If Were Having Coffee – 1/30/2016

Weekend Coffee on Cape Cod

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a mug of nice strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or some other (nonalcoholic) beverage.  So, where in the world am i today?  Some of you may recognize the picture as being from Cape Cod.  Yes, this is my first visit since the very beginning of the year.

I worked yesterday, but that’s OK since it was a grey day.  I still made it outside and got smell the salt air.  I’ve already had a long walk run on the beach with Fiyero this morning.  It’s a bright, sunny day and you can bet I’ll be outside a lot today!

Right now Nina Simone is singing in French in the background.  I’m still listening to more than my normal allotment of Bowie, but have also stretched my range back out again to encompass everything from chant to 21 century classical, jazz from Jellyroll Morton and King Oliver to Esperanza Spalding and beyond, pop and rock from the 50s to today, fold, and on and on and….

It was a very interesting week.  The big snow storm missed New Hampshire.  It did hit here on Cape Cod, but by the time I got here Thursday evening most of the snow was gone.  Work was very busy, more so than usual even.  In fact, I actual got a call from work Sunday evening.  Yes, it was one of those weeks ;)  I didn’t get as much done at home as i would have liked since I just felt a bit dead when I got home from work, but it wasn’t a wasted week.  It was actually pretty good.  Wednesday afternoon I walked out and the air smelled and felt like mid-March instead of late-January.  And looking at the forecast ahead, we are having March like weather.  In one way I won’t miss it if we skip on over to Spring, but on the other hand, I am not looking forward to a scorching summer!

Blogging went well this week.  This has been my best month for all numbers.  Well, I’m a few short for number of discrete visitors, but I am close enough that I may pass it before the month is done.

I did a little work on the various pages on my blog.  The one I spent the most time on and had updated on Sunday (I’m behind again) was my Fiction page.  After finishing it I discovered that I have posted over 110 short stories (not including the Halley Branch) in about 2 years.  I put up a rare Sunday post about it and with the news that I’m going to take some of them and do a self-published book of short stories.  I may also rewrite my “Frank” series and put out a self-published “middle-grade” book.  After putting out the idea of self-publishing on Sunday, I followed on Monday by saying I still want to attempt the “Traditional” route for my two books, “The Fireborn” and “The Halley Branch”.

Solveig posted a great poem/list about who she is.  I decided to follow suit and on Tuesday put up my own poem, “I Am“.  Wednesday I put up my Weekly Smile, this one about an ordinary worker that was recognized in an extraordinary way.  On Thursday I posted a Flash Fiction story for the Friday Fictioneer.  And then on Friday I posted a short story about 7th century London.

Well, that’s about it.  As i said earlier, I’m planning on being outside as much as possible today.  Sure, it’s January, but doesn’t that make being outside even more important?

And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

34 thoughts on “If Were Having Coffee – 1/30/2016

  1. roweeee

    Precipitation seems to be hitting everywhere…heavy rain here, heavy snows in parts of the USA. We’ve had more heavy rain here, trees uprooted at the beach and power surge/lightening damage with the computers at G’s work.
    I’ve been drawn towards writing about our Aboriginal people lately. Today my son came home from school and he has to look at poetry by Aboriginal Australians. I am pretty well read on my poets and right around the word but I have never read a poem by an Aboriginal Australian but at least I’ve heard of one so I have now read one. I’ll be posting that soon. I am ashamed that I could study Australian Literature for 2 years at university and never have to study an Aboriginal poet. It doesn’t reflect well on our country, does it!!
    By the way, I’ve been meaning to try to find my Bowie CD but I’ve definitely been singing Bowie in my head.
    Hope you have a great week!
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      In ways I feel the same way about the natives here. Their culture fascinates me and it just makes me so sad how awful we have treated them and still treat them. And even though it fascinates me, I know very little about it.

