Weekly Smile Week 5 #weeklysmile

 

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

I actually had a lot to smile about this week. The weather was great, almost spring like. I spent the weekend on Cape Cod for the first time since the beginning of the year. I got a lot done. But I want to talk about a dog and a beach.

When I’m on Cape Cod I go to my favorite beach almost every morning for a long walk. It doesn’t matter if it is warm or cold, as long as I can get there and it isn’t pouring buckets. When I was getting ready to go on Saturday morning Fiyero looked at me with sad eyes. Even though he wasn’t feeling well and hadn’t touched his kibble, I caved in and brought him. This was only the second time he did the morning beach with me.

cChapin Beach (phone)

At first he sniffed around a lot.  I figured that since he wasn’t feeling great he would sniff around then want to leave.  But then after we walked and he sniffed for a while, he decided he wanted to run.  It was a cold morning and the beach was empty so I dropped the leash as I ran with him.  I figured I’d give him some freedom.  He stopped, grabbed the leash and started jumping on me, growling.  I took the leash and he was happy again.  He wanted me to hold the leash!  That had happened the first time we did the beach together.  I had un-hooked the leash from his collar and he went wild jumping on me until I connected it again.  It is funny, but he wants to run with me.  When I would tire, he’d slow down too and wait.  We explored all over.  Together.  One time the sand started getting soft and before I knew it we were sinking almost up to me knees.  Another time we saw a dead baby seal.  I was very sorry for that because I love seals.  I see a lot more animals washed up in the winter, like sharks and rays.

fiyero-1-29-2016

At was a nice, long run.  Fiyero was as happy as I’ve seen him.  He loved every second of it, as long as I was holding the leash.  I guess he takes it as his special “daddy” time.

So that was my smile.  What did you smile about?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the linky. While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

Note – the picture of Chapin Beach is from last autumn. The picture of Fiyero is from 1/29/2016, but was made at Swan Pond, not Chapin Beach. Both photos are from my phone.

31 thoughts on “Weekly Smile Week 5 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: A to Z SuperBowl 50 – In the Zone

  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 2/6/2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. Pingback: An Ogungquit Smile | Lillie-Put

        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I have two cats besides the two dogs. One is very personable and wants to be with me when I’m around and involved in everything. the other is a little stand-offish, but then , when it pleases her, she can be very cuddly, just on her terms…

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. Tessa

            I have a standoffish cuddle me when I want and no picking up. I rescued her and she is one traumatized cat. The only person she really likes is my son.

            Like

            Reply
  4. Pingback: Don’t Forget to Look at Everyone’s Smile #weeklysmile | Trent's World (the Blog)

  5. Pingback: Weekly smile: Rock of ages | The Ten Thousand Hour Mama

  6. roweeee

    You would never pick that I was terrified of dogs as I child when you see me embrace them both when I’m out and on blogs. They are so enchanting.
    I was interested to read about your dog wanting to stay on his lead at the beach. Bilbo was like that when we first started going to dog beach but I figured that he wasn’t used to being off the lead. He is an introverted dog too and wasn’t comfortable meeting other dogs and people and it took him quite awhile to feel comfortable. I was pretty sure it was a comfort thing for him. Lady was fine and he relaxed after she settled in. They have each other down there and that’s really boosted his confidence.
    I loved seeing the snow on the beach. Not an Australian experience I can assure you!
    Thanks for the smile and I hope you are having a great week.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Fiyero is funny. He does go to Doggie Daycare at least once a week and he plays with Idina in the woods behind out house like a wild things. Perhaps if Idina were with us they would go play together, but alone he wants to stay on lead. and maybe a few more times out there he’ll be better.
      The snow and ice were on a brackish water pond next to our cottage. There was a little ice on the beach, but nothing like last year or the year before.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Pingback: The Weekly Smile #5…Music, Wine and Pizza | The View from the Porch

  8. Pingback: #Weekly Smile — Sunrise | Wasted Days And Wasted Nights

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      He does have places that he likes to explore off lead, like the woods behind out house, but when we are off on and “adventure” he does like the contact. Funny. He is a very good companion dog.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  9. Pingback: A book and An Angel – #weeklysmile | Solveig Werner

  10. Deborah the Closet Monster

    Despite some car troubles (a time sink, but a small matter in the scheme of things), I’ve had plenty to smile about. A big reason for me to smile is that my family will tomorrow meet the colleague responsible for my being hired into my fantastic new role. So excited for that!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Car problems can be awful. On Monday I spent an hour in the shop, but it was just an oil change, nothing major. I know how much you love your new job. It’s great that your family gets a chance to meet the person responsible for helping you get it. I’m sure you have a huge smile about that!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Deborah the Closet Monster

        I really do! I worked with this colleague in my prior role, and his kind openness as well as his passion for this role … well, they’re why I’m where I am, and why I see him as not only coworker but friend. :)

        A will get his car checked out early this morning. Worst case scenario, we have to buy a new car! I’d prefer not to, and to have a little more buffer in our daily expenses, but … that’s really not such a bad worst case scenario, for us.

        Liked by 2 people

        Reply

Express Yourself

