If We Were Having Coffee – 1/16/2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice hot mug of very strong French Roast or a cuppa tea, some hot cocoa or other warm beverage.  You’ll need it since even though it is much warmer today than its been all week, it is doing something nasty outside, someplace between rain, snow, ice and sleet.  And where is “here”?  By that fabulous coffee stained mug you may guess we are in New Hampshire today.

It has been some week, huh? There was the loss of a great musician and a great actor plus a few more that went under the RADAR after those two, like Celine Dion’s husband and the actor who played Grizzly Adams.  People of my generation lost part of the soundtrack to their youth while the millennials lost the face of their favorite ultra-complex-not-quite-villain.

On the personal side, the week is a blur.  I finally got two humidifiers running, a week or too late, but it has helped immensely.  I’ve obviously been listening to a lot of David Bowie, including his last 2 albums, The Next Day and Black Star.  I’ve been playing with some music and hope to record this weekend.  And working.  A lot going on with work, mostly good.

I had another very busy blogging week.  I posted 4 (3 1/2) short stories this week.  I started the week on Monday with a little twisting tale where you must expect the unexpected.  I also participated in The Friday Fictioneers twice (100 words or less).  The first was a sci-fi story that many found confusing.  With that miss I decided to do a more straight forward fantasy that at least one person hated.  Not the type to let go, I did a less than 500 word version of the first sci-fi story so it could be fleshed out a bit and hopefully be more understandable.  (I also did a 75 word story in reply to the person who hated the fantasy.)

The Weekly Smile has not attracted nearly as much attention this week as last.  There have been some great smiles, which you should read (linky!), but not many.  I did my first post on Wednesday and a reminder on Friday.

Finishing up the week I did a Tuesday Poem as usual, this one about depression (mostly about losing people) and hope.  On Thursday I did a small tribute to David Bowie, looking at how his music influenced my creativity.

I hope to spend the next two days recording so I may not be able to read as many posts as I’d like – it usually takes about 4 hours a day to read everyone’s posts (all posts, not just coffee posts) so on busy days I don’t get to them all.  That means if I want time to be creative I can’t read the blogs.  Not having time to record has been driving me crazy, so I will try to stay away most of today.  I will try to get back at some point and read most of the coffee posts, but if I miss you it is nothing personal.

And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

43 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 1/16/2016

  1. jackiemallon

    Sounds like my week might have followed a similar pattern to yours. I don’t know if Bowie’s death has hit me doubly because we were living in the same adopted city. I think geographical proximity emphasizes my nostalgia and love of his music… I’m trying to understand my feelings about it.
    Hope you’re enjoying delving into his back catalogue, new stuff and all the rest. I have fallen down a rabbit hole and I can’t get out. But it’s a happy place. Play on and RIP, David!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It could be, an expat from the British Isles living in NYC. I haven’t been as affected as many, but for me the essence is this – on another blog somebody wrote that next year there will be someone around to replace him. But the point is, there won’t! He was such an original that it will be a long time before someone like that comes along.
      Anyway, I’m back to my normal routine and only listen to about 1/2 hour or 45 minutes of Bowie a day now. And listening is a happy place.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Dale

    Boy has it ever been a rough start to 2016. All these stars dropping like flies (imagine, Celine’s brother died two days after her husband…)
    I have been having a difficult time keeping up with my reading. You should see my inbox… scary stuff. I would have to sit here for hours and hours… sadly won’t be able to but will try my best! Have a great week, Trent!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Diana! Yes a very strange and sad week all around. Some good stuff personally, but awful stuff for the world. I hope the wedding you went to went well and that you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Nancy

    Sounds like “icky” weather and a busy week! I had missed your David Bowie post earlier in the week so I was glad I could go back and check it out. He was an amazing artist and quite an original. Aside from music, I loved his performance in “Labyrinth”. Can’t tell you how many times I watched that movie when I was younger.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The weather yesterday was pretty “icky”. It’s a bit better today, but it’s going to get very cold this week.
      David Bowie was an amazing artist. He was very good in the handful of movies I’ve seen him in, but yes, Labyrinth was great.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. brittabottle

