Friday Fictioneers – Simon

copyright-scott-l-vannatter

PHOTO PROMPT – © Scott L. Vannatter

I stood aside, proud, as the first visitors to my first house arrived for a long Christmas weekend.

My dad wrinkled his nose. “Nothing’s been updated in decades. How’s the electric and plumbing?”

“Oh my, those antique cupboards are, well, shall we say quaint?” mom said.

They had brought my cat, Simon, who jumped on the table. He was purring.

“Well, the faucet and lights look modern. Perhaps not as bad as I thought,” Dad said.

“Actually, now that I’m used to it, it’s charming,” Mom said.

I winked at Simon. “Thank you,” I thought. “Merry Christmas.”

–-

Word count = 97

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This weeks prompt is here and uses a photo provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  Read more or join in by following the “linky

(Funny, the counters in this picture look almost exactly like the ones in the first house I bought when i was in my 20s.)

10 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Simon

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 12/26/2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: A Smile a Day – Day 21 – Writing | Trent's World (the Blog)

Express Yourself

