If We Were Having Coffee – 2/20/2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you nice mug of very strong French Roast or a cuppa tea or other (nonalcoholic) beverage!  It is a weird day.  There is a fresh layer of snow on the ground, yet it feels warm out and the stuff coming down is much closer to liquid than solid.  Still, a good day to be indoors!  And where is “here”?  Long time readers may recognize the mug as coming from Co. Mayo, Ireland, but it is sitting in New Hampshire, USA, as am I.

This has been a weird, busy week.  I talked about it a bit in my smile post, but I’ll talk about it a little more here.

Cape Cold - It was cool on Cape Cod

Cape Cold – It was cool on Cape Cod

I started off on Cape Cold, I mean Cape Cod.  Even though it was cold and I stayed in quite a bit, it was still great to get away. (It was much colder in NH!!)  I attended a live presentation by a New Hampshire author, Rebecca Rule, were she talked about that New England tradition of Town Meeting (more on town meeting when I attend one in March).  I had a dentist appointment.  I wrote some music and started to setup my next recording.  I read a lot of my short stories, sorting them out for my book and rewrote one as an experiment.  I watched 2 Town Hall Meetings for work, not to be confused with Town Meeting.

I talked to family and made plans.  I talked to friends and I talked to coworkers.  I did a little chatting with “blog friends”, who are real friends.  I spent a lot of time with the puppies and some with the cats.

Work was busy.  Besides the two “Town Halls”, I attended an all day online seminar on Wednesday.  And there were a lot of other things going on.

This all took a toll on blogging.  I didn’t read your posts as much as I would have liked to.  And since I participated in some link-ups, I put a higher priority on them than on people I follow.  And then there was Tuesday.  I had an 18 hour period of time with 3 views.  And then my Reader went away for an hour.  Well, I guess WP was doing another “upgrade”.  Most of my posts this week were very short, easy posts.

On Sunday I put up a panel from my illustrated story, The Magic Wand (the colorized version) with a some words about writing, kind of a Valentine’s gift to my love of words.  On Monday I put up an old sketch I did of Notre Dame and had a few words about it.  On Tuesday I wrote a silly limerick on Hamlet and put up some stuff about my Hamlet Symphony.  On Wednesday I put up my Weekly Smile, this one about self-reflection.  I wrote two 100 word stories for Friday Fictioneers and so had two posts, The Portal and The Missed Cog (based on another work of flash fiction).  Friday I did didn’t have any time so I just wrote a blurb asking people to join Diana’s Throwback Thursday link-up.

So, although i posted every day, they were all short, easy posts.

It will be another busy week coming up, but perhaps with a good bit of relaxation at the end.  More later!  Despite being busy I’ll try to keep up with the blogs.  Can’t guarantee it, but I’ll at least try to hit all of the coffee posts.

And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

 

31 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 2/20/2016

  1. roweeee

    Thanks for the coffee, Trent. I needed it today. Somehow my sleeping hours are getting back to front and inside out and I’m struggling to sleep at night and catch up during the day, which just reinforces the nasty cycle.
    I know you guys in the North are desperately waiting for Spring but I’m also conscious that as it gets warmer for you, it’s going to cool down here and it will soon be Winter. Well, not for awhile yet. We really only get 3 months of poor weather here. I actually prefer Autumn and Spring without the extreme heat. We don’t really get extreme cold where we live.
    My daughter is continuing with the Baritone and the violin. The Baritone seems to be her favourite. She becomes quite intense though and is pretty hard on herself, which is why she’s struggled to progress with the violin in the past. I don’t know if I mentioned to you that their string group is playing at the Sydney Opera House so this is her big carrot. It couold well be a once in a lifetime opportunity. Or, perhaps only the beginning. xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Your daughter seems musical in so many ways, perhaps it will be just the beginning. One problem with violin is that everyone plays one. Well, I’ve played many instruments including a cello, but not a violin, but you know what I mean. Not many people play a Euphonium (once she learns Baritone she can play any of them). I’ve heard Euphonium choirs, and it is a fantastic sound.
      After the nasty start it turned into a beautiful weekend. It has cooled down a bit and we’re not out of winter yet, but it’s feeling like Spring. Autumn is my very favorite season. Spring here can be wet and cool. It’s never as warm as you think it should be. In NH we often have snow on the ground until late March or early April. Spring starts earlier on Cape Cod, but then it drags on, cool and wet, for much longer. On the other hand, it stays warm and sunny in Autumn for much longer, so it evens out. And the Cape has warmer winters and cooler summers, so the weather is all around better (when it isn’t being blasted by 120 km/h winds! which is too often).
      I have been super busy and haven’t been visiting blogs in the last few days. I’ll try to stop by later today :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. roweeee

        Hope things settle down for you. I do think our daughter is on the right track playing a less common instrument. I’m not sure whether she wants to be a professional musician but even if you’re wanting to join a group as an amateur, you have a much better chance. Mind you, playing the violin this year is her passport to playing at the Sydney Opera House in a huge school string group. I would love to play at the Opera House in something like that. I’d be smiling like the Cheshire Cat!
        Anyway, I’d better get some sleep. Another day awaits me in the morning xx Rowena

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. Diana

    Goodness, what a week!

