Speak Easy

PHOTO PROMPT © Erin Leary

PHOTO PROMPT © Erin Leary

It had filled my imagination.
My heart skips a beat.
The speakeasy on the water
Chest pounding.
Flappers and rakes
Pulse gone crazy.
Bootleg gin, loud jazz
Can he hear?
The noise had woken him.
A splash.
No one survived. It was blamed on a gang from the city.
He knows I’m here!
Cursed and abandoned, the club crumbled into the lake.
He can smell my blood.
I had heard the stories, but figured they were just that, stories.
He can feel my mind.
But I found the ruins
He’s below the surface.
Something grabs my leg
He’s back!

—-

Word count = 99

A bit of an experiment.  I hope you enjoyed!

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This weeks prompt is here and uses a photo provided by  © Erin Leary   Read more or join in by following the “linky“.

22 thoughts on “Speak Easy

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 2/6/2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! It was easier since the two converge in the end. I kept the “top” story as past tense and the other present until the end when they are both present – he is here, now, grabbing my leg!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