      I hope you also have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
      1. roweeee

        The trouble I’ve found is that we mostly don’t realise how little we know or how far we still need to go. That’s the nature of ignorance. There has been some great progress here and so we thinking we’re doing well but we were starting off from such a low base and such ignorance and exclusion, that we still can’t appreciate how much still lies ahead. I can see myself exploring and writing more about this, which is interesting because it wasn’t part of “the plan”. I’m more about raising awareness about disability but once you’re eyes have been opened to a situation, you can’t just close them again. At least, I can’t.
        Hope you have a great week too and I’ll be doing a smile this week. Last week was a bit crazy.
        xx Rowena

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          We’ve made very little progress here. It wasn’t so long that the native population were the inhuman villains in movies. We’re a little better than that now, but not much.
          Have a great week. Looking forward to your smile.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. roweeee

            I am looking forward to my smile too. I’m back to the dentist again tomorrow with a niggley problem with my tooth. Wrote 6 poems on my last trip so let’s see how I go tomorrow. Or, perhaps I might even read my book. It’s about 90 minutes on the train to get there.
            Hope you have a great week xx Rowena

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I know they say not to pay too much attention to the stats, but I’m a numbers nerd. I hope your stats continue to rise this year. Thanks on the “Who Am I/I Am” poem. It was great exercise. You should try it. I hope you have a great week too!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Fresh air and sun sounds great! I did get out quite a bit today. We are going to have a warm (for NH in February) spell the next few days, so, despite work, I’m going to try to get out.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      When other of my favorite musicians have passed away I’ve played their music, but for some reason I’m much more fixated on Bowie than I have any of the others. It is comforting to listen.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Solveig

    Have a great weekend Trent! I am trying to make the most of ours, the weather is less than nice making it a not so fun trip. But I have had some fun adventures today that I’ll be sharing soon.
    Congratulations on your numbers :) and thank you for the shoutout :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I just got back home from my weekend on the Cape. So far it’s been great! I hope you have a great weekend despite the the weather and also a good week ahead!

      Like

      Reply
  3. bettylouise31

    The weather is the big news here along with the armed protesters at a Wildlife Refuge.. There are thunderclouds around early in the with a forecast of scattered thunderstorms.. Good luck with your short stories.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Where I am now the weather was huge news last weekend, but it was for the entire east coast… I have read a lot about the armed protesters in Oregon. The captured several and killed one but four are still holed up. It seems odd to be talking thunderstorms in January or early February, particularly up north!

      have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      You should! I didn’t spend as much time with mine as I should have and thought of so much more to say once it was done, but it is a good way to think about yourself and to let others know how you see yourself, or at least a small slice of yourself.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Donna. The Coffee share posts are great and I’ve met quite a few bloggers on it. Some weekend when you have a few spare minutes you should join.

      I read you post but missed that it was your blog party. I remember you talking about it in another post but for some reason missed it. I’ll have to join the fun! Thanks for reminding me :)
      I hope you have a great weekend and week ahead.

      Like

      Reply
  4. prior2001

    Hi T! I love that mid-March smell that u refer to! And such a nice way to enjoy the seasons – to notice their smells and essence – and I hear you about not being quite ready for scorching summers – not quite yet! Sorry I missed the smile challenge this week – I will join in again next month.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hi Y! It’s often an intangible thing, but it just feels a certain way. I think on thing is the top couple of inches of soil had thawed releasing the grassy, muddy scent. Not sure, except it didn’t seem like January! No problem missing the Weekly Smile, though I do keep each of them open for a week, so you’re not too late to join this week!
      I hope you have a great week with a little less snow!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. prior2001

        Well I bet the soil thaw was a key part of it! On a few road trips we have taken we could actually smell the sea with the salty air as we got closer – and glad you leave the challenge open for the week – sometimes with so many challenges I forget when certain ones start and end – lol – but it makes it easy if it runs a full 7 days.
        And best wishes with your self-publishing! I think it is a smart way to go – especially for starting.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
                  1. prior2001

                    Yes – I have been on a special diet since 2014 – I can sneak in some stuff – but doing a long term “system” cleanse and rebuild – such a long story for another time perhaps – but right now I want to go and click that link to your post from earlier this week –

                    Liked by 1 person

                    Reply

Express Yourself

