Friday Fictioneer – The Stairway

PHOTO PROMPT © Amy Reese

PHOTO PROMPT © Amy Reese

A long day behind her, Madelaine was glad to be home.

Key in hand, she stopped short.

Was that stairway always there? Wasn’t a laundromat between the pub and her apartment’s entrance? The stairs were old, how could she have missed them? And the trees, how could they be there? Was there a hidden courtyard?

She looked around. Nobody else noticed, they just walked by without a glance.

Curiosity piqued, Madelaine climbed the stairs.

At the top she found herself in an industrial wasteland surrounded by decrepit buildings, overgrown and dirty.

Madelaine turned to go.

The stairs were gone.

Word count = 100

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This weeks prompt is here and uses a photo provided by Amy Reese.  Read more or join in by following the “linky“.  (Yes, this was my second one this week.  The first one I posted seemed to only cause confusion)

44 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneer – The Stairway

  1. theangrybookworm

    Reminds me of a stairway/bridge I had to go through on my way to and from classes back in school. It was over train-tracks and it had a frightening sign, which suggested that it was liable to collapsing :D I feel sorry for the woman, she’s trapped in no-man’s land or is she… :o

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Cross at your own risk – I’m sure it doesn’t build confidence to see that everyday. Unfortunately for the woman in the story I only had 100 words to work with so I could only get her there. It would take quite a few more words to get her back ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hehehehe, I can’t just leave you hanging? I might go back and write more. I’m not sure. Part of the fun of a 100 word story is that it can come to and end and yet ask more questions than it answered.

      Like

      Reply
  2. gahlearner

    I really like this *because* it is Narnia and other portal worlds turned upside down. The other world is usually romantic, pretty and exciting. Here, our world is more desirable. That makes the start of a great story.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 1/16/2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Sorry, I just wasn’t in the mood for gritty reality this week. “I opened my eyes to stop the world from spinning. The stench of cigarette butts, stale urine and broken dreams made me vomit the last of the Mad Dog 20/20 still warming my gut. ‘I want to go home,’ I said to myself. The dim morning light that had filtered through the urban smog to cast its sickly glow on my surroundings reminded me that the litter covered stairs I was lying on was my home. I closed my eyes, hoping I never had to open them again.” No thank you. Didn’t want to go there. A bit of puffy fantasy and feeble portals was all I wanted to do. Maybe next week I’ll go a little deeper….

      Like

      Reply
      1. Thumbup


        trentpmcd, I so would follow my curiosity!

        I want to go visit this park! I am waiting for few people to come along, no way am I going there with less than one people. It’s supposedly haunted.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  4. Pingback: Friday Fictioneers – The Return | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      So Alice (Robyn), have you found yourself behind the looking glass? Sometimes when we are behind the looking glass, down the rabbit hole or up these post-industrial stairs there is no return, we have to create a new reality out of what we have.
      I hope you find less bleak reality soon!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
      1. Blog Woman!!!

        Yes, living in surreal is quite beyond interesting. I am very curious about what will be grown out of all of it. I’ve had some pretty good input about it all lately, and therein lies the keys, I’m sure, to the other side. :)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Express Yourself

