Our Sonata

PHOTO PROMPT © Jan W. Fields

PHOTO PROMPT © Jan W. Fields

Allegro – She stormed into the room with a flurry, setting down a theme of drunken nights and abuse. I answered with a more lyric tale of love and hope. Then the argument began as we picked apart each other’s words and phrases. Finally we repeated ourselves, but this time I was as downcast as her.

Adagio – I had a few moments of dark reflection, going through several scenarios, but always returning to my first downcast thoughts.

Vivace – Hope against hope, she returned! Again we each voiced our argument, but this time they complemented and we ended in an uplifting mood.

Word count = 100 (including the tempo marks)

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This weeks prompt is here and uses a photo provided by Jan W. Fields.  Read more or join in by following the “linky“.

Oh, I know, I know, three of them on this prompt!  I can’t help it, it’s a theme that is stuck in my mind.  I apologize if you are tired of my stories on this photo.

In ways the story is more of  Mozart or Clementi sonata than a Beethoven one, though I think they would have used a Rondo as the third movement while I hinted at another Sonata Form movement, but in major.  On the other hand, by the description it very well could have been a Rondo.  I’ll leave it to the musicologists to decipher the words ;)

Here is the first movement of my Beethoven inspired Sonata in g minor

 

9 thoughts on “Our Sonata

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Suzanne! One thing to keep in mind – Although I composed all of the music I post unless otherwise stated (i.e., I posted a David Bowie video recently which I obviously didn’t write), I didn’t play everything, at least not on the classical music – I did play all parts on the rock/pop/jazz I’ve posted. So my piano playing isn’t quite as good as what you heard here!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I’ve tried to write stories using musical forms once or twice before, but I think this one worked better than the others. On the other hand, I wasn’t sure how successful I really was since nobody had comment until now.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 1/23/2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

Express Yourself

