If We Were Having Coffee – 12/26/2015

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get a large mug of very strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or other beverage.  You might be thankful for the hot fluids for there is a very slight nip to the air.  Not much, mind you, and it is rapidly warming, but after the last few days it feels a little chilly.  And after the almost 70 F (21 C) on Christmas Eve and the 65 F (18 C) yesterday, Christmas, getting into the upper 30s F (single digits C) last night, well…  And then looking ahead at temps down to the teens over night Monday/Tuesday (-8 and less) and up to 8 inches (20 cm) of ice and snow on Tuesday, well, maybe our over warm weather is coming to an end.

Weather is weather.  It has been very wet in recent weeks, which is hard, but there is nothing anyone can do about it.  We all still need to do what we need to do.

And were exactly is all of this weather happening?  Some of my long time readers may see that mug up at the top of the page and know I am in New Hampshire this fine Boxing Day, not that “Boxing Day” has any meaning here in New Hampshire.

It has been an odd week, but a good week.  I’ve already described the weather, though I haven’t talked about hyperactive dogs being forced to stay inside when they want to be playing.  They’re funny – I walk them so they do their business outside instead of in and the want to return to the warm and dry as soon as possible and yet, no matter how hard it is raining, if I let them out to play they just go and go and go until the are covered in mud.  Uhg.

It was a short work week.  I only worked 3 1/2 days.  It was also a little slow.  Most of my meetings were canceled and little was happening.  A lot of people had taken time off.

All preparing for Christmas, of course.  It was a low key day here.  I made calls to family and friends.  Chatted a while.  I played a lot of music on my keyboards.  I read blogs.  Walked dogs and played with them outside.  That’s pretty mush it.  It was warm so I stayed out as much as i could.  I hope to do the same today, yet I have a lot of work to do around the house.

This has been a very good month for blogging.  All of the stats are pretty high, except for individual visitors.  I know, odd that I already have many more “likes” than any other month, am within 300 “views” of the all time high with a week to go, yet I have half the “visits” of the all time high.

One reason for the good month is putting up multiple posts in a day and posting every day.  Part of that is my A Smile a Day, which will turn into “A Smile a Week” or “Wednesday Weekly Smile” at the end of the month.  Over the last week I put up a “smile” post most days, missing only Tuesday, the first miss of the series.  On Saturday I talked about the people from all over the world that have visited my blog and those special ones that I’ve gotten to know.  On Sunday I talked about my village’s tradition of playing Christmas music from the town hall bell tower.  Unfortunately they only did it on Sunday this year.  Maybe people have complained.  On Monday I smiled because i was done with Christmas shopping and wrapping.  On Wednesday I introduced my “Weekly Smile“.  On Thursday I smiled because I was able to spend a chunk of the day writing and I love writing.  Yesterday my smile was for Christmas, and more than that, for the special feelings and ideas Christmas  brings, ideas that transcend culture and religion.

Besides my “A Smile a Day” posts, I have kept a pretty busy posting schedule, with 3 short stories posted this week.  On Monday I started the week showing off some of the homemade Christmas cards I have made in past years.  On Tuesday I posted a poem about admiring one from afar.  On Wednesday I posted two short stories answering challenges.  The first was a story based on two prompts by Kruti Mehta.  The second was a story of less than 100 words for the Friday Fictioneers (yes, on Wednesday ;) ).  And then on Thursday I posted another short story (actually one of my longer stories), a sci-fi Christmas tale.

It is going to be a busy week ahead, though slow job type workwise.  I hope to get a lot done.  but I also hope to relax quite a bit.

That was about it for the week.  I will most likely enjoy as much of this warm day outside as possible.  I’ll try to stop by and read everyone else’s posts, but can’t make any promises.

And how about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the Linky.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before

37 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 12/26/2015

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! Yes, with the short work week and too wet to spend much time outside I got a lot of writing done. The snow will be here soon so I’m enjoying the bit of warmth we have while it lasts.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Dale

    Methinks the warm wave covered a huge area! We woke up to our first snow this morning! Very rare for Montreal, let me tell you. I’m happy it is here as it brightens up the day – after all that rain and dull weather.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s still raining here, but I’m not looking forward to snow. I may escape it (go to the Cape to miss the snow). But I know there are almost 3 months of winter left, so I’m sure we’ll see plenty of snow!

