If We Were Having Coffee – 1/2/2016

Breakfast and Beatles (Beatles mugs)

Hello and Welcome! Come on in and I’ll get you a large mug of very strong French Roast!   I can get you a cuppa tea or some hot chocolate if you’d rather. It is beginning to get cold. It’s going to be downright frigid on Monday and Tuesday! But for now it is good, particularly since it isn’t raining, snowing or sleeting. Did you know that there is this large yellow thing in the sky during the day?

And where did I see the sun today? Well, from all of those Beatles mugs you may know I’m on Cape Cod! It is very possible that when you are reading this I’m not any more. I plan on heading back up to New Hampshire early this afternoon. I mean, I have been here since late Sunday night.  I was very productive working around the house in NH last weekend, but I still have stuff to do before returning to work on Monday.

I only worked two days this week and both were pretty slow. A couple of meetings, a slew of emails, and some routine, but overall slow. I teleworked from the Cape, so it was good, though the weather was awful Monday and Tuesday.

After that I spent as much time outside as possible. Not always possible since the weather really didn’t clear up until Thursday afternoon. I was soaked to the bone more than once this week. But I had several walks on the beach (including a very chilly, windy one this morning) and did a paddle on the kayak.

We made it to New Years. I did a lot less reflecting and planning than usual, though I did some. I will continue to do even more, but for some reason this New Year’s seemed less of a deal than most.  I will at some point sit down (actually it will most likely happen when I’m walking) and really put forth ideas I want to follow this year.

Blogging went well this week. This was the last week of my “A Smile a Day”, though I am going to start my Weekly Smile Share on Wednesday. Be sure to catch it! This week I smiled about just turning off the brain, turning on the keyboards and jamming. I also smiled about a silly rap-like rhyme I did. And then there was the smile when I left work on Tuesday. On Wednesday I smiled because I it wasn’t pouring too much and I took my first walk on the beach for the week. Thursday I smiled as I thought back over 2015 and Friday I was back outside smiling about kayaking on New Year’s Day.

I did more posts this week. On Tuesday I posted a poem about reaching out a hand to one with depression. It was one of my better received poems. Wednesday I reposted my “flying monkey” mock-end-of-the-year post from last year. On Thursday I did a real end of year post. And you know what? I was busy being outside this week and didn’t have a non-smile posts on Monday or Friday. This was one of the few weeks in a very long time that I didn’t write a new short story. On the other hand, I wrote 3 new short stories last week.

That was about it for the week.  I am going to be traveling for a big chunk of the day and I will be trying to spend some time outside, chilly or not.  Plus there is a lot to do both before I leave the cottage and after I get home.  I’ll try to stop by and read everyone else’s posts, but can’t make any promises.  I’ll be very busy!

And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  Did you have a good New years?  Any deep reflection or resolutions?  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before

 

41 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 1/2/2016

  1. Nooce Miller

    French roast would be delicious. Sounds like you had a good year all in all. And a relaxing New Year’s, and that can be a good thing! There is something I’m curious about, not being a long time reader of your blog. You seem to go back and forth between New Hampshire and Cape Cod every week, are you preparing for a move? Or are you just one of those lucky souls who has a weekend place near the water? My husband has been out in the cold and rain walking and jogging Stinky and getting wet like you have. Me, not so much. I suppose a resolution or two wouldn’t hurt me at this stage.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yes, it was a very good year and a relaxing New Year. I have a small cottage close to the water on Cape Cod, “water” in this case being a small brackish water pond. I spend every moment I can there, since I will most likely never have another vacation while I pay for it…. I do plan on living on Cape Cod full time once I retire, or at least get to a point where I can work out of the house.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Dale

    That big yellow thing in the sky? Haven’t seen it in ages. It finally decided to show its face today and of course it is -20°C (-2°F)! Zeke would like to go for a walk and I will take him, once I am very well bundled up… Brrr!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. prior2001

    Hi t – you are correct – got frigid on the east coast – we are lower than you – but brrrrr – so all natural hot cocoa for me today!
    And you know – I need to read one of your short stories this month- I am not that into fiction – well sorta but not my choice when it comes to blog reading – although I do need to find time for some – anyhow – happy new year – xxoo

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Happy New Year Y! I think pretty much the whole east coast is no officially into winter. I post a very wide variety of different fiction, from gritty reality to fantasy (the magic type, not the adult entertainment type ;) ), sci-fi, horror, funny, dark, scary, happy endings, etc. and from 100 words up to, I think the longest (not including the Halley Branch) was around 5000 words.

