If We Were Having Coffee – 2/27/2016

Beatles and Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you (Beatles’) mug of very strong French Roast.  I can also get you a cuppa tea or hot cocoa or other beverage.  It is a little nippy outside and feels colder given the unseasonably warm weather we had earlier in the week.  And where are “we”?  Some of you may recognize the Beatles’ mugs and living at the cottage on Cape Cod.

I took a couple of days off of work this week and came down here Wednesday night, a nasty ride in the pouring rain.  Thursday morning was rainy, but warm.  As the day went on the rain stopped and the clouds dispersed.  It grew cooler, but it was still warm enough for me to get out in the kayak for a while.

If you’ve read my last few blog posts you know I’ve been very busy.  Before this break that hasn’t really changed.  And because of that, I’ve made this break a real break.  I’ve stayed outside a lot, walking and such.  I’ve been lazy a lot.  I’ve avoided things I need to do.  And I’m recharging.  On Sunday I will go home and back to reality.  I don’t see things slowing down much for quite a while.

On the blogging front, yeah, I got behind.  I had tried to put up a post every day.  It was a goal.  But then I missed Monday.  I missed again on Tuesday.  The only reason i hit Wednesday is I felt I had to do a Smile post.  I also missed reading blogs.  In some ways it is the reading more than the posting.  I can write a new post in less than 10 minutes – Wednesday post took me 15, Thursday’s 5.  But reading?  There are days that I get up and start reading posts from the night before.  It takes me 2 hours to catch up.  By then there are 50 new posts.  I feel like I’m drowning.  I can literally read blog posts all day and never ever keep up.  There are a dozen or two of you out there that I try to read every post, but even with these, that’s hours a day.  I feel like a hypocrite if I post and don’t read other people’s posts.  And I never, ever “like” a post without reading it.

OK, enough complaining.  Sorry for the rant.

Oh, yes, though I missed Friday Fictioneer this week, I did participate in Throw Back Thursday linkup over at Part-Time Monster’s blog.  Check it out!

So, on the blogging front, on Sunday I put up a recap of my year with #1000Speak.  I missed Monday and Tuesday.  On Wednesday I put up my Weekly Smile post.  On Thursday I put up a short post about kayaking in February.  On Friday I put up one of the local legends from my hometown in Northern Ohio.

Oh, another “funny” thing.  I was alone in the house last Sunday.  Some unexplained things happened, including a scarf hanger (I think) being opened up and a wire in my path.  I walked right into it.  What is ironic is that I talked about having my eye poked as a child several times during the day.  On Sunday I was also asked about a friend who was partially blinded as a kid.  I did some research and discovered he had passed away in 2010.  So having my eye poked was a weird irony.  This picture was taken Monday morning.  It looked uglier as the week went on, but is now looking (and feeling!) netter.  I’m sure it will stay red for a few more weeks.

eye

Anyway, that was my week, good and bad.  I’m going to continue my little action and spend as much time out and about as possible, but I’ll try to get to all of your coffee posts.

And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

50 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 2/27/2016

  1. roweeee

    Trent, so sorry to hear about your eye. Looks nasty.
    So jealous you got out on the kayak. We’ve had some trouble with our trailer so getting the kayaks I’m more comfortable with out, is a no go at the moment. It’s also been really hot and sunny and I’d fry to a crisp out there any time other than dusk. The kids have been out sailing with sea scouts, though.
    Music practice with my daughter is proceeding slowly. She is more confident on the Baritone and the violin seems to undermine her confidence. I know what that’s like. It’s certainly an instrument which gives you a good lesson in humility.
    We are now implementing the power of persistence!
    Hope you have a better week and your eye recovers quickly.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The eye is rapidly healing. It looked much worse than this on Wednesday (the picture was Monday morning), but looks pretty good now.

      Getting out on the kayak was great. Last year I bought new wheels, but i’m going to need new bungee cords soon. It’s very easy to put it on the wheels and go the 100 yards/meters to the landing.

      Violin is one instrument I haven’t tried. I know it is difficult. It’s great that she getting into the musical thing so much. She doesn’t have to be a professional, but just being able to play is a plus.

      Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      They eye seems to be healing nicely – perhaps it got the same benefit I did from having a stress-free few days of a mini-vacation. The mini-vacay was great and I’m ready to start the new week slightly refreshed.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Terri Webster Schrandt

    Oh, Trent, you could have written this last part about me! I have been so busy teaching (creating lectures for two new classes every week) that I can barely keep up with weekly photo challenge, let alone the WCS. Today’s post, which should have been WCS, was the weekly photo challenge, on which I ended up spending a huge amount of time! Sigh. I got behind reading too and stress about all the emails. Here’s to a much better week for both of us! And thanks for the coffee!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The key is to not worry or stress about it, but, of course, that’s much easier said than done! I did have a relaxing weekend so I’m sure the week will be better for me. I hope you have a great, less stressful week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. lifeconfusions

    Omg Trent, did you get it checked? Your eye, I hope there is no damage ! Reading your account made me cringe, making me remember my own incident when I was little. I was playing hide & seek with the kids outside on a wedding at night-time and I was running and blindly poked myself in the eye with the BARBED WIRE in the hedge! Right on the eyeball but thankfully through the skin, it bled a little and now there is a small permanent scar on my eyelid but it could have been worse… Phewww!

    And man I could so relate with the ‘not reading other people’s blog and then feeling guilty about it’ :( I thought it was only me who it takes 3-4 hours to catch up with other blogs….That’s the hardest part about blogging.. This is why I can’t post everyday either… it consumes a lot of time…

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I know, the doctor in you is coming out ;) I did not get it checked out. It happened Sunday and got worse Monday and Tuesday. I told myself I’d go to the doctor if ti were worse Wednesday morning, but it was better and has improved since then. I was poked in the eye as a kid and once wrote a post about. Someone read the post a few days before I did this, and I was talking to my Mom about being poked in the eye just hours before… Barbed wire – OUCH! that doesn’t sound good! Glad it didn’t do any more damage. Also glad the wire that hit me (actually plastic end on the wire) wasn’t a couple of mm over!
      Blogging does take a lot of time. I like keeping up with everyone, but…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. lifeconfusions

        Seriously though, it is spooky as hell… like what if you were talking/thinking about much worse things than being poked in the eye :D

        Well but I’m glad there was a happy ending despite of all the spookiness ! :P

        And I totally understand the “But”…same!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Yes, if I was talking about something really, really nasty… The same night as the poke in the eye, I had just fallen fast asleep when an alarm went off in a different part of the house. I have no idea how it was set! I was the only one there. I got up, trudged upstairs, found it, turned it off, went back down and I was not ready to sleep again. I think there must be ghosts in my house.

          I know a huge blogging problem with you is how busy you get when your classes are in full swing. I’m sure you understand that “but….”!

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              Here is paranormal – I think when I went to answer his I accidentally deleted it! I started typing and suddenly it was gone! I just looked in the trash, and sure enough, this comment was there. Oh well, we’ve already discussed it, but if this goes on I’ll have to put even more belief in the paranormal!

              Like

              Reply
                1. trentpmcd Post author

                  That’s true ;) I found your deleted comment because I deleted another one, only this time I saw the message. I have no idea how I did it either time – I was typing away when suddenly my computer made a “ping” and the comment was gone! But the second time a pop up said “Comment deleted”. oops.

                  Like

                  Reply
                  1. lifeconfusions

                    If you use wordpress by mobile phone it can happen quiet often, one wrong tap by mistake (for example the phones fall on your face when you are using it in your bed at night :D ) and you can lose a whole comment… :P

                    Like

                    Reply
                    1. trentpmcd Post author

                      Yeah, that’s why I usually don’t use my phone at bed at night… Actually, I usually only read on the phone if I have no access to a computer, but 90% of the time I’ll skip comments until I can get to a computer or at least a tablet.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. trentpmcd Post author

                      Writing “lol” doesn’t cover this :) Maybe hahaHAHAhaha… Just for this statement I WILL go out and get an eye patch for a photo shoot, just for you. Just be careful using the computer in bed, don’t want that hitting you in the face ;)

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. lifeconfusions

                      Hahaha, you know what…it’s really embarrassing but I already got hit with the laptop too, right on the nose (your warning came a little too late :P ).

