Weekly Smile Week 4 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

(I am going to have to leave out a lot detail for today’s smile. Look * at the end for more info)

Yesterday I was walking the parking lot at work and noticed a new sign for our facility. (Note – I have worked at the facility for a very long time, but for several years I have not worked with anyone there.) The sign might have been there for a while, but it was at the main entrance and I usually go in a side door. It is also partially hidden from the parking lot by construction, so I had only half noticed it in the past and thought it was an older sign.

The sign was made from a large slab of granite. Engraved near the top was a name. Under it was the old name of the facility. When the facility had turned 50 a few years ago some people submitted a request that it be named after an employee who was there the day the doors opened. Well, a change like that would require an act of congress. Literally. And one happened, a rare bipartisan issue with a unanimous vote in both the House and the Senate.

So last year the name was officially changed to honor an employee who had been there at that time about 52 years previously.

So I noticed the sign yesterday and smiled. You see, the employee, currently the Administrative Assistant in the front office, is still alive and still works at my facility. A “secretary” for most of her career she sees the sign with her name written in large letters in granite sign every day. She’s not a millionaire, not a war hero, not a big shot, she’s an assistant, a secretary, but a lot of people think she is a very important, so important Congress actually honored her by naming an important facility after her.

So there is my smile.  It is a smile for the normal, hardworking person out there.  Sometimes all of that hard work is recognized.  And I smiled because this happened while she was alive and she gets to be rewarded everyday as she comes in to work.  Isn’t that so nice?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the linky. While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

* – I don’t like to mention where I work in this blog. I’m sure you could figure it out using Google, but I don’t want to talk about it for many reasons. No, it’s not a military installation and I don’t work for an Intelligence agency. It’s nothing like that. It isn’t controversial or anything. There is something about public sector that I don’t want to bring it up. Also, I don’t want to name names unless I tell the person, so no name of the person honored. Again, knowing where I live and using Google someone could find it if they wanted to, pretty easily. It is not a secret. That being said, sorry I have to be so secretive, but I feel I must.

30 thoughts on “Weekly Smile Week 4 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: If Were Having Coffee – 1/30/2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: Weekend Coffee Share: 30th January 2016 | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think she is very tickled. She’s relatively modest so doesn’t go out her way to show it. I wish more ordinary employees in the world were so recognized. It is a very big smile :)

      Like

      Reply
  3. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    That is a great smile Trent. So seldom do those hard working background people get noticed. I’d like to see more of it especially with the honours we give out on Australia Day. A few unknown people get recognised for what they have done in the community but largely it is the well-known and, sports personalities and I feel they are well paid to do what they do where these men and women volunteering doing wonderful work aren’t. Gosh you set me off on a rant. Sorry but I loved your smile. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I wish the “small people”, the normal people, the hard working people would be remembered more often. It is nice when they are. So no problem with your little rant, because I agree :)

      Like

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Laughter Yoga : The Weekly Smile | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  5. Pingback: Being Thankful | ladyleemanila

  6. Pingback: The Creation of Smiles #WeeklySmile | Solveig Werner

  7. Pingback: Weekly Smile –Henry | Wasted Days And Wasted Nights

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is good! Of course i thought it was great when it happened, but yesterday when I saw that sign with her name in hard granite, it really struck me of how big of a thing it was to celebrate an “ordinary” person.

      Like

      Reply
  8. sonyaliraphotography

    That is such a wonderful tribute to this lady who has worked there all these years. I am sure it makes her day every day when she sees the sign. I finally started my volunteering last week and yesterday the people at the memory care/ assisted living place made me smile. They are truly very positive people and they all seem so happy.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is a great tribute.

      It’s great that you are volunteering. I think I remember you mentioning at the beginning of the year that you were planning on doing it. It’s great that they can make you smile. I know that often the cases can be very sad and that it can affect the caregivers. When it does look a little darker you just have to remind yourself that you are helping another human being. But right now it doesn’t look like you need it – that the people themselves are the reward. Great!

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