      I hope you’re doing well up there and that you have a great new years!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. camilledefleurville

    Very mild in France as well. No rain but as myarea is full of rivers, ponds, rivulets, sources and all kind of water, it is very damp even if there is a little sun during the day – but it manages to be watery either. No dog and no cat. No pet in fact. So no unwanted mud in the house but ours under our shoes.
    My month was full with one long post a day and illustrations. I may go on during the Twelve Days of Christmas until 6 January.
    Very low-key Christmas due to familial and financial circumstances. But that was not that bad. Now onward toNew Year’s Day!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Sometimes low-key Christmases are the best. I did enjoy your daily posts through Advent. We usually don’t do the 12 days of Christmas, but it would be nice seeing your posts if you decide to continue on with it. I have seen elsewhere that France has been very mild this December. Not just France, but much of Europe. It seems that usually when you are mild in winter we have a cold one and when we are mild you’re cold, but this year everyone is mild.
      Yes, onward to New Year’s Day!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Posting every day, sometimes twice a day, will go away after the beginning of the new year. Well, I’ll post most days except for Sundays, but the two posts days will not happen (at least not often). We have to start working on you so you can post once a month and then up it to once a week ;)

      Like

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I’m sorry, I shouldn’t tease you about it. It is a lot of work and hard to get back into the habit once you drop out. You only need to blog as much as you want to and as much as feels right to you. I’ve been doing too much lately and have no ideas for today!

          Like

          Reply
  3. Corina

    Having to walk a dog in the cold, wet, or snowy weather is a big part of why I don’t think I’ll ever own a dog again. I am, however going to my son’s house in Seattle in a couple of weeks to dog sit for them while they go to Hawaii for their last trip before the baby arrives I’m May. He has three dogs, two of which are rescue dogs and have a lot of problems. There are also three cats! Luckily, he says don’t walk the dogs, just let them out in the yard and he’ll take care of cleaning up when he gets back. Yay!

    Have a super week and Happy New Year of I don’t see you online this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Rescues can be a handful, full of idiosyncrasies, but can also be super sweet. Idina is all of the above ;) Have fun sitting for your son’s dogs! Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
      1. Corina

        One of the rescues is both blind and deaf and a chronic basket when she gets confused. The other is 140 lbs and quite large. He’s one of those digs that had a short life expectancy that he had already outlived by about four years and he recently had a stroke. He’s unpredictable when he’s confused and can knock into a person and hurt them. Fun. But with just me there, things should be quiet and they should behave fine.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  4. Diana

    Our pup has been incredibly unhappy about the weather this week, as have the rest of us. It’s been wet and unseasonably warm here, too, and our pup hates to get his paws wet. Glad you had a good week—hope you guys get some clearer weather soon, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The weather has actually been great the last couple of days, but the ground is still muddy. My wife’s uncle lives in Baton Rouge, so just up the road a bit from you (at least compared to the distance from NH ;) ) and he was talking mid 80s, so yeah, it sounds like you’ve been warm!

      I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. dailynooce

    It’s funny, our dog is the same with all this wet weather. We have a towel at both front and back doors to wipe him off whenever he goes out and gets muddy, which seems to be every time. Enjoy your time off from work.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Sounds like you had a good week Trent. Sounds like your heat wave has come to an end. We are sitting with perfect temperatures at the moment around 28 31 degrees C whilst other parts of Australia have been sweltering. I found the same with my stats this week that each visitor looked at more. I think that it is a busy time of year and only those that had finished their preparations, travel etc were blogging during this week. I even missed a couple of days posting which is unlike me. Have a Happy New Year.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yes, it was very good. I’m planning on opening the weekly smile up to the public, doing the “linky” thing with it. Hopefully it works! I hope you week went well and that the one come up is great!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Nancy

    I’m all ready to enjoy my week off. School will reopen on January 4th but till then I will be reading all the new books Santa brought and gorging on Christmas cookies! Hope you have a pleasant week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. Karen

    Slow week at the job – same here, Trent. Lots of cancelled meetings, all running of to their holidays…
    You were pretty busy blog-wise; compared to your achievements, I feel pretty lazy. On the other hand, there is room for improvement. And – I will keep my promise regarding Oh. My. Dog! #25 before 2016. :-)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Express Yourself

