Weekly Smile Week 6 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

This was a good week.  In fact, I’d say it was a very good week.  There were some downs, like shoveling snow, but there were some ups, like watching my dogs play in the snow.  They had a blast!  But there was little that made me say, “I need to post this as my smile!”  So I will do something a little different.

Playing in the snow

This week my smile was voting.

My guess is most people in the United States and quite a few people outside of the US know that this is a presidential election year.  They might also know that yesterday was the New Hampshire primary, the second election in the process and the first primary.   Living in New Hampshire I did my civic duty and voted.

Ignore the three ring circus of this year’s primary and think about what is happening.  We, in this country, have a right to vote for our leaders.  There are major problems with the system.  Votes are influenced by money.  Often less than 10% of the people vote in primaries and these people are usually the extreme sides of their parties,  so when general elections come along we often have a choice between two very extreme candidates.  People don’t feel truly represented.

Instead of complaining about the process, do something about it and vote every chance you get.  Get all of your friends and family to vote in every primary, even the off year ones.  Those are the most important!  People in the US often brag about our democracy and yet we have one of the poorest voting records in the world.

First you need to educate yourself on the candidate and the issues.  I am very, very surprised at how little most people know about the issues they are screaming about.  Don’t listen to the rhetoric, open your mind and do your research!  You are powerful, but if you form opinions from TV ads, well, there is something very wrong going on.

Playing in the snow

And then vote.

I have voted in every election, every primary, every local vote, every chance possible that I’ve been able to for at least 20 years.  I feel it is my duty.  But it is also my one chance to be powerful.  I have the same amount of power as any celebrity or billionaire when I am in the voting booth, my pen is just as important.  Why do so many not take up that responsibility and throw away that power?

So I smiled when I voted.  It doesn’t matter if my candidate won or loss, I did my part.

If you live in a place where you can vote, do it!  And perhaps you will smile too :)

So that was my smile.  What did you smile about?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the linky. While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

Playing in the woods

28 thoughts on “Weekly Smile Week 6 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 2/13/2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: The Weekly Smile Week 6 | Lillie-Put

  3. Master of Something Yet

    I’m very pleased to hear you smiling about voting. The US election process is so strange to us. Here, the parties elect their representatives and on Election Day, it’s compulsory to vote. (You get fined if you don’t and don’t have a good reason why you didn’t.) I usually work as an election official and whenever I get someone grumbling about voting, I tell them they can’t complain about the system if they don’t participate in it. Well done, Trent, for adding your voice. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The presidential elections here are weird. The primary system works to some degree, but in off years very few people vote in them. I don’t no if compulsory voting is the right way, but I sure wish more people here would vote!
      I’ve counted votes a few times in the past. Very interesting process…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          My town is and always has been paper and pencil. Voting machines scare me – it is a thousand times easier to cheat with a computer than a pencil. thinking of computers, I just finished reading your post ;)

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m sure it’s fun watching the 8-month old playing in the snow, even if eating it distracts her. A lot of dogs love the snow. And yes, these two like eating it too. The boxer loves to bury his toys in the snow.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
                  1. nonsmokingladybug

                    I work as a volunteer for a dog rescue. We were suppossed to rescue 4 puppies and 2 adult dogs. The adult dogs were gone, two of the puppies were dead. Patches was the one I took home, she was alright, just eaten up with parasites. She is something and our dogs are smitten with her and so are we. She likes and thanks us all the time..I have never seen a happier dog in my whole life. I guess she was meant to be with us.

                    Liked by 1 person

                    Reply
  4. Pingback: A Weird Winter Day | My Life Lived Full

  5. Pingback: The Weekly Smile | A Day In The Life

  6. Pingback: Two Years Of Being A Mom – #WeeklySmile | Solveig Werner

  7. Nancy

    Well said. As a co-worker of mine is fond of saying…”If you don’t vote, you don’t get to complain.” U.S. Citizens never seem to realize what a perk it is to have some say I what happens in our town/state/country. Ever since my kids have been little, we have taken them with us to vote so they can see how important it is.
    ps….it looks like your dogs are having a blast! Wish I liked the snow that much!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I agree that if you don’t vote you don’t get to complain. I think it’s great that you taught your kids from an early age.
      Yes, the dogs have a blast playing in the snow! I don’t mind the snow as long as I don’t have to drive in it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. camilledefleurville

    You are so absolutely right about how lucky we are to be able to vote: it is the same in France. And yet, people are so disappointed with politics, policies and politicians than less and less do vote, which leaves all space for the extremes and the politicians’ manoeuvres to go full steam! And to reduce our liberties. So, yes, yes, and yes: votes are essential.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Express Yourself

