Recharged

PHOTO PROMPT © Sean Fallon

PHOTO PROMPT © Sean Fallon

“Born in 2015. You must have been one of the originals.”

“Yes. At 82 they put me in the first human trials.”

“Fantastic!”

“Sure. I’m tired and want to go home.”

“This will make you less tired. It’ll, how did you say it in the 21st Century? Recharge your batteries.”

“They’ve been recharged too many times. I’m done.”

“You know the law. I guarantee you don’t want that.”

“Lord, no!”

“You’ll regret nothing once you’re young again.”

“I want to see Charlene.”

“Who?”

“My wife. She died in 2093.”

“You’ll have a new wife.”

“I know.”

“Forget her.”

“Right.”

“Have a great regeneration!”

Word count = 100

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This weeks prompt is here and uses a photo provided by © Sean Fallon.  Read more or join in by following the “linky“.

(I had to do two :) )

18 thoughts on “Recharged

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Rochelle! There have been several Sci-Fi things about leaving the one you love behind when regenerating, so it isn’t 100% original, though I hope I had a slightly different twist.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m not sure – it’s the far, far distant future and they are forcing everyone to rejuvenate, so perhaps something has happened making it impossible for humans to reproduce or they want to keep the population static genetically,not wanting to evolve.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I was thinking this was the distant future and he had been regenerated a few times so at least a little memory slid through…. In real life? If your old brain cells are replaced by young ones, would it be exact enough to retain those memories?

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! Actually, when I went back I think WP didn’t count the numbers as words, so it might be closer to 105…
      It might happen one day, maybe sooner than we’d like. I used 2015 as the birth date because of the battery in the prompt, but it might even be sooner than the 2097 date this gives

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 3/5/2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

Express Yourself

