and the animation.

Modular Synth - Patched

4 thoughts on “Lost Star – Music Video

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 3/12/2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: Just What I’ve Been Waiting For | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! That was one plus with building the system one module at a time – it gave me time to learn each one as I put it in place so now when I have a sound in mind I have a pretty good idea of where to start.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

