A Smile a Day – Day 28 – Cold-water Kayaking

Kayak

So I go up this morning and for once there was no snow, rain or drizzle.  There was also very little wind.  It was a little cooler than it’s been, but not frigid.  What would any normal person do on before 8 AM on January 1?  Go kayaking, of course!

It was a pretty short paddle.  One problem is there were several duck hunters about and I didn’t want to get too close to them.  And then it did turn breezy, though still relatively calm.  So I was out for maybe 45 minutes.  I got back, changed, and wen to the beach for a while to unwind.  So now, after all of that, breakfast lunch, several dog walks, etc., it is time to sit for 5 minutes at the computer before I go outside again.  Life’s too short to stay indoors!

So today’s smile is about kayaking on January 1st.  I’m going to try to get in the water once every month in 2016 but won’t be too disappointed if I don’t – at least I started off right!

16 thoughts on “A Smile a Day – Day 28 – Cold-water Kayaking

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 1/2/2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Master of Something Yet

    Love the artwork! :) And of course, I’m seething with jealousy. Well, not seething. Just simmering. I do miss the water. I’ve got at least another month before I can even think about going back to rowing. Gee, I hope Corina’s parents had that wrong. I’d go mad if my year involved being stuck inside doing nothing much. ;)
    A great start to the year for you, Trent!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Well, you’re on the opposite side of the world so the saying gets turned on its head and you’ll do the opposite of being stuck inside doing almost nothing. Hows that for an interpretation ;)

      Thanks about the art work. It’s a little older – today it was chilly so I had on a ski cap, not a hat to protect me from the sun!

      And it was a great start to the year! I hope you’re able to get out on the water while it’s still hot out!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Corina

    When I was growing up, my mom and dad always said that what you do on the first of the year is what you’ll end up doing for the rest of the year. So it looks like you’ll be spending a lot of time outdoors, just as you like!

    Like

    Reply
  4. camilledefleurville

    I must confess that my year began more conventionally by hugs and kisses and wishes with my two wards – my siter and a cousin – and then breakfast. But … there is no sea nearby and the river not very attractive in winter. Nonetheless, there is tradition in Biarritz (on the French border near Spain) of bathing whatever the weather, in the Atlantic Ocean, on January 1st. I always do it by proxy. :)
    Happy New Year. I am very glad we have met in 2015.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Well, it wasn’t as if I was fighting off hundreds of other paddlers ;) I think spending New Year’s Day in kayak was pretty unusual, but I loved it. I hope you have a good day and a Happy New Year. I’m also glad we met in 2015.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Yes, I did see it when i reached your blog – It took a while to catch up on them all today! Most people do have a much quieter day than kayaking for New Years, but I like to be outside :)

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

Express Yourself