      Like

      Reply
      1. prior2001

        Thanks – and I hate horror – don’t like magic/fantasy and do not prefer dark or Sci fi – so that leaves with me with a few selections to choose from!! Ha! Keep you posted when I do get to some❤️ – oh and just heard on the news we might get our first snow later this week – that’s fun.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I’m glad I write in a wide variety of styles and genres ;) After this deep cold for a couple of days it will warm up. We may get some snow, but it will be followed by rain so may not last. The ground is now white, but it is almost more ice than snow!

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. prior2001

            Ha – sorry if that came out wrong – I should say that I look forward to a gritty reality or funny selection – but in the meantime I like the posts with the smiles and life stuff – and coffee time is always good 😏

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
  4. Nancy

    I would love to be doing some kayaking although I prefer to do it in much warmer weather. Still, being on the water would be nice. BTW…that big yellow thing showed up around here again too. Quite the treat!😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. roweeee

    Thanks for the coffee, Trent. Somehow, my husband and I actually managed to get our son off to Scout Jamboree, yesterday. What should have been a simple process, somehow became a massive ordeal chasing missing parts of his uniform for days. So often as parents, you’re left scratching your head wondering why things happen…or fail to happen at all but grasping at straws, you try something. So, we are repainting his room, which it sorely needed and hopefully we’ll open up some space as well. So, we’re busy doing that and my husband returned to work this morning. I have a week without the kids home and am intent to enjoy at least some of it while Geoff’s at work. Feel guilty though.
    Thinking about trying to get stuck into my reading pile and the book project this week.
    How to turn an empty week of relaxation into a pressure test!
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hi Rowena. The son is away so you have plenty of time to fill up, which you did, so you have no time. Makes sense. I hope you make the best of your week without becoming too stressed! Take care.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Sharing New years with friends is always great. It seems most people I know didn’t have a great 2015, I seem to be alone in having a pretty good year. I hope 2016 is much better for you!

      Like

      Reply
  6. Diana

    We had a big New Year’s Eve this year for the first time in a long time, and it was a nice change. Generally we just hang out at home, but this year we went to a 1920’s themed burlesque show. I was definitely glad to spend most of the day in bed yesterday, though, and I was reminded why we don’t go out and stay out into the wee hours of the morning all that often anymore!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      A 20s theme party sounds fun! I don’t stay out late very often either – when we’ve visited your town we usually are going to bed when everyone else is going out to party! Though a couple of times I did force myself to watch some good jazz until midnight.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Diana

        haha…Yeah, there are definitely lots of late nights/early mornings to be had in the city. We generally pack it in fairly early ourselves, but we make exceptions for some things.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  7. Margaretha

    What did Jung call it? Synchronicity?It feels as if the poem you wrote on Tuesday might have been written for the person whom I lost on New Year’s Eve. Could I possibly add it to my blogpost? With proper attribution, of course.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There were fireworks, but I didn’t see them. I went to bed early. I did see on your post that you were a bit down this week. I hope you are a little less sad today.

      Like

      Reply
  8. Solveig

    Happy new year! I will keep saying his for weeks…
    It seems as though you had a good transition week between 2015 and 2016 :)
    I have been reflecting a lot and must say that I am really happy with how 2015 went. I have many projects and plans for this new year, many of them are related to blogging…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It was a good transition between years – very relaxing! I think one reason I reflected less than usual is because 2015 was a very good year and I like the direction I have been heading. I hope your plans and projects for the new year all go well, both those involving blogging and those in the “outside world”!

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

