So Traditional

My Book

Yesterday I stated that I was very seriously thinking about self publishing a book of short stories and possibly a separate short book based on my “Frank” stories.  There is one thing I want to add today:  I still am trying to have the two books I’ve written traditionally published.  I’m doing a lousy job of it since I’ve only written a small handful of agents, an not a one in at least 6 months.  Still, it is my goal.

OK, I know so many of you out there are self published and you are most likely rolling your eyes.  I have nothing against self published authors.  My big concern is that I’m one of the worlds worst marketers and no I’ll get maybe 3 sales if i self publish.  With my short stories I don’t care.  With my two babies, I mean books?  Hmmm…. I know, never say never.

So, holdout for a while and shop them around or just bite the bullet and self publish – what do you think?

35 thoughts on “So Traditional

  1. Pingback: If Were Having Coffee – 1/30/2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. lifeconfusions

    Well marketing IS a huge part of the whole process and it makes a whole lot of difference so I think if you find yourself being unable to market yourself, self-publishing is probably not the best option. If you have put so much work in writing your book then a whole lot of people should get to read it too. Just my two cents :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks for your two cents :) I am 99% sure i will self publish the short stories, but I’ll still work on going the traditional route for the books. Perhaps in a year, two years I’ll take one of them and self-publish it and continue with the other. We’ll see.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I know I have to put a lot of work into finding an agent. Unfortunately I haven’t been very good at sending query letters and really need to start doing them again. Do you have a new book you’re shopping around to agents?

      Like

      Reply
      1. Vashti Quiroz-Vega

        I’m working on my Fantasy Angels Series. The first book in the series is ready but I’m half way through the second one. I want to have at least two books ready before I begin to query them. I am collecting agent information through Writer’s Digest and other sites. I want to get a long list of agents because at want to send a bunch of queries out at once. The whole waiting process is what I hate about taking the traditional route.

        Like

        Reply
  3. Carol Masciola

    I think for the short stories it will be tough — there aren’t a lot of short story collections getting published these days. You might consider self-publishing those, but try to get an agent for the books. There’s my two cents!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      If I put out the short stories, they will be self published (I’m about 99% sure I will – I have about 130 to chose from!) I will try for the agent for the two novels. Thanks for the input!

      Like

      Reply
  4. davidprosser

    No use biting the bullet if you’re going to have regrets straight afterwards Trent. Start trying for an agent again but set yourself a time limit. Remember that even if you get an agent they have to dell the book to a publisher and then it can take 2 years to publication. When your time limit is up, if you don’t have an agent go down the self publish route. Your books can still be picked up by an agent/publisher from there and a contract offered for more.
    Best of luck whatever method you choose. You’ll find advertising the books can be fun and not onerous in the end.
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks for the advice, David. I know it is a time consuming process, but part of that time would be forcing me to make the book as good as it can be. We’ll see. I am going to self-publish the short stories, so that’s not a big question. It’ll be a good place to start.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Mary-Michael Hanbury

    Trent, forgive me if I make suggestions you have already tried. I am assuming you have been submitting your short stories to lots of different mags and online publications? It would be great if those can get picked up and submitting is relatively painless. But the books/babies definitely the traditional route. If you can get some of the short stories published or already have several published that’s a feather in your cap for publishing houses. All I can say is never, ever, give up!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Actually, that is a great suggestion. I have submitted a few stories, but it has been a while. I should do more. Like I said, I’m awful at pushing myself out there, which includes submitting of every kind.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yes, I know i have to set a time frame. What I might do is set a time frame for my first book. Self publish it. Shop the second. Set a time frame for it. Etc…. We’ll see. Hopefully not decades, though ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Robin Rivera

    You will need to market your book either way, but at least with a publisher you will have some support, how much depends on the publisher. However, short stories are almost impossible to get a publishing deal for, you might as well send those out into the world and see what happens. You might find out you love marketing. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yeah, I know they expect authors to do a lot marketing these days. If I do a book of short stories it will be self-published. But we’ll see how it goes :)

      Like

      Reply
  7. eloisedesousa

    You have to do what’s right for you. I’m absolutely awful at marketing myself and end up apologising for mentioning my work too often to people! I’m still trying the traditional route and that is my ultimate dream too, but bear in mind they can drop your book if sales are not high enough. Many an author has gone back to the start line after the traditional route failed them. I think everyone expects us to put in a load of effort on marketing, whether we choose the self-published way or the traditional.
    Good luck either way Trent and I’m sure you will be successful. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Eloise! You’ve put out a few books – I really liked Deception! I hope you do get traditionally published some day. Yeah, I know publishing companies do put a lot on authors these days and they do drop books that don’t do well. Oh well, I don’t think I’ll be another Steven King, unless you say how many stories I put on my blog compared to how many books he published ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. Solveig

    I think that if you get yourself a marketing team of loyal readers together then nothing will stand in the way of success.
    I am really bad at self marketing, but I don’t mind knocking on doors and writing emails when it comes to marketing for others… There is a blogger whose book I absolutely adore, but she is rubbish at marketing it, and it has potential, I did review it, and try to tweet my review every once in a blue moon (ah we will have a true blue moon this year) :)

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Maybe I do need a marketing team, but that team may be sick of my books after a while ;) I’ve done a few reviews of fellow bloggers’ books until I hit one I didn’t care for. I should do more. We’ll see. I am 99% sure I’ll do the short stories and 85% sure I’ll do Frank as self-published. I’ll see how it goes. And then….

      Like

      Reply
  9. LionAroundWriting

    We’re in the same boat.
    I’m going into labour with one book, and an edit away from the waters breaking, that I think is worth trying to get published, so that’s my primary route.
    Short stories I’m gonna self-publish and like you, if they sell they sell, if they don’t they don’t. It’ll be dipping my toes in the water.
    Good luck with it all!

    Like

    Reply

Express Yourself

