If We Were Having Coffee – 3/5/2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello!  Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice mug of very strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or some other beverage.  It is a little nippy today, but will warm up a little compared to the last two days.  It’s been frigid, cold for early March and very cold after our early Spring weather.  But it is supposed to warm up, even seeing some late Spring-like weather later in the week!  And were are these continued ups and downs happening?  Those who visit often may recognize the mug at the top of the page as coming from Co. Mayo, Ireland, though I have it here in beautiful New Hampshire.

This week wasn’t as insanely busy as some of the recent weeks, but still busy.  A lot is my own doing.  I’ve been working on some music, for one thing.  And I’ve been rereading short stories to pick out what will be included in my book.  Last week I rewrote a story, not my favorite, just to see how it would go.  It actually went very well – if i can make that big a of a change in one of my least favorite stories, perhaps my better stories can be shined up to the highest quality.  We’ll see.

Truthfully, I don’t even remember most of what I’ve done in the last week.  Yes, I was on Cape Cod over the weekend.  That was great!  I went running twice, which is also very good.  I talked to a few people.  I worked.  I had a busy work week and had to do some of the types of decision making I don’t like, but have to do.  I did stuff around the house, took care of furry-family members.  And other such stuff.

There has been a major slowdown on traffic to my blog over the last two or three weeks.  Of course there’s been a slowdown on what I’ve posted, so I can’t complain.  There has also been a major slowdown in my blog reading.  Not having time to read has causing a lot of stress.  I’m finding I have to be a lot choosier when reading, I can’t keep up with everything, and I often don’t have time to read any my favorites.  If I missed some of your posts, please don’t take it personally!

I did a little better putting up posts this week than last.  On Sunday I reblogged a post by nerdinthebrain who featured my Hamlet Symphony for a new series she is doing, Do Awesome Things!  If you know nerdinthebrain, you know she does a lot of awesome things!  On Monday I posted a reminder for my Weekly Smile.  In the future I may do reminders on Sunday, but I already had a post for Sunday.  On Tuesday I put up a plaintive poem.  On Wednesday I did my Weekly Smile about my smallest cat, Josie.  On Thursday I put up a call out for Part-Time Monster’s Throwback Thursday Link Party.  I also did a story for Friday Fictioneers.  On Friday I put up a second Friday Fictioneers post.

So that was my week.  I don’t see myself slowing down any time soon.  I will make it a point to read the coffee posts, but if you post on Monday or Tuesday I may miss it :(

And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.  (I’ll add links when they are available.)

37 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 3/5/2016

  1. roweeee

    It’s interesting because I don’t feel a huge pressure to read all the posts because I know I can’t. I tend to keep up with the ones who comment on mine. I’ll go and read theirs and I try to follow through to the likers as well. Every week I visit the top commentors on my blog as they’re neatly listed for me. I have more time than most.
    What I do feel guilty about is not getting through my reading pile, especially when I’ve paid $30.00 etc for a book. I’ve switched much of my reading time onto the blog and so the books are being neglected.
    Good luck putting your book of short stories together. I would hapy to be a Beta reader if you need one. I am quite a good editor of other people’s work although your characters might come out sound Australian…”G’day mate”. Only joking!
    I know what you mean about seeing things from a different perspective. I usually leave my writing to stew for awhile so I can return to it with fresh eyes and see how to proceed
    editing wise.
    I also had a new perspective when I went to email some photos I’d taken in a chocolate shop ten years ago through to the proprietors and found one of my son aged two eating chocolate IN the shop. I was really struck by the lady’s kindness. We experienced terrible difficulties taking him to places like Church because he was so active. Oops! I mean he was a normal, curious little boy.
    By the way, further to our previous discussions about chocolate, I have found some great Ferrero Rocher small Easter Eggs. They come in a bag. Very, very nice. Definitely NOT Hersheys!!
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m also a stats junkie and there are a lot of people who do thinks in a similar way that you do – if I stay at the same posting level but do half as much blog reading, my views and likes go down by almost half. If I do no blog reading, my views and likes go down by almost two thirds. So as a stats junkie… :)

      Since I’ve started blogging I’ve been awful at reading books. Most of my reading time is taken up on the blog.