                      P.S I’m getting excited about the eye patch now :D

                      Liked by 1 person

  4. DailyMusings

    I feel the same about reading and writing and trying to catch up and trying to post. Working full time makes it hard to find the time, but I feel awful and like I am missing out if I don;t read. Hope that eye is better soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      A year ago I had a low period at work. Some days were very busy, bt some were slow. I did a lot more blog reading at work than I’d care to admit. Now I am straight out busy the whole day and don’t have time for it. i do want to keep up, but when I’m home from work I also want to do things that help me unwind. Reading does help unwind most of the time, but if I feel I’m drowning, not so much… The eye is getting better, but now after a long day it’s starting to bother me again.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Sounds like you achieved your couple of days rest and relaxation despite the cold. I know what you mean regarding reading posts. To put out a post takes little time and can be done often in advance so it takes even less time. Reading everyone is another matter for like you I will not like without reading and then I want to comment and then a conversation starts and although I am an introvert I love conversations one on one with like minded people and even people who aren’t like minded if a debate happens I think it is a healthy thing that can move ourselves closer to understanding differences. Hope you can manage to stay out and about and hope I can get back to posting a smile. If not this week the next as we will no longer have house guests (until the next arrive in April). Have a good week and I love drinking out of that Beatles mug.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I did stay out a big chunk of the day. I’m introverted, but that means I like a good conversation one-on-one but hate the big babble of a large group. And conversations on line are often cool because they can be done on our own time. Looking forward to seeing your smile, even if it is next week before you get a chance.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. bettylouise31

    Sorry about your eye. I hope it continues to get better. Stay out whenever you can. I can’t things I used to do and I missed the traveling. The patio door is ajar as it is fairly warm outside and the wind had died down. I try and read every post and does take time. I usually comment on them. Don’t get too busy and forget to relax it is easyvto do.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks, the eye is getting better. It is nice to relax once in a while and for me relaxing usually means walking or at least being outside. It is cold out, but sunny and it’s been nice to enjoy the sun.

      Like

      Reply
  7. nerdinthebrain

    I’m glad your eye injury wasn’t more serious! Scary!

    I totally hear ya on the blog reading thing. I want to read other bloggers’ posts, but there is a definite drowning sensation. I’ve been trying for months to figure out a way to get that under control. If I come up with anything, I’ll let you know. :) For right now, I’m like you…there are a few bloggers that I read everything they post, but others are being “neglected.”

    Enjoy the rest of your relaxation time!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I recently went through and turned off receiving e-mails for about 95% percent of the blogs I follow and on for the remaining 5%. Actually, I’ve done this before, but it had been a while. The idea is I can use my email inbox instead of the Reader. Of course I use a different email address most of the time and gmail doesn’t let you have 2 different inboxes open, you have to close one and open the other. So that hasn’t workes well as it should. Of course, I could read the blog in Chrome, which does use the “social-media” email. Maybe I will.

      Thanks. Have a great weekend!

      Like

      Reply
  8. Deb

    sometimes we just need a break from writing and reading! I can barely get a coffee share post up. Man, that eye looks wicked! Know how it feels though having had a run in with a tree branch last summer. Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      A break is always good. I’ve had a couple of tree branch incidents, but none as bad as this one. There is something about getting hit in the eye that just makes the skin crawl, isn’t there?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Deb

        OH yes! My brother in law lost an eye after being hit with a stick. It flew up under his safety glasses, knocked them off his face and punctured the eye beyond repair. Even an eye infection will give me the willies!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Eye injuries do look awful. A few people said I should get medical treatment, but it didn’t hit the cornea or anything and my vision was always fine, so I decided to let it heal on its own.

      Like

      Reply
  9. honestme363

    I feel the exact same way about reading and posting. I am not really sure if people notice when you are not around and commenting/liking…we all get busy right? Hope your eye feels better soon, it looks painful!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m about 90% sure that I am paranoid about the whole dropping out of site thing. As you said, how many people are going to say, “What! He put up another post and yet didn’t comment on mine yet?!”
      The eye does look pretty ugly. It hurt a bit, but, except for the moment of impact, not an awful pain. And now I pretty much don’t feel it unless I think about it.
      Have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  10. camilledefleurville

    Reading posts is a delight because it is the right way to interact but I aggree with you that it looks endless: catching up and keepind abreast… Ad I agree again: how ca you like a post if you donot read it? In French, we call this the mythologic “tonneau des Danaïdes”! :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I do like to interact with people, and there has to be a give and take in blogging. I enjoy the other posts, but, wow, sometimes it is overwhelming! There are people out there that do “like” without reading, but I think most bloggers here are “honest” about it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

