If We Were Having Coffee – 2/6/2015

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice hot cup of strong French Roast, piping hot tea or other warm beverage.  Despite the 60 F/16 C weather earlier in the week, it has turn cold.  In fact, we had our first biggish (still relatively small) snow storm yesterday, but more about that later.  Come in, come in!  And were are we?  Many of my long time readers will notice the Moog and coffee picture as meaning we are in New Hampshire.

As i said, it has been an interesting week weather wise.  There were some very warm temperatures and a lot of rain.  A winter storm came through yesterday dumping about 5 inches (17 cm) of heavy, wet snow.  It was pretty!  I may post some pictures later.  But it was a pain to shovel.  I felt the snow was too wet and not deep enough for the snow blower.  I don’t like to take my monster machine out for less than 8 or 9 inches and typically I use it at least a dozen times a winter.  That it is February and I haven’t taken it out yet shows you how mild our winter has been.  I am a little stiff and sore from the shoveling.  Of course i shoveled out the grill first so I could cook outside yesterday.  This will be the second winter that I’ve been able to use the grill all winter.

Looking ahead it is supposed to get very cold at the end of the week.  There is another storm predicted for Monday and Tuesday.  If you watch the news you may know the reason why that might be an issue.  Give up?  It is the “First in the Nation Primary”!  What about Iowa?  That is a Caucus and there isn’t a one-for-one vote there.  This is the first go in, cast a vote, leave election.  The politicians have been hitting us hard since late summer and right now I can almost walk to the Massachusetts border on the top of politician’s heads.

Besides weather and politics, it has been a pretty good week.  i did enjoy last weekend on Cape Cod.  Work was a little slower, but i still got a lot done.  Some stuff around the house.  I spent a lot of time with the dogs, of course.

This week I also started to do some preliminary work for my book of short stories.  I’ve gathered them up, along with some that I haven’t posted, and put them in one 290 page Word document.  I plan on going through a few times and picking out my favorites.  I have recruited some family members to help by telling me their favorites.  After I narrow it down I will start doing second and third drafts, then editing and all of the other fun stuff needed to make a high quality book.

Thinking of short stories, i posted four new short stories on my blog this week.  On Monday I posted a little tale about trying to discover the Time Machine hidden in a deceased Mathematicians office.  On Wednesday and Thursday I joined this weeks Friday Fictioneers and posted a bittersweet tale of childhood memories and a darker, horror tale.  I did a usual fiction post on Friday, a highly popular story about a Guardian.

Of course the weekly smile didn’t go away.  I did the Week 5 post on Wednesday, but then put up a reminder on Thursday evening since “hits” on the original wen to zero after I posted the short stories.  Here is the linky.  If you haven’t checked out everyone’s smiles, please take a look.  And remember, it is very possible some will be added later, even on Monday or Tuesday.  And while you are looking, think about adding your own smile : )

Every so often I will notice someone hitting an old post, I’ll go look at it and get a big smile.  That happened this week when someone brought up my Whale Watch post.  So I reposted it on Sunday.  At work on Tuesday I mentioned to a colleague that the way things were supposed to work was great, but things never actually worked that way.  I decided to write a poem spreading this concept to all of life, not just work.  Also on Tuesday I had been thinking about how i hadn’t accidentally written 2015 all year (as far as I know ;) ) and decided to post about how the brain can actually change.

So, with all of the blog reading I did, it was another big blog day.

And that is about it.  It is sunny and will be a bit warmer, so I will spend as much time outside as possible today enjoying the snow.  And,as always, there are a million plans for the weekend.

And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

23 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 2/6/2015

  1. Diana

    The weather here is sunny and cool, in the 50s most of the day and 40s most of the evening, which isn’t actually bad Mardi Gras weather. At least it’s not raining, which has been the case during Mardi Gras for the last two years.

    Sounds like you’ve had a lot going on this week, especially on the writing front! How exciting to be moving ever-closer in the direction of having a collection of short stories out there. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. roweeee

    Happy Sunday night to you, Trent. You would’ve loved to be with us today and my daughter and I went to Matilda the Musical in Sydney. I offered to take her to see the Sound of Music to follow through on her audition but she said she’d rather see Matilda and I’m really glad she did because we both know Sound of Music but Matilda took us to new places. It was so clever and the set design and special effects were great. Being my usually ambitious self, I’ve bought the musical score and the CD. Would like to try it on my violin but might be more a case of mum playing the piano while we sing along.
    The elections must be driving you mad. They really seem to know how to draw it out.
    Hope you fare okay in the snow. All that shovelling sounds terrible.
    Take care xx Ro

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It sounds like a great musical and a good choice over seeing something she (and you) know. The stage production of Sound of Music is slightly different from the movie, but if you know one you know the other. Have fun playing songs from Matilda!
      Elections are driving me mad mostly because my wife volunteers on a campaign and has largely been missing for the last month… I don’t watch TV so I miss the commercials, but of course every YouTube video begins with a political ad.
      You get used to shoveling. If there was more of it or it was less wet I could have used my snowblower. It takes longer, but is less hard work. And amazingly a lot of it is gone – it fell on to warmer ground and then it was warm yesterday. It’s going to be frigid later in the week, but the snow is mostly gone already.
      Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Nancy

    We had that same heavy wet snow here on Friday. It was a pain to move but we were lucky because it melted fast. I love that you grill all winter! We were at a Super Bowl party one January where the host was grilling burgers in the snow. It shows you have grit!

    Like

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’ll be happy when the political train pulls away from NH and I don’t have to listen until the general elections in November…. I hope your brother’s visit went well – I’ll most likely find out soon if it’s in your coffee post.
      I hope you have a good week coming up!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Something I’ve never had to do is shovel snow. Sounds like back breaking work but I guess it keeps you fit. You’ve had a busy week Trent and adding to it with your book of short stories. Self-publishing is a great way to go and you are right — it is the editing beforehand that is the hard part. Let alone marketing. Looking forward to seeing the finished product.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      You know, you can come up and visit next winter if you want some experience shoveling snow…. Usually it isn’t too bad, but the snow was wet and heavy, so a little more back breaking than usual. And I can’t believe how much went away today!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    2. trentpmcd Post author

      Oops, I hit “Send” too soon.
      I think doing the short story book in the long run will be rewarding, even if not financially. We’ll see how it goes.
      I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It has been a weird winter. My parents are in the Cleveland area and say the daffodils are beginning to come up more than a moth early. I think having this snow is a little harder since it has been so spring-like.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. itsathought2

    I am going to be interested to watch your journey of publishing. I kind of want to self publish but it feels so BIG. So many things to do that I don’t know how to do. But maybe its not really a big deal.

    So I’m gonna watch you kill that dragon and then I will have the study guide. ;-)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think it can be very easy to do a self-published book on Amazon. I also think that you get out of it what you put into it. I don’t think the actual process is very hard, it’s ensuring your “product” is high quality and then the promotion side of it. After I go through the whole process I might actually do the study guide as a few posts :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

