A Smile a Day – Day 18 – Wilton

 

Paper Lanterens, WiltonI live in a little village in New Hampshire, Wilton.  One of the cool traditions of this small town is the Christmas music.  Around Christmas time they play Christmas music from the bell tower of the town hall.  The music is all bell music, though I’m pretty sure it is recorded.  Tonight was the first night they had the music playing.  There was also something special going on in town because there were paper lanterns lining both sides of the street through the short “downtown”.

I love cities.  Boston is one of my favorites, though of course we’ll always have Paris.  But there is something about small towns.  And Wilton’s tradition of playing music this time of year is great.  Walking into town, listening to the music and seeing the lanterns made me smile.

The photo at the top is one of the lanterns.  You can see some on the far side of the street.  The photo at the bottom is a very old (9 year old) picture of the town hall bell tower taken one stormy morning.

Morning, Wilton

21 thoughts on “A Smile a Day – Day 18 – Wilton

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee – 12/26/2015 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. camilledefleurville

    What would be Christmas without bells? Funny I was blogging about them either yesterday!
    And reading your comments with Thumbup above, I remember the first time I went to the USA. It was in WashingtonDC and Virginia. The Virginians were very proud of Jamestown and Williamsburg. They thought it very, very old? And I thought it was rather new – after all Virginia was Elizabethan: what was it compared with our buildings? And our history? I needed some time to adjust to new prspectives both historical and geographic: your country is so big compared with ours that your history can be but different.
    The illuminations with paper lanterns are lovely and the whole effect of music and light must be totally Christmassy. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yes, bells at Christmas. The history here is new compared to over there. It is sometimes hard to keep in perspective. I remember visiting someplace in Texas and thinking the city was younger than the house I was living in back in Ohio, which was young compared to New England where there are still quite a few 300-350 year old houses. But then, traveling to France with 1000 year old buildings and Rome with the 2000 ruins in the middle of the city. I haven’t been to Greece, the middle east or Egypt, but I know the amount of history in a piece of land grows as you move to the eastern part of the Mediterranean.
      I had never seen the paper lanterns before. usually the town does more decorations, so I’m assuming some group did the lanterns since the town didn’t decorate. But it was a great effect and went well with the music.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      They’ve been playing the music since I moved into town in the early 1990s and the tradition may go back decades before that. It is kind of cool. I don’t know how the neighbors feel: it is loud enough to hear from one end of the village to the other.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I’m sure it isn’t too bad. A couple of years ago they started to play chimes on the hour and half hour every day, not just Christmas. A few people complained then, but not many. They used to play the Christmas music all day, but now they just play it from when it turns dark until 9 PM, so just a few hours a day. So actually, not too bad.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  3. roweeee

    Trent, Winton looks like a great place. I have a feeling that a friend of mine used to live near there. I’ll have to check with her. I haven’t been to Boston but have spent six weeks in Paris back in 1992. While it does have some stunning architecture, it was very noisy and claustrophobic from memory. The Parisians were also stereotypically rude. I have to say that I really love Sydney with its beautiful, clean and not so congested harbour, the Sydny Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. It’s such a breath of fresh air. Not that I’m biased! xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Boston is crowded and dirty and noisy. Why I like it is you can see the roots of a small village in the big city – all of the streets curve and twist. It has a strange feel that it is as pure American as they come, yet there is an almost European flavor. I found most of the Parisians I met as friendly. They’re way of relating to you is very different from the American and British way (and I’m assuming Australian is similar). Many shop keepers would answer my “Bonjour” with a “Hello” – I guess I had “American” written across my face ;) I haven’t been to Australia. Eventually.
      Wilton is a cute village, but not as cute as many around. The village is relative new, only moving into it’s location in the early to mid 19th century when the mills were built on the rivers. Before that the town was on top of one of the surrounding hills – there is still a small cluster of 250 year old homes in Wilton Center, the old town.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
      1. roweeee

        When I was in Europe, I probably related more to the English than the Americans. Australians, however, are definitely in a league of our own and when I’ve traveled, I’ve been quite a novelty…the only Australian most people have ever met. That’s going back to 1992 though. It is quite awhile ago now.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Your ties to England are newer than ours are and there are few direct ties between us, but in many ways our countries are similar. I do think more Australians get around, but you are so far away from Europe! My brother was in Australia for a few months – his company was going to merge with an Australian company, but after a few months he was called home and the merger never happened. While he was there my parents visited and toured a huge chunk of the country – I know it is huge country and they only saw a tiny sliver, but they saw most of the major cities and tourist attractions.

          Like

          Reply

Express Yourself

