Weekly Smile Week 9 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

I had a lot to smile about in the last week. I’ve talked about some of them already. I had a mini-vacation on Cape Cod. Yes, I go there all of the time, but I took two days off of work this time. The weather was nice for at least part of the time and I had a great time. It has been getting warm and looks like an early Spring. I’ve been out doing some Spring like things, such as running. Things have been going well at work. Nothing new, but it is always worth a smile if you enjoy your work. So with all of this, what am I going to use as my smile this week? Josie.

Josie

When we travel we bring the dogs, but not the cats.  Of course someone comes in and takes care of them, but they usually miss us.  Josie doesn’t like to be around the dogs, yet she has been spending a lot of time with me.  She will wake me up and demand that she be patted and cuddled.  She purrs loud enough to wake the dead.  If I stop patting her and try to sleep she’ll wake me again.  So all of this cuddling is great except I don’t sleep.  After an hour (or two, or three…) I will pick her up and carry her upstairs to her food dish and give her a little extra kibble.  There’s always some in the dish, so she doesn’t need it, but she’ll happily eat and I’ll go back to bed.  Of course 20 minutes before my alarm is set to go off she’ll start crying that it’s time for wet food, but at least I’ll get some sleep.

She is a funny cat.  One thing she’s been doing lately is going up to water glasses and drinking.  Occasionally she’ll stick her head in,but usually it’s a paw.  She’ll stick her paw in, get some water on said paw, take it out and lick.  Then she’ll repeat it over and over.  She has plenty of clean water, but for some reason she wants to drink my water.  And she wants to do it with her paw.  I know where that paw has been.  I clean the litter boxes, I know what happens there….

Josie-n-me

I’m sure some of you have rolled your eyes reading.  “OK, this animal keeps you up all night,” you say, ” and then sticks her nasty paw into your water.  Why do you put up with it?”  Because she is ultra-cute!  And it is fun to cuddle with her, at least for a short time.  Remember, Josie is forever the size of a small kitten.

I have written about her in the past.

So once again my smile is about a pet, but they do make one smile, don’t they?

What did you smile about?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the linky (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

37 thoughts on “Weekly Smile Week 9 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: Trents world! | CRAZY LIFE

  2. Pingback: Spiralizer, Chocolate Cake and the Attic – ladyleemanila

  3. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 3/5/2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      She is very cute. Albert, our big 3-legged cat, gets along with the dogs pretty well, though sometimes they tease him and so he takes it personally and uses his claws on them. The little cat tolerates the dogs. They tease her even more because they have less “normal” face-to-face time with her, and so she gets pretty irate with them. 95% of the time there is peace between all furry creatures.

      Like

      Reply
      1. charlypriest

        That has to be pretty cool to see these two species interact. My family is getting a bulldog next month, and those ones are quite the job to take care of them, plus in there is too much heat they will faint, go figure that one, a dog fainting. So it seems they have to be looking out for the dog 24/7

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Our dogs don’t think they’re cute, they think they’re important pack members and have to be able to do all of the same things the human members can do, plus their doggy things too :)

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  4. lifeconfusions

    Aaah Trent this is so sweet, it made me miss my cat so much more! We lost Cherry (our Persian cat), somebody stole her maybe, we don’t know where she disappeared suddenly. She had been with us for more than 8 years now, there is not a chance she wandered away. She was the most intelligent cat you’d ever come across. I miss her so so much, I can’t even…… :( :(

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I am sorry about Cherry :( Cats are great, so fun to be around, even when they are doing annoying things, like drinking out of your water or keeping you up all night. And cats can be so much smarter than most people give them credit for. I think of Claudius, who was, I think, an Angora – so beautiful and smart with his long fur (not quite as long as a Persian). I’m sure you miss Cherry. Sorry she disappeared :(

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. lifeconfusions

        My Cherry was the least annoying cat you’d find, she never asked for much. Was always so loving, she’d sit with our whole family. Listening to everything like a human. But she was so royal ! lol Like she’d only eat specific things the specific way she liked. And she’d literally go on food strike if we didn’t give her the food she liked.
        Gosh, I miss her so damn much. I can’t believe she is gone…

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Some cats are great like that. My brother has always had Persians and loves their temperament. I still miss the cats I’ve lost. It is sad they live such short lives.