    I have never been so genuinely sad about the death of a celebrity until I heard about Alan Rickman. Harry Potter will always be a part of my childhood and Professor Snape is one of those characters that just stays with you. I can’t possibly imagine anyone else playing him in the films. It has, indeed, been quite a week for deaths.
    My week has been okay. Can’t complain. Really tiring and there’s a lot going on in my head right now, but I’m getting places. Internally, at least. And that’s a really good thing. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Alan Rickman was such a talented actor and he pulled off Snape better than anyone alive could have. It was by far the most interesting character in the films (I only read the first book, but I’m assuming there too) and he was able to pull of all of the subtleties.
      Continuing your inner journey – that is such a big part of life, though most of us forget about it from time to time. I can see how being dropped in the middle of a different culture would bring it to the forefront! I’m glad it is going well.

      Like

      Reply
  5. roweeee

    Thanks for the coffee, Trent. Will read your David Bowie tribute. Sorry I haven’t smiled yet. I have been focused on following up from my son’s time at the Australian Scouting Jamboree and didn’t want to break the chain.
    After busting a gut getting his room ready, I’ve slacked off considerably and need to start getting myself moving again for the start of the new school year.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hi Rowena, thanks for stopping by! I’m not trying to make anybody feel guilty about the smile (not too much any way ;) ) Yep, I’ve been reading your posts and you have been busy. And with the new school year to prepare for, I’m sure you’ll continue to be busy for a while. And I’m thinking of slowing down on the blog a bit myself – I need time for some of the other parts of my life!
      I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. roweeee

        I was definitely smiling yesterday, Trent. I was out on my Dad’s yacht enjoying the good life. I was pretty much ballast but have a steer. I know I’ve mentioned Australian wildlife a bit on my blog and it really has been an unintended theme. However, my son and I took the dogs for a walk along the beach around sunset and these guys could two baby bronze whaler sharks off our beach. That concerned me. The lad was poking and tormenting them. He wants to be a marine biologist.I really love your smile share idea but it’s hard writing in a series and want to maintain the flow.
        I hope you have a great week too! xx

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Sailing sounds so fun right now, being ballast or no. I’m usually ballast, or perhaps a nicer way of saying it is a passenger, but I do enjoy it.
          Sometimes I have a very specific idea of where I want to go on the blog and I don’t really participate in many events. Other times I welcome the excuse to take someone else’s topic! You can sit on the sidelines and read everyone’s posts or jump in and join, up to you :)
          Have a great day!

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. roweeee

            It is interesting how your smile a week concept has made it’s way into my psyche. I was down at the beach on Monday night with my son and the dogs when a guy caught a small shark. I’ve never a shark outside of a tank before so I was shocked, then intrigued. My son had wandered down the beach oblivious to what was going on and when I finally caught his attention was rivetted. Couldn’t keep his hands off it. That’s when I noticed that the shark’s mouth looks like a frown and when you turn it upside down, you get a smile. Stay tuned for my post! xx Rowena

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              Looking forward to shark frowns turned to smiles ;) If you are in the ocean, there is usually a shark within a couple of hundred yards/meters 99.9% of them won’t hurt you, but on those occasions – I there are occasionally problems with great whites in Australia and with a recent boom in seal population we’ve been getting them a lot on Cape Cod.