    I’ve had a busy one around here, too, and I definitely haven’t been able to read as much on the blogs as I would like to. I need to work out a system of keeping up with my the blogs I want to read and participate in things with. I keep meaning to do the weekly smile, for instance, and time just slides away. One of these days!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is hard finding ways to keep up with blogs. I can write a post in minutes, but to read every post of every blog i follow would take about half of my waking time. And then this weekend, I have a project and have only had a chance to read a few, not many. I did recently go through and changed it so I receive e-mail notifications fro0m only a half a dozen sites, but I haven’t really used it yet, I still go through the Reader.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Diana

        Yeah, I follow quite a few blogs that post often, and there’s just no way to keep up. But I think that the nice thing about bloggers is that we understand how difficult it is to produce content and keep up with all the people whose writing we enjoy.

        Liked by 2 people

        Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’ll bring my camera and most likely will get some pictures down on Cape Cod. I’ll make sure I’ll do a photo post if any turn out.

      It will be a nice get away, though today I’m busy doing my own little projects, not work.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Master of Something Yet

    Holey Moley, Trent! I feel exhausted just reading about your week. I honestly do not and never will understand how you can have such a busy work week and still post as much as you do. I get home from work and collapse on the couch in a coma. I’m lucky if the kids get fed. THe blog has to wait until the weekend. You’re a marvel! :D

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      All of the posts I put up this week took between 10 and 20 minutes, so no real time. I can write a 1000 word story in less than an hour when I am too tired to talk, so, I guess I type in my sleep ;) It has been busy, but I can find time during a break at work or something to write up a 5 or 10 minute post.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Master of Something Yet

        I’m a notorious ‘tweaker’ which I think comes from being a perfectionist so even a post I think will be quick will take me over an hour. You’ve got the knack of producing quality posts in a short time which is a handy skill for a blogger to have!

        Liked by 2 people

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Thanks, though I feel everything is rough draft. I have rewritten a couple of the stories I posted. If they all go like this, there will be a huge difference between blog version and book version….

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I like to stay busy, but i also need a break. I’ll have one coming up, but I won’t be able to get the stuff done that I want to. Oh well, I might have to (cough cough) be sick for a day or two….

      After the nasty start it turned into a beautiful day and I’ve really been enjoying it! I hope you enjoy your weekend too!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Corina

    I don’t like to read Friday Fictioneer posts until I write mine, just so I do my own thing without influence. So I’ll come back to read yours after I write mine or decide I’m not doing it but I think I like this photo prompt and have a few ideas so I think I will do it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I do pretty much the same thing. I go in on Wednesday and save the prompt without reading Rochelle’s post. If i see some in the Reader I skip them. When I finish, I’ll start reading others.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I hinted at it in the post, but I’m taking 2 days off next week. I won’t get a lot of the things done i need to do, but it will be relaxing.

      Oh, I forgot to comment on your coffee share post! I had a few things to say so I’ll skip back there and talk to you again in a minute.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              “Relaxing” will start tomorrow (I hope) :) I planned on posting every day this month and missed the last 2 because I was too busy to write even a 5 minute post. But I’m getting away and will work on stories and relax.

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
  5. Nancy

    Sounds like one of those weeks that just moves along and sweeps you along with it! Just wondering, how long a drive it is between your two homes? You seem to go back and forth quite often. Do you have doubles of everything or are you really good at taking along what you need on each trip. I would be awful at living in two places. I know what ever I needed would be accidentally left in the other place!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s about a 3 hour drive each way. Yes, we keep doubles of most things, though this year I’ve been carrying my heavy sweaters back and forth. I have a laptop down there, but have to bring my work computer back and forth. I try to go at least one weekend a month, 2 when possible. For a weekend I usually go down Thursday (occasionally Wednesday) evening and telework from there, then back Sunday morning. I usually do 2 full weeks a year, a maybe three or four long holiday weekends (usually same length as weekends, but not working.) So yes, I go down there a lot and have given up most other travel!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Nancy

        It’s really nice to have a mini escape, though. Three hours isn’t too bad a ride. My in laws’ house in the mountains is about that far and we’ve done that drive just for the weekend.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Express Yourself