      I have a professional editor I will send my short story when it’s done. I don’t know if this is how others do it, but I’ll send it to beta-readers first. One reason is they might catch non-technical type flaws that will have me rewrite sections, which would mean if I had the technical editor look at it first, I’d have to have them look at it again. I will put you on the beta-reader list. I have a handful already.

      Just going through the coffee posts – I usually stay up with them, but was busy all weekend. Actually, I’ve read most of them this morning and see yours, so I’ll stop by for some chocolate in just a few minutes.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. roweeee

        I didn’t think you’d by pass the chocolate. Even the photos look great!
        I’ve noticed the reading boosts the stats. I try to build ongoing relationships and connections but also need to keep reaching out to the people who don’t visit my blog regularly and read theirs. That stat reader can be quite depressing at times but the views add up over time.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Nope, won’t pass up chocolate :)

          One weird thing is that when I am more active reading, liking commenting, etc., it isn’t just a tit-for-tat increase in views, it seems more people that I don’t interact with also show up. I don’t know if WP has an algorithm which makes a blog more visible if the owner is more active, but I would highly suspect that is the case.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. roweeee

            Those sneaky little behind the scenes algorithms. We think we’re masters of our domain and yet…
            One of the things I find quite strange is that I don’t usually find my top commenters in my reader. It really is quite a lucky dip. I rely on the blogshares to keep up with people but I’d say half the ones I’m closest to, aren’t part of these. There are also ones I really love to follow who may not follow me and vice versa. Just like relationships, I guess.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              One thing I did is went through the list of people I follow and chose to get e-mails only when about a dozen of them post. It should work great in theory, but I almost never open that e-mail, I use another one. gmail is stupid and you can only have one address open at a time – I want 3 inboxes open because I use each of them for different things. Actually, a fourth one, but it’s not gmail and so I can keep it open.

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
              1. roweeee

                I’m so with you on this. I have three outlook accounts. I never look at one and now forget to check the other two regularly. Somehow, I’ve ended up going off the grid. It hasn’t been intentional probably getting swallowed up a bit by my writing.

                Liked by 1 person

                Reply
  2. Nancy

    Don’t you hate those days (or weeks) when you’ve felt like all you did was run from one thing to the next but you can’t exactly say what was accomplished? Thanks for the coffee.😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Diana

    I’ve got to figure out a better system for reading some of the blogs that I want to keep up with. I know that I’ll never really be able to keep up with everyone, but I think I could probably do a more reasonable job.

    It’s quite warm here, mostly in the 60s and 70s, and that’s been great. Last year our winter stretched into April, so we’re enjoying the early spring weather. Hope you at least have some sunshine to enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s still a little cool, but I’ve been out a lot today – have to get my Vitamin D the old fashioned way ;)
      I think everyone has problems keeping up. Sometimes I don’t worry about it, but other times…
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Diana

        Yeah, I tend to catch up with people on the weekends during the coffee share and Sunday blog share, and that’s really about all the time I have to read blogs each week. At least I get to keep up with some of my favorites!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  4. Prior-01

    Hey t! Well tea for me please – ;)
    And I bet it is so hard picking your stories to include! Best wishes with that!
    Also – for me with blogging – after I was done with my A to Z – I totally indulged in visiting blogs -it was really fun! However – I have some typos to go and fix on some of my February posts and I have been avoiding it! Anyhow – I know you know this – but I think we should all find our genuine flow for visiting – but keep it natural and if you are working on your book and stuff – well that better keep you from some of it – make up for less visits with a nice catch up visit (maybe) cos Sadie does that where she will visit 5 posts at once- just an example…. But change of pace is also good for the blogger 💕💕 –

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Picking the stories for the book is in many ways harder than writing them!
      Life has it’s ups and downs and yet we want to keep some things consistent, like blogging. Yeah, it’s impossible. As I’ve said a few times, it takes me 10 minutes to write a post, but I don’t want to post if I’m not reading. It would literally take 10 hours a day to keep up with every single post that comes through my Reader. I enjoy reading other peoples blogs, but I feel like I’m drowning, particularly when life is busy, like it is now.
      Anyway, enough complaining ;) Thanks for stopping by for some tea!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Prior-01

