If We Were Having Coffee – 2/13/2016

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a mug of strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or some hot cocoa!  It is cold outside, but not nearly as frigid as it will be in the next couple of days.  I’m talking there will be temps down to -13 F/ -25 C.  Well, in New Hampshire, at least.  From those Beatles mugs you may guess, I’m on Cape Cod this weekend.

It was a busy week.  Work just seemed busier than usual.  If you’ve been following my coffee posts you know that my work has picked up for me in the last 6 months.  Given that, it was even busier this week.  Yeah, maybe a bit too much.  But still, better than being bored.

I was also busy at home.  I had to shovel relatively small amounts of snow three times in NH over the last week and the snow clean up after I reached Cape Cod was pretty intense.  Not as bad as last year when I was greeted by the Foss-McDonald Glacier, but still quite a bit of snow to move around.

The last week also had a lot of bouts of chasing dogs through the woods (the love the snow and love exploring and, well, get wild) and general dog sitting.   I voted on Tuesday in the First in the Nation Primary, New Hampshire Primary.  Sounds impressive, but the last few election cycles NH’s vote was pretty meaningless to the over all decision on the candidates.

I’ve been busy doing other stuff, like exercising, reading and going through stories for my upcoming book of short stories.

In blog land I haven’t been as active in reading as I have in the past since I’ve been so busy.  I’ve tried to keep a good posting schedule, though.  I started the week on Sunday with a silly post about my hat.  On Monday I put up some pictures of the snow we received last Friday.  On Tuesday I asked a few questions about what you like to see in a short story collection.  Wednesday was my Weekly Smile!  I smiled about voting and talked about voting in general.  If you found the subject too dry for a smile, I added pictures of my dogs playing in the snow :)  On Wednesday night I posted some flash fiction for this weeks Friday Fictioneers.  On Thursday I did a “throwback” post about old wool sweaters.  On Friday I posted a video about love from “The Fiddler on the Roof” and a short story that is a different love story.

Well, that’s about it.  Despite the cold I’m planning on being outside as much as possible today.  I’m on Cape Cod.  I have to be outside, right?  I’ll try to keep up with the blogs, but it is sunny and not as cold as it was supposed to be (they moved the worst of the cold back a day.)

And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

36 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 2/13/2016

        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I guess it’s second childhood – with these pups I’ve been running in the woods, on the ice up and down muddy slopes, etc. Senility can’t be far behind ;) A few more falls and it might be even earlier…

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  1. Lori Carlson

    Enjoyable post, Trent.. I envy you being in Cape Cod.. I would love to visit there some day. Enjoy all of the snow.. I hear more is headed your way, if it hasn’t already arrived. We received a nice dusting (8 inches) today here in VA. Good luck with your upcoming book of short stories! And as always, enjoy the coffee and the upcoming week :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Cape Cod is great and it’s nice to be there as a non-tourist. Unfortunately I’m back to reality in New Hampshire. We have a 4-season cottage on the Cape and try to use it as much as possible, but home is still in NH.
      We got about 3 inches of snow with a half an inch of ice over the top. They plowed the roads after the snow so the roads are pretty icy right now, but it will warm up and get better.
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Lori Carlson

        Ah! well I am sorry you had to come back to NH, but since it is home… *smiles* we got about 8 inches here of snow yesterday, but it has been raining all night and holding steady at about 30 degrees… so hopefully no ice! Enjoy your week as well, Trent :)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. roweeee

    My husband and I looked longingly at a photo of the snow yesterday wishing we could roll around or bury ourselves in it. The sun and heat were oppressive and we were in a packed scout hall with one fan. Thank goodness, it was large but we could’ve done with another.
    I don’t know how my dogs would react to snow. I think Bilbo would be a bit circumspect, like he is about most thing except standing in the rain but Lady is quite adventurous and playful and I could see her loving it.
    Hope you have a great week ahead xx Ro

    Like

    Reply
  3. Nancy

    I’m with you, I would rather be busy at work. It makes the day fly by and it feels so productive. Good luck with the cold. We are dealing with it here too but unlike you, I plan to stay indoors as much as I can. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Alex Hurst

    Sounds like you are very busy! I think it’s just a symptom of the new year sometimes… I feel like I haven’t taken a real breath of fresh air since December!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. bettylouise31

    I wonder if thechange in climate might be due the shift in the earth’s rotation. You sound like it been busy for you. Your s.ile a day I want to have time to a post. It takes me song to anything now a days. Have good weekend.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Diana

    I am trying to imagine our dog in the snow, and I just don’t think he would like it. He’s kind-of a dandy and doesn’t like to get his paws wet, though he doesn’t mind dirt. lol

    Stay warm, and have a good weekend! Hope work is a bit calmer this week—it’s never fun to be TOO busy.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Pups are like that when they get into the woods and forests. After the cold,cold we’re having they are predicting 3 inches of snow followed by a day of freezing rain on Tuesday. I want the sun!
      I hope you have a great weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Corina

    Enjoy your weekend at the Cape! I’m glad it’s a sunny day for you. We’re having sun today, too. At least this morning then your guess is as good as mine! I’m off to visit with Allison in a few minutes so I’ll be out in any kind of weather we end up with. Cross your fingers the rain holds off till I get back in a few hours. I hate driving in the rain out here and she’s about a 45 minute drive from me!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Express Yourself