              Like

              Reply
  6. prior2001

    Hi T – I will have to come back and read your Bowie post – really crazy when an icon passes – and the song I think of most is “let’s dance” – if that is the name – but can here it playing in the early 80’s and even recall a porch of my cousin’s – and remember songs from the Police were big too –
    anyhow, coffee with milk is good for me today – no thanks on the french toast this week – :)
    and hope your recording is going well.
    for me – hope to do a double yoga class on sunday – sometimes i do this hot yoga class and then move right into a regular class and it is truly awesome – the same instructor teaches both and sometimes modifies for those of us who take both –

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      yep, I remember the “Let’s Dance”, “China Girl”, era. Not my favorite music of his, but shows how he could make any style his own.
      Recording is going OK but very slow – so much else keeps coming up to interrupt me.
      I did yoga ll of last winter but dropped it when I was too busy running, kayaking, hiking, etc. I meant to pick it back up this winter, but so far haven’t been able to. I do use what I’ve learned when I do other exercise routines, but I should start it back up again.
      I hope your week went well and that next week goes well as well (too many wells….). Thanks for joining me for coffee.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. prior2001

        We’ll never too many wells when it comes to well wishes for blogging friends because obviously the well of well wishes runs deep – well that is cheesy but – well – you know!
        And with yoga – you can still just do some poses as needed – that’s the nice thing about it – and I am actually going to later share the little warm ups that I did with Adrienne reed before I was willing to go to classes – long story short is that I thought yoga was not for me cos they always moved too fast – and Adrienne reed’s short sessions pulled me in to the part I never saw- that was in 2013 – and since then I have found classes that I love – but I never expected it-
        Oh and I forgot about China girl too –

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  7. bettylouise31

    Hello again, I note you have been busy. Last week I read the coffee posts first and let my email good also my reading a lot lest. I guessed I have lost tracked of movie and song idols as I don’t recognize the namrs Grissly Adams is somwhat familiar but I think he played Daniel Boone. I may be wrong. Your weather sounds like ours rain, mixed, snow and black ice. Yhe mountains are a gorgeous white of in the distance.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hello! the actor was Dan Haggerty, Grizzly Adams was the character. I never knew his name, but i did know the character very well. It was a movie and a TV show back in the 70s. The others, well, there has been so much on the news and such I’m sure you’ve seen some background.
      It ended up rain here and got relatively warm. I was able to chip all of the ice off of my driveway today. It had been there since just before the New Year.

      I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. Lizl

    Congratulations on your productivity! I look forward to some of that, myself, during the coming week.

    With regard to the celebrity deaths, what my husband and I found … unnerving is that they and we share a birth year. I didn’t know anything about David Bowie, aside from Life on Mars, but one of my favorite movies is Bottle Shock. More often, now, the obituary pages speak of the very old or people younger than ourselves.

    Enjoy your weekend!
    Lizl

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I always enjoy having a productive week.

      I can see how it’s unnerving that you share the same birth year. A little glimpse of mortality.

      Have a great weekend and I hope your week coming up is good!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  9. herheadache

    Sad week, in celebrity deaths and one personal to me, in my own life.
    I wasn’t a huge Bowie fan, but I did like some of his stuff. I am working on writing a tribute to Alan Rickman because I was a fan of him.
    I am interested in your post about Bowie. Off to read it now, and to find out more about the whole smile thing too. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  10. Melissa @ Ever Growing Farm

    Such a sad week, indeed. Interesting to me how everyone’s taking off at once…maybe as a reminder to us all to live each day to its fullest <3

    I'm glad you're setting aside some time for creativity…It really is necessary if one is to ever get anything done, isn't it?

    Take good care! I hope those humidifiers help!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is such a sad week. Although we will miss the talents of those who are gone, they have left such a legacy that we need to celebrate their lives, and, as you said, we need to live each day as fully as possible since it is possible that tomorrow it will be our turn.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  11. Solveig

    Have a great weekend Trent. It has been a strange week. I missed 3 days of blogging… So that means my weekly smile post will be out either today or tomorrow I think. I really wanted to do it yesterday, but I did not find the time, by the looks of it I might do a list post.
    I think it will grow over time.
    I will soonish do a post with the events that are worth participating in and I’ll give weekly smile a shout out :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Express Yourself

