2016 in a Plastic Brain

Trent - Computer Paint

OK, we are a month into 2016.  Time to be honest – when was the last time you accidentally used “2015”?  Funny thing.  For me the answer is infinite since I moved to 2016 on January 1.  And I changed to 2015 on Jan 1 of last year.  What is so amazing is that before 2015 it usually took me at least two months to get the year correct.  Sometimes by the time I finally got the year figured out, the next year had begun.  But for some reason my brain changed so this year thing isn’t a problem.

Over the years I’ve continued to learn new things, see old things in a totally different way, lose habits and gain habits.  My brain has changed, and despite my age, not always for the worse.  Sometimes, like with that year thing, it is for the better.   At work I’ve had to learn new things lately and I’ve usually succeeded in such a way that the system experts don’t realize i just picked it up, sometimes even making comments to me about others’ grasp of the subject.  I’ve always been a quick study, so that’s not new, but it shows that, yes, you can teach an old dog new tricks.

When I was a kid people thought of the brain as set in stone.  Through genetics you inherited certain intellectual skills.  Through some environmental influences you could make some changes up until you were a teen age or in your early twenties.  after that, the brain just deteriorated and you lost ability.  Now they say that at any age you can change your brain for the better.  IQ isn’t set in your chromosomes at birth, never to be changed.  You can learn to learn, learn to be smarter.  Your brain can change.  they call this plasticity.  Your brain is plastic, changeable, not concrete.

Scientists have always held the brain in wonder, but today more so than in the past.   People are in awe of this bit of grey matter between our ears.

It is up to us, however, to take advantage of it.  For your brain to get better you have to use it, exercise it as a muscle.  Do imaginary push-ups with writing or drawing.  Read.  Learn new things.  Play a musical instrument.  Do something!  Anything! Now!  Your plastic brain demands it!

I’ve been trying, the forever learner.

And so my brain changed and I can remember the year.  Now if I could only change it to remember where I put my car keys…. ;)

Just some nothing, random thoughts on a Tuesday evening.

Digital drawing of Trent from 2014

22 thoughts on “2016 in a Plastic Brain

  1. prior2001

    Hey t – my absolute favorite part about this post was about how succinct you were! Not that I mind reading longggggggg posts – cos there are times for that “sometimes” (ya know) and so in my mind I came here from the coffee post and I assumed that it was going to be long- like reading “the brain that changes” and then u were succinct with grey matter and use it to not lose it!!!
    Well done

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I do tend to get wordy, but then I did make it through the A-Z posts you’ve been putting up so I guess I’m not the only one ;) Thanks, glad you liked it!

      Like

      Reply
      1. prior2001

        Ha! U are funny – and I did not at all mean that you get wordy –
        I have never felt that with u ever – I just meant the topic of the brain seemed complicated – and maybe because I was recently teaching about the balance in the cerebellum and how olfaction is the only sense that does not go thru the thalamus – goes straight to the bulbs – so it was my brain’s perception – lol – but I think I are the kind of writer that edits as you go – or it seems that way – 😳
        And not all my A to Z s this month will be as long as the Hopper ones – well maybe a couple will – but they are more for me – and maybe a few readers later on – if that makes sense….. But my biggest aim is to just do something fresh right now –

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I did rite that comment with a big smile ;) With long A-Z I was also thinking the health and supplements one. But no worries – I was just pulling your leg. I sometimes worry that my posts get long but, really, I don’t care. If I’m interested I read a post no matter the length, if not, I don’t.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. prior2001

            Same here and I actually plan to dive into your fiction a bit at some point – and best wishes with your book!!!
            But your writing that I do have exposure to reminds me of your artwork – where your math side creeps in and you are calculated – but still let your art show through…. Does that make sense?

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 2/6/2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. davidprosser

    I’m afraid car keys may be beyond you Trent. I believe they occupy a twilight world slipping in and out of our reality in some random way.Six days out of seven you may be lucky to find them where you left them but then the temporal field fluctuates and on the sevenh day you’re beggared and have to find their new landing spot. I think once we master time travel we’ll be OK.
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m pretty sure the keys are with “the other sock”. “The other sock” is the sock that goes missing on laundry day. The socks never leave the house, yet one vanishes never to be found. I have a bag full of single socks. Every so often I look, but, no,there is never a pair in that bag. So whatever 7th dimensional hiding spot the socks find, I think the keys occasionally go for a visit, just to see how all of the socks are doing, but then return after a while and show up exactly where I’ve looked 2374 times before.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. camilledefleurville

    I am in awe of the plasticity of brain when I see The Girls (watch them would be more exact). It is unbelievable how much things are different in different “sections” of their brain: the things that are so deeply ingrained they canot change; those for acquiring new practical knowledge; some for acquiring intellectual knowledge; the power to make links or connect data that are not visibly to be linked, skipping from “a” to “c” or “d” without going through “b” or “b” and “c”; and so on. I understand my brain better while observing them. And the power of the “gey cells” is incredible!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m sure you do understand it better through the Girls. People who learn different than most, some people even doubting their ability to learn, and yet they read history and other such things and learn, even if in their own way. Of course everyone has some mental rigidity and those with “handicaps” are even more rigid than most, but there is still flexibility there. We are plastic, all of us. And the power of those grey cells really is incredible!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