        Well I think it really is all how you look at T – because consistent does not have to be the same consistent every week. Seriously, you might be carrying an unneeded load if you do not give yourself space to have seasons of reading less – it is a gift to be able to focus on your posts and it is not bad manners. In fact, it is bad manners to not do it – for example, if someone lets the quality of their posts go down so they can keep a balanced flow of visiting and blogging, well who misses out? The reader does. It really does not have to be even – even though I know you are a grown man – make that a wise grown man – but trust me – some bloggers appreciate it more when you don’t visit for a while and then drop in (IMHO).
        But especially while doing a book project – I command you to free yourself up to give your books your best! ha – just kidding – and still waiting on the tea, T?

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Yes Ma’am! I’ll get right on doing my best on the book ;)
          No, I get it, for the most part, but at the same time, a part of me doesn’t. When I get deeper into the editing phase i will drop at least partially out of sigh for a while. A couple of times in the past I did do forced slow downs and I may have to again. Perhaps soon…

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. Prior-01

            Well I think blogs can easily bounce back (and the blogger) as long as it is not too long – ha! And both of my summer breaks were probably a bit too long – not that I minded, but it was harder to find a groove and all that. So we shall see how I do this summer.
            anyhow, i also know what you mean about withdrawing with care. :)

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
  5. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Fantastic that you edited a least favourite story into something better. Sometimes time will let you see exactly what needs to be done. I understand totally your blogging problem. I think that everyone that blogs understands that at times we simply do not have the time to read everything that you’d like to and I won’t like something I haven’t read. It is time consuming (but I find very enjoyable) but when life happens and happen it must you have to be kind to yourself and let go of some things and life shouldn’t be the thing you let go of. I would have been back with a smile last week as I had it prepared but then it somehow got lost and I didn’t have the time to redo. Will be there this week. Have a great productive week Trent. Thanks for the coffee.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Sometimes I want to be a blogging machine, but the only people I know who can do that don’t work or have creative activities (writing, making music, etc.). Often time is needed to get a good perspective on creative output. seeing things with fresh eyes is always helpful.
      Don’t worry about posting a smile, as long as you had a smile :) Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Corina

    I’m having a struggle with blogging, too. I feel like I am drowning. I want to post. I want to read and comment. But life is also going on. So for now, I’m doing the minimum on the blog. I haven’t even written this week’s coffee share. I’m waiting for my laptop to charge so I can write it on that, instead of on this tablet. And I’m still struggling to update and get my old Galaxy the way I want it after my Fire Phone died on Wednesday but it looks like I need to go buy a memory card for it and that might not happen today. Or tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I know the drowning feeling with the blog. I start going through old posts and new ones are added quicker than I can read old ones… I do all of my writing on a real computer. I read and comment using my tablet, but I only read with the phone. Good luck with your new phone! I will most likely get a new one in a couple of months.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Robin

    I’ve struggled to keep up in the blogosphere, too. It’s hard to balance everything. Sounds like it’s been a good week. I had a good week here, too. Busy, but good. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. Rhio

    I’ve struggled to find enough time to even post the last few months, let alone read any, it always makes me feel a bit guilty for not being involved, even though sometimes what happens offline is more important. Got to take care of yourself. :)

    Like

    Reply
  9. nerdinthebrain

    Awwwww, this post made me smile! :D

    I am so right there with you on the “staying caught up with blog reading” thing. I have been spending so, so much time with product design, I just don’t feel like I have much time for anything else. I’m sure we’ll both find a happy balance with these things…eventually. ;)

    I hope the week ahead is a fantastic one for you!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  10. Pamela Morse

    I had a fantastic week finishing tax prep (yay) and remodeling my financial life in a great way. I drove up to Phoenix to take care of some financial matters so I went to the light show at the botanical gardens up here…fabulous. I will visit a Greek monastery my way home….excellent spring AZ tourism for m.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Tax prep and financial stuff doesn’t sound super exciting to me, but it is a necessity and getting it out of the way is a relief! A light show at a botanical gardens sounds like a great time, and the monastery visit, I’m sure, will be very interesting. Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