          Sorry to bring up the pain – I hope the smiles of your memories with Cherry outweigh the pain :) <3

          Like

          Reply
          1. lifeconfusions

            Awh no Trent, you didn’t bring up the pain. It’s just that it was so soon and sudden, we weren’t ready to lose her. She had become such a vital part of our lives! We only realized after she was gone….too late, huh.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
  5. Nancy

    Some of my biggest smiles are cat related! It’s funny how we adapt our lives and home to accommodate these sometimes demanding fur babies. I had a cat who used to drink from the bathroom faucet. She would sit there and wait till someone turned it on for her. She would also sit on the side of the tub between the shower curtain and the clear liner when you took a shower so she could watch the drops travel down! Love the photo of you two. Josie is such a cutie.😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We had a cat that liked to drink from the faucet too. Usually he drank from the tub, but any faucet would do. We bought a kitty drinking fountain, “waterfall”, but once when we were away it dried out. We refilled it, changed the filter and everything but he never used it again.

      Josie is very cute :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Corina

    What a sweet kitty cat! And I love her name. We had a cat, Elliot, who was forever a kitten…not in size but in temperament. We were told that it was because he was taken from mother too young. We got him from a girl who said he was eight weeks but it turned out he was only four weeks when we got him. He was the most precious forever-kitten.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Josie (nothing to do with Josie and the Pussycats!) had a litter of kittens before she was 6 months and it stunted her growth. She had another litter before she was rescued, still under a year old.
      Our last Boxer was named Elliot. Good name.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Pingback: Baby News — Weekly Smile | Wasted Days And Wasted Nights

  8. brittabottle

    Aw, what a sweet little kitty. I love that picture of you together!
    This week, I’m smiling because I had my last day of school today and feel so hopeful and optimistic for the future. Despite having pneumonia (I swear Thailand is trying to kill me) I administered and graded exams from all four of my classes today and have been spending the evening relaxing. Saying goodbye to my students today was rough, but the future is bright. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      She is a very cute kitty!

      Pneumonia?! Wow, that’s awful. And I’m sure saying goodbye to the kids is awful too, in a way, but a relief in another way. The future is bright for you and hopefully for them too.

      Relax, heal and save your energy for your travels. I’m sure they’ll be great! Try to check in with a short post now and again for us vicariously living your great adventures ;)

      Like

      Reply
  9. itsathought2

    Many years ago I gave up having open glasses and cups because of the cat wanting to drink whatever I was drinking.

    So now I have ugly lidded cups. This has led me down the path of finding the most thermally effective cup that has the perfect lid for a straw, also has a comfortable handle and yet doesn’t weigh “too” much.

    Some people try to find beautiful art to collect or solve the mysteries of the universe. I’m on a quest for the perfect lidded vessel for my water.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Sounds like a noble quest – the purrfect cat-proof drinking vessel, much rarer than the holy Grail, or so it sometimes seems. I am pretty good about keeping her out of my cups and glasses so it is still amusing when she does it. If it happened more often it might go from amusing to annoying.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  10. joannesisco

    She is so tiny compared to my puma-sized Theo!! … and I love her little black nose. I have a special soft spot for cats with a black nose :)

    Fur-family members are special and I know why you would highlight Josie for your weekly smile. Theo makes me laugh every day. Everyone needs some of that in their life :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We have another cat, Albert. He is huge, so Josie looks so tiny when they are together. Albert is 3-legged and has had to learn to get along with the dogs, but if Josie thinks they are hurting him, she descends like an avenging angel and woe to any 65 lb dog that doesn’t flee before her, all 5 lbs of her!

      Fur-family members are great. I usually talk about the dogs since they are more constant companions, but the cats are great too.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

