If We Were Having Coffee – 1/23/2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a large mug of French Roast or a cuppa tea or some hot cocoa.  The air here feels damp even though it is far below freezing and hasn’t been above freezing in quite a while.  So, in damp, frigid weather you need some type of warm beverage.  The good thing is that it isn’t snowing here.  And where is here?  Some of you may recognize that rough-wood synth stand and know I am in New Hampshire.  And do you know what is great about NH this weekend?  The storm of the century is passing south of us and we will get little if any snow.  That is also the answer to why it has been a while since I’ve been on Cape Cod – it has been projected to snow here or there every weekend and I don’t want to travel in bad conditions.  This weekend they are predicting a foot of snow and 60 mph (100 kph!) winds.  I’ll stay in NH, thank you very much.  Wouldn’t be a good day on the beach.

Even though I had Monday off it has been a busy week.  It seems as if a lot went on last weekend.  yes, there was clearing snow and ice.  And trying to help somebody stuck at the top of an icy hill.  It just seems that every time i got settled something else came up.  Work was busy but not as busy as some weeks.  I didn’t feel I accomplished as much as it does some other weeks, though I did get a lot of background work done.

It has been a very busy blogging week.  I posted four new short stories.  OK, three of them were 100 word flash fiction stories based on the same photo prompt.  They were all very different, one a commentary on fame in pop music, one a ghost story and one a bit of experimental writing in the form of a piano sonata.  I also wrote a longer, though still less than 750 word, piece of speculative fiction.  The three flash fiction stories were for Friday Fictioneer – check out more stories by others!

On Monday I posted the video I had been working on over the weekend.  Well, trying – I kept getting interrupted.  But I did finish.  It is a bit of fun.  I wrote a stupid poem on Tuesday.  Well, that may be a harsh judgement and the picture of Josie is very cute ;)  The poem is true, though.  I had written a “serious” poem trying to say something meaningful on an important subject.  I have never written a worse piece of drivel in my life!  So this was written as a response, kind of laughing at myself.

I did a post for this month’s 1000Speak on Forgiveness.  My piece  was general outline on why it is so hard to write about, but I hope I made some people think and there was some good conversation.  The 1000Speak in general was relatively small, but there were some great posts.  Check them out here.

Last but not least was this week’s Weekly Smile.  Here is the linky if you want to check what others smiled about or add your own smile.

So a lot of blogging!

And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

24 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 1/23/2016

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It does take a lot of time. I may take a short semi-break where I only read the handful of blogs from people that I actually communicate with, like you, just to give me a little more time.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. prior2001

    Wow – you are not getting any of this snow? We have not had it as bad as some places – but a lot of wind and it was so funny because the dogs could barely get through it in the yard just now – and they were not minding though!
    And let’s see – green tea please?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Green tea, coming up! Our dogs love the deep snow and I think are disappointed that we haven’t had any. I know our place on the Cape is getting battered by the winds and I thing they say 18″ of snow. But here? Nope. i saw a few flakes and there might be a light dusting as the low passes by, but that’s it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. bettylouise31

    I have been reading the strom on the East Coast. We haven’t had much snow this year mostly rain and snow at higher elevations. My smile for this week is for the lovely pot luck this month. The main couse was a baked potato with all the trimings. I like you comment on length of books and what they are called. I seldom read short stories as I am through them so fast. 😊😆😸

    I

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It has been cold here, just so little snow compared to usual. The few times precipitation has come our way it has warmed up enough to be rain then gotten cold again, covering everything with ice. The pot luck sounds good. Was it for an event? I don’t know if my story lengths are “industry standard”, but i did take a quick look on Google and it seems close.
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Nancy

    Stay warm! Sometimes the busiest weeks are the ones where we don’t feel like much gets accomplished! Life itself is such a time consuming thing! I enjoyed your “silly song” btw!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Carol J Forrester

    A foot of snow, we’re lucky if we get a quick flurry here in Crewe. Our weather is mostly damp and miserable.
    It’s always encouraging to hear that a writer’s had a productive week, mine’s been mostly poetry instead of flash fictions but I’m hoping to write a bit more prose in the next few months than I have been.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Most winters here (NH) we’d have a two or three feet (or more!) of snow on the ground by late January, but there is very little this year. So though I’m happy the storm is a miss for us, a lot of people around here are actually grumbling about how little snow we’ve had. (The foot for this storm was at my cottage that I visit every couple of weeks.)
      Sometimes I do get in these writing moods and can pump out the short fiction. Poetry is a lot more work for me. But at least you’ve been creative, and that’s the key.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Good question! The answer? I don’t know…. I have put up stories of 5000 words and more and called them “short stories”. I call the 100 word stories “short stories”, but I also call them “short shorts” or “flash fiction”. To me a short story is anything less then about 17000 words (longer is a novella) and includes flash fiction and short-shorts. I call anything of 100 words or less a “short short” but most people consider that old fashioned or quaint and call very short works “flash fiction”. I have seen definitions that short fiction/short story is over 100 words, but I don’t get that picky.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I think I have heard of micro fiction. I think there is also an intermediary between “short story” and “novella”, the “novellette”, between 7,500 and 17,500 words, but I never have really heard it used.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

Express Yourself

